We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious campground with beach on river” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karibu Park Cottages & Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in British Columbia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karibu Park Cottages & Campground
alberta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spacious campground with beach on river”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed 4 nights while exploring Slogan Valley/Nelson. Nightly rate was only 15$ for unserviced site (showers 2 for 5$). Nice grassy sites with picnic table/pit. Tall ponderosa trees were beautiful. The highlight of our trip was discovering a rare INDIAN PIPE in bloom! Kids loved swimming in Slogan river (access could use some steps and sand). Volleyball net, playground, foosball, free WIFI in enclosed pagoda). There are 3 pit toilets, 1 flushed toilet (never found) and 2 showers, one dish-washing area. It was great to have hot water. The campground could use some solar lights on ground (to find toilets which are tucked inside forest). We chose site 22 at the back, not realizing 2 roads were next to it, I sleep with ear plugs when camping. Overall it is a nice low environmental impact campground and the owners are lovely people. Improvements suggested; removing rusting metal debris, tidying up,installing lights on paths, adding steps/sand/wood chips to river access area.

Room Tip: Closer to river, pagoda, and not at back (noisy road)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delpilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
7
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Castlegar, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Karibu has very private treed sites . The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Stayed in a camper trailer. The owner Chris is very friendly and accommodating .,A real camping experience in the Kootenays.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawson5939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

My family (about 50 of us) met at this beautiful spot for our biannual reunion. The owner Chris was really friendly and accommodating to everyone. The spot itself was very quiet and tucked away in the woods. It is a short 5 minute walk to a beautiful beach on the crystal clear Slocan river. An excellent place for a swim I might add! I loved that the campground had "toys" for everyone to use. Croquet, volleyball, soccer, badminton, lawn darts, bocce, horseshoes and even a little playground for the kids. The communal area also had a beautiful gazebo and plenty of space for our big group dinner. The cabins were quite nice.Hardwood floors, a nice big bed, hot showers ect. They weren't luxurious but come on people you're camping! If you want luxury maybe your better off in the city. My mother stayed in a cabin so I got to check it out. I stayed in the tent site which was fantastic! big sites and the even had little tables an chairs set up. Firewood was also reasonably priced at $5 a bundle. Compared to the $8 I payed last night at another campground its a screamin' deal! Overall great experience. Thanks Karibou!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent 2 nights here while attending a wedding at nearby Areca Gardens. Our cabin (#3, Spruce), while tiny and rustic, had everything we needed (fully furnished kitchen, satellite tv, frig, microwave, stove). We had difficulty making a reservation as the owner was hard to reach and failed to respond to emails. Weeks after giving up we finally got a call saying they had a cabin available .On our first night there was a loud party in the gazebo, about 150 feet from our cabin, which went on until after 1 AM. Next morning we found smashed cans and cigarette butts all around our car. The second night was quiet. Couldn't find anyone in the office at 9 AM when we left so not sure how available the owners are. Seem pretty laid-back. There's not a lot to choose from in this area but this should suit most people looking for a "cabin" experience.

Room Tip: Cabins are smaller than they look online. If you have more than 2 in your party you might want to ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PNWsnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I was really able to enjoy British Columbia at its fullest with my Girlfriend when we went there last year. The owners are kind and comprehensive, they travelled throughout the world and made us realize that ''karibu'' really means '' near'' or ''welcome'' in swahili! This was a very healing and restful experience after travelling and working throughout a province we expected to be way more ''organic''... Really remote, there was all that one who looks for himself in the wild can wish for: mountains, rivers, trees, fogs, it was magical!

The trails around it could allow us to go hiking or mountain biking and the local stores are really nice and not ''corporate'' in their attitude or display.I would raise childrens in this area of British Columbia or return there with my folks anytime for a trip.Absolutely worth it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CherryPacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I attended a retreat here, intending to stay for 2 days, but ended up extending it for 3 weeks, . I chose to commute to Nelson & Castlegar, in order to stay there. (It's 35 minutes to both)

Other participants at the retreat said they'd had the same experience, which is why they continue to hold it there annually. The grounds and facilities are beautifully maintained. The owner/managers are attentive, hands-on 24/7. There was both neighborliness and privacy. We held our meetings and workshops in the gazebo, and met up with other travelers around the communal fire pit. We walked the dogs along the trails and paths. We found rivers, community events, small-town friendliness. This place has sound ecological practices. The prices were surprisingly reasonable. We didn't have time to try the sauna, though.

For camping under the stars or fully-equipped cottages, with all the courtesy touches, this place rocks! We'd go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Tell the owners what you need in advance. They'll find the best match for you. But they were als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We had our family reunion here July 28 2012. There are stairs leading off the gazebo, and that is where we planned on having our family picture take.
I was on the second last step, with 6 young children on the step below me, and about 6 adults above me.
Then the stairs collapsed !
I was thrown forward, knocking all the children down,seriously injuring my knee. Above me , our month old granddaughter, and her parents nearly ended up falling thru the stairs !
There were many bumps, bruises, and very scared people.I spent the evening in the Nelson Hospital.
We had 2 master carpenters in our family there, that could tell the stairs were improperly built, and were a disaster waiting to happpen.
What was dissappointing was the owners never came to see how we were doing, offer any explanation, support, or restitution.
I can only say, it could have been much worse, and thankfully we are all safe now.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarOlita1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these British Columbia hotels
Kicking Horse Kabins
#11 of 42 in Golden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Bridgeport
River Rock Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,511 reviews
Quality Inn Merritt
#1 of 12 in Merritt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karibu Park Cottages & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karibu Park Cottages & Campground

Property: Karibu Park Cottages & Campground
Address: 5730 Cedar Creek Road | Winlaw, British Columbia V0G 2J0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #422 of 1,258 Specialty Lodging in British Columbia
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Karibu Park Cottages & Campground Canada/British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing