We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fabulous drive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea to Sky Highway

Sea to Sky Highway
Book In Advance
$116.04*
and up
Sea-to-Sky Highway and Gondola Photography Tour
Ranked #15 of 2,833 things to do in British Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A two-lane scenic highway passes both the Pacific Ocean and rugged mountain peaks.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
218 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Fabulous drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We are from NZ but lived in Alberta for 4 years and when we recently visited Vancouver again we did this drive as it was the closest we could get to feeling we were back in the Rockies again. It is a lovely lovely drive and make sure to stop at Galileo for a coffee and a great scone on your way up. Near Whistler on the side road to the ski jump area we twice found a black bear at the side of the road that we watched for 30 mms or so as it happily grazed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dreamer1NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,028
    303
    41
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just amazing driving and travelling experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Driving from Richmond to Whistler was not as difficult as expected because the highway roads were clean and wide. We started at 7am and reached Whislter at around 2 pm. We stopped at Horseshoe Bay, Shannon Falls, Alice Lake and finally beautiful Brandywine Falls. The stunning and breathtaking scenic views were unforgettable and enjoyable. An unexpected travel before reaching the "beautiful" early summer Whistler.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank llleung1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We've made this drive on daylight and at sunset. Both times it was breathtaking, but driving this highway as the sun is going down is unlike anything else I've seen from the car before, and that includes two cross country trips. An absolute must, and make it at sunset if you can!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank blackcattitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panama
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Not an easy drive , but worth it. The views are awesome and if you drive down to Lilliooet it's even better. We enjoyed the descend better, because there was hardly any traffic. Well worth the slow drive.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ama1152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Visually stunning drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is one of the most gorgeous drives I've taken. It was amazing to see both mountains and shoreline simultaneously. Also, it seemed like each turn had a different, scenic view. There are also provincial parks along the highway that you can stop (and hike) at. Definitely a must-do if you are in the Vancouver area!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KPTravelAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea to Sky Highway also viewed

Squamish, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Sea to Sky Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing