We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in British Columbia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grizzly Bear Lodge & Safari
Certificate of Excellence
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed in mid September when the weather was glorious. This was to be the highlight of our Canadian holiday, and we were not disappointed. On arrival we were greeted by Angus and his staff and from then on we felt as part of a family. On our first day, we went to see the grizzlies which was a unique experience. We must have seen 20-30 in the 2 hours we were at the viewing platform. Then a wonderful picnic lunch by the seashore. Back at the lodge, we enjoyed the quiet solitude of sitting in the garden before dinner prepared by Madeleine. And what a wonderful cook, beats any first class restaurants. We had the cabin by the seashore, and had the most fantastic views of the night sky there lying in bed with not a sound only the lapping of the water at the edge of the shore. Our second day, was spent with Glen whale watching and again saw a very large number of whales, some very closeto the boat. In all our travels worldwide, this was one of the most amazing experiences and with such dedicated staff. We came away feeling we had been very close to the natural world and the silence which is so hard to find these days. This is definitely a trip that should be taken if you are in the area.

Room Tip: We thoroughly recommend the cabin, so peaceful and if you get clear nights as we did, to look at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank akaroa2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
29
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peripatetic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a very special place run by very special people who understand the animals, the area and the unique experience they offer. Angus, the owner made for a very relaxed environment and was our grizzly bear guide, George - the whale whisperer took us to see whales and they were both fantastic with their knowledge of birds/fish and the whole ecosystem .

It is an intimate experience with only a handful of people in the lodge so it makes for a personal experience with scope learning alot about the area and the local wildlife. Access to the viewing platform for the bears was beyond compare and you have plenty of time to drink in the atmosphere and take pictures. Angus is very knowledgeable about the bears and the whole area.

The lodge is informal and the food was excellent - as a vegetarian I was more than happy.

If you are into fishing then it is ideal too but we went for the whales and bears and we were not disappointed. Two short float plane journeys make for an exciting entrance and exit from the island and Lodge.

It is a family business and to have the detail of organising flights in and out of Vancouver taken care of by Krystle was highly efficient and helpful.

A delightful experience all round.
I highly recommend this experience.

Room Tip: There is a separate cabin by the water if you want further privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gloryperipatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Put simply, this was one of, if not the, greatest places I have stayed. We were very lucky as was only the three of us staying. The views are staggering and Madelene cooked some quite fantastic food ably helped out by Clint. Suggest you diet before you go. The silence wonderful. Angus tried really hard to get us to see things and we saw a lot, except for Orca's which had done a disappearing act That day. We had great weather so were v lucky. Early mist which was beautiful as it burned off. We went up knight inlet to see bears which we did not. This was a long way to not see anything and there were other people there anyway so did not feel the same. However our fishing day was quite staggering. The surroundings majestic. The destination truly remote. We fished and my son was hauling out Pink salmon. Much to his fathers annoyance!! There were Grizzlies and it was hot. We were wonderfully looked after by Ross, Thompson and of course Trapper. What a character. I have not been to many places where I really want to go back to. If I was given tickets today, I would back in a flash!

Room Tip: If you want to be on your own as a couple, ask for the separate cabin. Wee but cute and the views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Trout21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The trip to the lodge is an adventure on its own! We left San Francisco and arrived into Vancouver by plane, got into a ferry to Nanaimo, rented a car to Campbell River, flew a seaplane to this amazing place called Minstrel Island and, on this tiny island in the middle of absolutely nowhere we checked in into Sailcone Lodge! What an amazing experience!
We love wild life and adventure and you really get both here, but with an addition of great, delicious food, comfy accommodations and caring and attentive staff: Angus and his wife Krystl made sure all our reservations were set up and on time; Angus, George, Clint, Glen and Terry used their expertise in making sure we were able to see as much wildlife as possible.
Madeline, the cook, is incredible: homemade food with fresh and local ingredients every day!

We got the 3 night/4 day package in mid August and we were able to spend lots of time on the water, encountering humpback whales, orcas, seals, dolphins, porpoises, eagles.... and then you go see the bears!!! The very first time we saw a grizzly mom with 2 absolutely adorable cubs, right on the beach, looking for fish, crab and other bear food!!
Due to the time of the year (mid August) the grizzlies are not in the river yet, so we didn't get to see them "in action" fishing and gorging on salmon, but we caught glimpses of them starting to "test" the water!

We took over 2000 pictures... it is impossible to take a bad picture in this place! This was truly the adventure of a lifetime and we are already thinking to come back really soon.
We will definitely book for later August or beginning of September so to have the full "grizzly" experience!

Room Tip: If there's only 2 of you, you can book the "secluded" cabin right on the water... even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lilly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

When dealing with true wildlife, there can be no guarantees that they will turn up when you want them too. As the editor of an International Deer Hunting magazine I was well aware that we were booking this trip well before the annual salmon run but had to fit in with other obligations in BC.

My wife Robyn and I were going to BC for a one month holiday including a 7 day Rocky Mountain Trail ride and to visit with friends and after disecting different websites thought we would include Sailcones's Grizzly Bear Safari into our schedule.

All enquiries to the website were met with a quick and positive response, the deposit was paid and the booking information was forwarded. Access to Knight Inlet was with Corilair Sea Planes based out of Campbell River. The staff at Corilair were aware of our arrival and travel plans, friendly and helpful.

Arriving at Knight Inlet we were welcomed on the dock by a smiling Angus and Krystle and their young daughter Emilywho soon had us settled in our cabin. There is a choice of accommodation within the lodge or an outside cabin delightfully positioned above a rocky outcrop with uninterrupted views across the inlet.

Breakfast is a do it yourself affair with an almost unlimited selection to choose from. Lunch was a picnic affair with a different variety each day. The evening meal was always different and wonderfully presented and surpassed every other Hotel or restuarant meal we had while travelling in Canada.

Rising at 6.30a.m. each morning breakfast was around 7, then into the boat and well under way before 8, usually arriving back at the lodge around 5.30 to 6.30 p.m.

Angus pulled out all stops to get us within close range of bald eagles grizzly bear, black bear, dolphins, seals, sea otters, orca's and humpback whales, his dedication to the client is quite remarkable. The scenery as you run around the various inlets between countless islands is stunning and the day passes far to quickly.

You may want to view your orca, humpback or grizz from the comfort of an ocean liner or cruise ship with 50 other passengers, so be it, but you will be missing out on the adventure of a lifetime. The small boat is the way to go, up close these animals are able to put your perception of reality in the right place.

Arriving back at the lodge you have a great chance to sit back, enjoy a wine or beer with the other guests and the staff.

Had we travelled a few weeks later we would have definately seen more bears. Would it have been more enjoyable? Impossible to say because we had a great time.

To Angus showing tourists around is not just a job, it is his way of life, he loves it, and it shows.

We are looking forward hopefully to be in a position to put in a repeat visit with friends.

To Angus, Krystle, Emily, John and Kathy thanks for a great adventure and for sharing a little of your life with us.

Room Tip: Outside cabin with on-suite is perfect for couples, great views and only a thirty metre walk to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

4 of us have just returned from a wonderful 3 day four night experience at the lodge. Can;t speak highly enough of the facilities and the wonderful food - all excellent.

I would only like to point out that although it doesn't read otherwise ,you are actually at the lodge for only ONE WHOLE DAY - arriving at 4.30 ish on the first day, then a full day out and then leaving about 2.30 on the third day. Also on return to Campbell River were surprised that dinner at the hotel was not included ?

However, we couldn't complain in any way about the time that was spent there - wonderful thank you

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SusanV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

having been planning this trip for a few years i was ready for a let down----far from it.
my mindset from the beginning was that this trip was not to a zoo or organised safari trip,if no bears, whales dolphins turned up,so be it,i would just have to come back another year,i feel for the previous reviewer,but i was under no illusion as to what might happen,
i consider that we were very lucky,we saw plenty of bears whales etc.etc.that i feel was down to the expertise of our guides George and Cam,they really new what they were doing our hats go off to them
if i ever did this trip again it would be through Sailcone,they have got it right,superb food(son put on a stone in weight)wonderful location and a superb team that are on top of there game
still cannot get over the superb quality and quantity of food that was put in front of us every day
the atmosphere generated by angus and co put all of us at ease maybe we were lucky.
all in all the trip for me was something i dont think i can ever repeat.
even our fellow guests Phill,Claudia, Nancy and Al,seemed just right,perfect company for a perfect say
my advice to anybody making a trip like this is to make a nuisance of youself before you go. ask questions

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank derekrawlins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these British Columbia hotels
0.0 mi away
Bear Claw Lodge
Bear Claw Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kispiox
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blackfish Lodge
Blackfish Lodge
#39 of 268 in Vancouver Island
26 reviews
152.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
322.0 mi away
Best Western Sicamous Inn
247.0 mi away
Quality Inn Merritt
Quality Inn Merritt
#2 of 13 in Merritt
165 reviews
321.4 mi away
North Country Lodge
North Country Lodge
#1 of 3 in McBride
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grizzly Bear Lodge & Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grizzly Bear Lodge & Safari

Property: Grizzly Bear Lodge & Safari
Address: Knight Inlet | Johnstone Strait, British Columbia V9N 8Z9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 1,315 Specialty Lodging in British Columbia
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sailcone's Grizzly Bear Tours, Lodge and Safari offers grizzly tours and grizzly bear watching from viewing stands and wildlife tours for black bears, killer whales (orca) humpback whales, dolphins, stellar seals, sea lions, black bears and eagles. Our grizzly bear tours are conducted on Canada's famous natural fjord known as 'Knight Inlet BC' and on the salmon rivers that flow into Knight Inlet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grizzly Bear Lodge & Safari Canada/British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing