We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ski Holiday We've ever had!!”

Powder King Mountain Resort
Ranked #1,040 of 2,945 things to do in British Columbia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled in the pristine wilderness of the Canadian Rockies, Powder King offers the best of the great outdoors, with an amazing annual snowfall of 41 feet, our terrain ranges from breath taking drops for the adventurous skier, to the gentle groomed slopes of beginner runs. A million miles from stress, but only 500 yards from the highway, Powder King is located in the center of the Pine Pass in Northern British Columbia, Canada.
Windermere, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Ski Holiday We've ever had!!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed up at the hill for one week and in that time it snowed over 4 feet. We were blown away by the beauty of the Pine Pass area. The Ski Conditions were equivalent to Heli-Skiing. The Locals are authentic and welcoming. The Owners really care about the place and their ticket holders. The tree skiing is out of this world and that brings us right back to the powder, the powder, the powder. We will be back!!! I hope this is what heaven looks like.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
“Best kept secret in Canada”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Best conditions, best snow Ive ever experienced! Perfect family getaway ski vacation. Friendly family atmosphere and good home cooked meals this place was the best family vacation. Everyone was so friendly and helpful.
We are looking forward to going back!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Colleenbean17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best snow around”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Even on a Sunday after a couple of days without new snow there was enough fresh snow to be found. Loved the runs through the trees especially. The snowboardcross track was nice but in a new year might be better off on a steeper run to get more speed in it. The terrain park is great for the XL jumps but a couple extra M or S jumps wouldn't hurt. During the entire day we might have had to wait in line for the lifts for just 5 minutes, so not wasting half your day in line for a lift. The T-bar is an easy ride up. Only real downfall might be that the right bottom quadrant of the mountain is hard to use for snowboarders as the trail back to the chairlift is quite flat so some walking is required. Still, if it would have been
an hour closer I'd buy a season pass for this mountain!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TerrenceB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackenzie, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best kept secret of BC's North..”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

It's not a "resort" by any stretch, but if you want some great skiing with little to no crowds, this is the place..

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank doug z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If you want to ski without the crowds in great snow”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Powder King runs buses from Grand Prairie, Prince George so you don't have to stay there. It is a ski hill in the Pine Pass. Lots of snow there. No packed, hard snow at this ski hill. If you want to stay there, look at renting a place there. Snow is expected from the middle of October to June (you won't be able to ski there in June because the ski is considered dangerous).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gladyspg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Powder King Mountain Resort also viewed

Britannia Beach, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Squamish, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Powder King Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing