We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 days is not long enough” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grizzly Bear Lodge & Safari

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in British Columbia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grizzly Bear Lodge & Safari
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“3 days is not long enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Our family stayed recently and I don't think it matters how long you stay you want to stay longer. The whole experience starts with the Float plane flight out to the Lodge. The scenery is stunning and my son was wrapped as he got to sit next to the pilot. We were met by Angus the moment we stepped off the plane and were made to feel so welcome. Our room was fantastic, we unpacked then onto a boat to look for bears. We weren't disappointed it didn't take long before we saw our first Black bear. On our return it was dinner, all the meals were 5 star and we really enjoyed the stories around the dinner table from the other travellers staying there. The guides were wonderful with so much knowledge. There is so much to say but you need to go and find your own adventure at Grizzly Bear Lodge. My only advice to you is stay as long as you can, I wish we did.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
29
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I spent four days at this amazing place right in the Canadian wilderness, and these days were easily some of the best of my life! The combination of peace and quiet, the stunning setting of the lodge right by the inlet, the welcoming and experienced staff and guides, the delicious food, the comfort of the rooms and - of course - the amazing wildlife you will get to see during the stay makes this a place that I cannot recommend highly enough!

The float plane flight from Campbell River to the lodge was a beautiful way to start the trip. At the lodge I was welcomed by the owners and the staff. It's a small place and with a maximum of 10 guests the atmosphere is very cosy and intimate. Rooms and living room are comfortable, and the deck with hot tub (try it out!) is simply beautiful. The food was great and was served around one big common table - with a lively conversation going on.

During the day we would go out in small groups of 3-5 people with one of the guides in search of wildlife. One day trip was by speedboat and 4x4 up to a viewing platform by a spawning channel to watch bears feed on salmon, and afterwards by a flat boat into an estuary where we came very close to several bears with cubs. Another trip would be the whale watching where we spent an entire day in the speedboat looking for (and certainly finding!) seals, dolphins, orcas and humpback whales. Words simply cannot describe the feeling of being so close to such amazing wildlife in a small boat and with such a small group of people. Our guide, Cam, did a great job in seeking out the animals and answering all of our questions.

Again, I cannot recommend this place highly enough! Will definitely go back.

Thank you, Angus, Krystle, Cam, George, Clint, Madeleine, Emily & Lily the dog for an unforgettable stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Britt Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have just returned home from a month in BC and have to say that the couple of days we spent here was the highlight of our trip. We wanted to see wildlife up close and we got it in spades.

The first full day we were there we went on a whale watching trip in a small speedboat on Johnstone Strait, just the two of us and our guide George. The first thing we came across, about five minutes from the lodge, was a black bear on the beach turning over stones to gather breakfast. Then came a pod of about 300 dolphins which swam beside and all around our boat. This was such a great experience that if we had seen nothing else we would have been happy anyway but as it turns out that was just the start. Next came the Orca, we were stationary with the hydrophone in the water listening to them talking to each other when two of them came right up to within a few metres of the boat. To see such magnificent intelligent creatures up so close in their natural environment was unbelievable. We spent a couple of hours in the vicinity of the Orca and at another point saw 15-20 of them just basking on the surface. Following this we went to Telegraph Cove for a comfort break before getting back out on the water and getting close to a colony of Sea lions on their island, a great sight but you don't want to spend too much time down wind of them if you know what I mean. Then came the hump backed whales which seemed to appear all around us. George has been doing these trips for years and knows exactly what he is looking for and where to find it so he kept his eyes open for a gathering of seagulls which told him that that there was a mackerel ball that they were feeding on. We got as close to this as he dare when the thing he was expecting happened and a hump backed whale broke surface as it came at the mackerel from underneath. What a day, in all we spent about 8-9 hours on the water.

The following day was the turn of the Grizzly Bears in Knight Inlet. This time there was a couple from the U.S. with us. The bears came close both while we were on the viewing platform (2 hours) and while we were driving the 4 kilometre road to and from it. The last 500 metres or so being very narrow meaning that the 4X4 had to reverse away from the platforms once viewing from them was over. Having seen Grizzly feeding on Salmon on television I though I knew what to expect but seeing them in real life and up so close was much better. Two of the things television doesn't give are the crunching of bones as the bears eat the Salmon and the smell of the river which is filled with uneaten pieces of Salmon. One of the highlights was watching a young male learning to fish and thrashing about all over the place as he kept missing time after time. Once again our guide (Cameron) was very knowledgeable and able to answer the questions we were firing at him. Another great day.

Now to the lodge, we stayed in the cabin on the edge of the water. This was great as although you are only 20 metres from the main lodge you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere on your own.

The food was amazing and eaten around a large table with the other guests and the staff, conversation was interesting and informative as the other guests comprised two couples from Denmark one from the U.S and one from the UK. Madeleine goes by the name of cook but she should really be called chef as everything she served up at the table and provided for picnic lunches was excellent.

Thanks to Angus, Krystle, Cameron, George, Madeline & Clint for a wonderful few days.

Finally, this is a small intimate lodge where everyone is friendly and the staff are experts in what they do. GO THERE you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raingod9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
153 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I spent the last 5 days at Heaven on Earth! My goal was to see wildlife and I achieved that goal the moment I landed. Before dinner we take a short boat ride and encountered a black bear. During the next 4 days the experienced guides sought out and found more bears...(black and grizzlies with their cubs), wolves, eagles, orcas, humpbacks, dolphins and seals. I also viewed bears from a boat in an estuary and from a bear stand.

On top of the wildlife the accommodations were superb. The lodge felt like home. The meals (breakfast & dinner) were served around a dinner table with wonderful conversation among the guests. Lunch was served either on a boat or a dock during a break in a tour. The food was divine! The owners of the lodge, the guides and cook (more like chef!) greet all the guests at the dock when the float plane arrives. Upon arrival all guests are served freshly caught seafood appetizers (i.e. prawns, crab, etc) along with a variety of cheeses and crackers. The rooms at the lodge were very comfortable...each with its own restroom.

If needed the lodge does have wifi but believe me you won't want it! If peace and quiet is what you want and the ability to commune with nature then this is the place for you! I can't wait for my return trip.

Many thanks to Angus, Krystle, George, Madeline, Clint and Emily for the best vacation EVER!

Room Tip: All the rooms at the lodge are wonderful. The lodge does not have a swimming pool but does have a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
136 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

You start with a float plane trip - awesome views across the island, mainland, straights and inlets.

The lodge is small/friendly/cosy and delightful. Food always good - picnic lunch soo impressive. Bedrooms a little small but you don't spend much time there. Mainly you are out on the water looking for wildlife. As it was June we were looking for mother and cubs plus eagles. We saw 2 sets of grizzly mums and cubs, 1 black bear mum and cubs, several other juveniles and males, lots of bald eagles including with fish - watching for up to an hour each. The bears were 10 meters away! The trip to find whales produced Hump backs and a side trip to Telegraph cove. Everything we wanted. Plus it was just amazing being in Knight Inlet - scenery is spectacular.

Angus is doing a great job; he is very knowledgable and keen for you to see what you came for. The lodge is more like a 'home stay' than a hotel (unlike the other option at knight inlet).

Yes its expensive but great wildlife experiences often are. Ensure you have lots of storage in your camera and binoculars! Get the 4 night package if you can.

Room Tip: ask for the separate cabin - right by the water. Its compact but the views are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Broaden-the-mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

There were many 'firsts' for us on this trip! First time in a float plane - what a great experience that was. First time on an island in British Columbia - what beautiful scenery. First time seeing Grizzly Bears - fantastic views and a lot less commercialised than other operators - small groups and our own viewing platform. But what pulled the whole thing together was Angus and his team. We were made so welcome and enjoyed great food and good accommodation. Besides the bears we had a great whale watching experience and the wild river day was magical - we could have been the only people in the world within the rain forest. We would recommend this trip to anyone with a real enthusiasm for watching wildlife and would love to return one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelte, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Grizzly Bear Lodge (formely known as Knight Inlett Lodge 1)

What should I write about it.................IT’S GREAT.
I think it was August 2003 when we first stayed in then the Knight Inlett Lodge.
We have had such fine memories that we made the decission that a visit to the Grizzly Bear Lodge must be part in our 25 wedding anniversary worldtrip.
In this trip, 2011, we visited new locations where we’ve never been and locations which we visit during our 25 years of marriage and been special for us. It says enough about the Grizzly Bear Lodge if you planned it in a very special occasion such as a honeymoon.

What makes the Grizzly Bear Lodge so special. First of course the trip by floating plane to the lodge. Then the quitness at the lodge, the friendlyness of the owner and the employees, the view over the water, and so on. But most of all you are a human being and not a number. Why are you not a number. It’s very simple the owner don’t want more then max 12 people in his lodge.

There is just one thing that is very important to know. If you are used to stay in fancy and luxury hotels and you don’t want to make compromisses between being in the wild and fancy and luxury hotels don’t go to the Grizzly Bear Lodge.
But if you like warmth, coziness, friendly and a personal approach then go the lodge and you will love it.

But you also will love the food. The food is so good and fresh that you have to stop with Montignac or other diets. The most beautifull thing you can experience is, when you have your picknic on the water in the boat, that suddenly a humpback whale passes by within a short range.

I said boat. Ok that’s a other thing thats makes Grizzy Bear Lodge very nice. Mostly you are going on Whale watch or on Grizzly Safari with just four people and a guide in a boat. In 2003 we were a day on the water with only the guide. The personal approach makes it sometimes possible to adjust the program to your needs.

Of course everyone who reads this wants to know what about the animals. Oh, yes they are there. We have seen, especially in 2003, lots of Grizzly bears with cubs. Further we saw black bears, killer- and humpback whales, lots of bald eagles, seals, porpoises and deer.

Honestly I’ve to say that we don’t have any complains or one thing where we have our doubt about. We still have to thank Angus the owner, the guides Glenn and George, Clifton the man in the back, who takes care of everything and there is one person you never forget if you have eaten at the lodge, her name is Madelin.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jakeman061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these British Columbia hotels
Blackfish Lodge
#28 of 258 in Vancouver Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Bear Claw Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kispiox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgeport
River Rock Casino Resort
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grizzly Bear Lodge & Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grizzly Bear Lodge & Safari

Property: Grizzly Bear Lodge & Safari
Address: Knight Inlet | Johnstone Strait, British Columbia V9N 8Z9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 1,258 Specialty Lodging in British Columbia
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sailcone's Grizzly Bear Tours, Lodge and Safari offers grizzly tours and grizzly bear watching from viewing stands and wildlife tours for black bears, killer whales (orca) humpback whales, dolphins, stellar seals, sea lions, black bears and eagles. Our grizzly bear tours are conducted on Canada's famous natural fjord known as 'Knight Inlet BC' and on the salmon rivers that flow into Knight Inlet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grizzly Bear Lodge & Safari Canada/British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing