We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Treasure”

Barkerville Historic Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With over 100 preserved historic buildings, this village is a representative of the Victorian gold rush era.
Hope, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Total Treasure”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I am thankful that we were able to base ourselves out of Wells to have 2 full days to take in Barkerville; it was necessary!

While we generally like to just do things on our own, I highly recommend starting out with the guided tour. Its a good way to quickly get your bearings not to mention entertaining.

We had so much fun, taking in the theater, stage coach rides, attending Chinese school, going to court in Richfield but the highlight for us was getting to talk to and see the new site for the archeology dig of Judge Begbie's home. We can't wait to go back to see what Mike, the archeologist, unearths!

Taking our time over 2 days was far better than a 2-3 hr. whirlwind experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Noelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    75
    18
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“Great Experience”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Unfortunately one full day just isn't quite enough time. We tried very hard to see everything but may have to come back again! It was a fun filled day with amazing educators and friendly people.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NYwithfriends2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quesnel, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always a great time and best bakery ever!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My family has gone many times and it is always a fun filled day and i especially love the in character people walking around everywhere you look with a hat tip and a smile or a kind word. The bakery is amazing! I highly recomend the sourdough bread and don't forget to grab some fudge and go gold panning or for wagon ride! also a beautiful drive out and through wells bc which is a small artsy tow.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ldoherty3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna BC
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A wonderful presentation of our history”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Barkerville is a wonder presentation of the Cariboo Gold Rush history with well-restored buildings and great interpreters/presenters to give you insights into the life & times. Do make sure that you do all the walking tours including the cemetery which adds some unique insights into the personal histories.

And make sure you take in the shows at the Theatre Royal: great entertainment and more insights into the life during the Gold Rush.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidMJKelownaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumner, WA
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Enjoy history”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is our second visit to this historical site. We enjoyed it the first time around and the second as well! There is much to see and experience. I would definitely recommend taking in as many of the "events" as you can. Some of the staff, who are dressed in period clothing, have taken the names of past actual members of the community. These people, young and old, have taken the time to research the townsite and the events of the time. It is wonderful to find a spot that has retained its authenticity. I would recommend that you take some mosquito spray with you as they can be pests!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eyeteach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barkerville Historic Town also viewed

 

Been to Barkerville Historic Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing