We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bowron Lakes Provincial Park
Review Highlights
Pathways - Bowron Lake circuit

We seemed to hit the circuit at the absolute perfect time. Smoke had JUST eased off after almost 2... read more

Reviewed January 20, 2019
kimperpete
,
Lake Country, Canada
via mobile
Great canoe experience !

We did the full Bowron Lake circuit with a canoe rented at Becker's lodge. The trip was great. We... read more

Reviewed August 14, 2018
BVD73
,
Belgium
Read all 50 reviews
  
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveler rating
44
3
1
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
44
3
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canoe trip bucket list rain gear becker's lodge pack light a joke circuit paddling bugs moose beauty wilderness portages sites camping mud axe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 50 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The weather was wonderful the views were spectacular.... Was with a group that had never done a canoe trip like this. Most had some experience other had lots the Bowron circuit was gruelling and rewarding. Go prepared for the worst weather and hope for the best. Don't count on fire would for cooking or drying out.

Treat yourself to Beckers Lodge before and after...

Date of experience: July 2013
2  Thank ratarojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We paddled and portaged around the famous Bowron Lakes Circuit in five days this May. The lakes and ponds are as pristine as they were in 1840 when they were discovered. It is rare anywhere that you can find waterways interconnected in a `120 km parallelogram so you can paddle back to your starting point!!
The popularity of the circuit is such that you must have a reservation. They keep it clean with attention to camper behaviour and simple campsites. The weather in mid May was cool and wet and there was winter snow on the portage trails but it was incredibly peaceful. As a bonus, the type of camper that puts in this effort is a bit classier than many you've encountered!
If you are in reasonable shape, don't mind being entirely off the grid (no cell phone coverage) and have basic training in canoeing, you can do this--leave yourself some days extra in case the weather goes against you. Trip of a lifetime!

Date of experience: May 2013
3  Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

we ahve paddled the cnoe route at bowron lake 5 times now , we continue to go back for its beauty, we stay at bear rive merchantile , sandy and Dick are wonderful people nice clean place, they always make us feel welcome . we enjoyed paddling there in July mostly, we like middle of sept as well, didnot enjoy Aug, we have done the west side once with our granddaughter, she was 9 loved it, we always do the full curcuit, for the kids start out on the west side see how they do.

Date of experience: September 2012
2  Thank chewyswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

A must-do trip for paddlers. September is a great month to go. As soon as Labour Day is over, things get much quieter. Also, bugs are gone by then.

We've stayed at Bowron Lake accommodations at the end of both our paddling trips. First time was at Bear River Mercantile. The place has been for sale for years and the owners have clearly lost interest. If you need a bed and a shower, it will suffice. But you will pay a lot for what you get and don't expect to feel particularly welcome. Second time we stayed at Bowron Lake Lodge. It was okay as a place to lay your head. Bare bones. It would be nice to have a really cozy, friendly little lodge/cabin to stay in to wrap up the circuit, but I fear that does not exist at this point.

Has anyone out there XC skied Bowron Lake and into Spectacle Lake, staying at the cabins, in winter? I would be interested in hearing from you. I can find groups who have skied the whole circuit, but I'm interested in a shorter out and back trip with no river travel. In particular, I'd like to know how busy it is/isn't in winter. What is the likelihood of other groups being out there, say in February?

Date of experience: September 2012
Thank cougarcanyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We have been doing the circuit on a yearly basis for several years. June is our preference because it is quiet. On average it takes 5-7 days, and need to be in decent shape. The weather can be very unpredictable so you need to have proper gear. Have witness several parties ill equipped and they were miserable and wet. The views are breathless and are impossible to describe, pictures don't do the remote back country justice. There are some rustic cabins that will give you refuge when your wet and cold or need a break from the ground. I'm not a fisherman but friends are they enjoy the fishing. I encourage everyone to do this adventure at least once so remember to reserve your spot....

Date of experience: June 2011
5  Thank ratarojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews