We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PK Rocks” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Powder King Mountain Resort

Powder King Mountain Resort
Ranked #1,036 of 2,901 things to do in British Columbia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled in the pristine wilderness of the Canadian Rockies, Powder King offers the best of the great outdoors, with an amazing annual snowfall of 41 feet, our terrain ranges from breath taking drops for the adventurous skier, to the gentle groomed slopes of beginner runs. A million miles from stress, but only 500 yards from the highway, Powder King is located in the center of the Pine Pass in Northern British Columbia, Canada.
Chetwynd, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“PK Rocks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have had a season's pass for PK for the last 21 years. I am 55+ so the year's skiing is only $370. Considering that I get 50+ days a year, that's very cheap.

The snow does not get better than it is at PK. Beautiful powder and there is generally a pile of it. Now that they have expanded the hill to twice its former size, powder all day is often the norm. The tree skiing is premium.

Thursday is my favorite day as they are closed M-W giving the hill a chance to accumulate some serious powder. Friday rocks as there are never enough skiers to ski it out on Thursday. I often take Saturday off as it is busier - sometimes you have to wait up to 3 minutes to get on the lift. Sorry I am spoiled. I always go on Sunday as not skiing for 4 days is just not right.

I enjoy going to the pub for a bite to eat and a cold one. The beer is as cheap as it gets and the food is generally decent. The lodge could be improved but who really goes to the hill to be impressed by the lodge?

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank JimO1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“pk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

this place is awesome, lots of pow to be rode and no crowds, great environment...probs one of my fav hills in bc now.

only downsides: the hostel is kinda a rip off considering what you get. also, the bus system needs to be better organized, there should be the option to book your return trip home on a different day then the day you ride up there without having to pay the whole bus fee again...to me this idea just seems obvious.

most students dont have cars, and if pk wants to encourage students to stay in the hostel they need to offer some kind of bus/hostel package that is a GOOD deal, lol. $55 a night for a basic hostel bunk bed dorm room is too much, especially considering its in the middle of nowhere.

Also, $25 a night to sleep in the parking lot? come on.

i think pk is missing out on a lot of money from uni students...unbc and all the other schools around would respond positively if pk came out with student lift tickets, bus passes, and hostel deals. and while were on the subject of the bus haha...MAKE A SEASONS PASS FOR THE BUS!

regardless i still love this place, stay true pk

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

they desperately need to provide guests with cell service, wifi, or even just a basic phone that you dont have to pay 3 dollars for.
also, we were double charged for a room at the hostel. when we called to complain, they said they dont keep records. we even payed by credit card.
the hill is great, fellow skiers pretty cool but alot more potheads than other years, and closest town is 30-45 min drive for gas or other supplies
we've been going here for a few years but after last time find ourselves wondering if its worth the drive.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank gmlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowderKing, Public Relations Manager at Powder King Mountain Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Although Powder King does not have public WiFi, a public phone or cell service, the Powder King Management team has been working with cell service providers to bring cell service throughout the Pine Pass area.

When Powder King makes mistakes, such as double charging a customer, we do our up most to rectify the mistake as soon as management is aware of the situation. The Powder King management does keep records of all mountain activities (i.e. hostel, bus, lift tickets, etc); however, we do require a little bit of time to look into a situation when mistakes are made.

Although we are located between Chetwynd and Mackenzie, we are a short drive to the Mackenize Junction (25 minutes) and do our best to help guests out when they run into fuel pinches.

Powder King Mountain Resort is about creating family experiences on the snow and our remoteness assists us in helping to create family powder experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome powder and tree skiing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

A great little big hill. By that I mean that although the total vertical drop isn't huge and there's just one chair and one t-bar, you'll be shocked at how much terrain is available and how few people you have to share it with. The powder is deep and light and can be counted on pretty much every weekend of the winter/spring.
Get into the lounge early for lunch, though, and try to sit by the big stone fireplace! They make a great hot chocolate and baileys.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PGclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Ski Holiday We've ever had!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed up at the hill for one week and in that time it snowed over 4 feet. We were blown away by the beauty of the Pine Pass area. The Ski Conditions were equivalent to Heli-Skiing. The Locals are authentic and welcoming. The Owners really care about the place and their ticket holders. The tree skiing is out of this world and that brings us right back to the powder, the powder, the powder. We will be back!!! I hope this is what heaven looks like.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Powder King Mountain Resort also viewed

Britannia Beach, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Squamish, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Powder King Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing