We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, tad expensive”

Keg Steakhouse & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Keg Steakhouse & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 330 Restaurants in Red Deer
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Gaetz Ave / 67th Street
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, tad expensive”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Not really a dislike, but the garlic and cheese toast was HUGE....I thought it was going to be a small piece. Could not eat it all. Prime rib was good. I had the lobster combo. Lobster tails are getting too small these days!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RobertJFisherCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    40
    19
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great winter menu”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We hadn't been to The Keg for quite awhile. We made reservations, which a lot of people don't realize you can do and if you can I would suggest this as The Keg in Red Deer can be very busy. Parking is good as it in located on the Parkland Mall property. There were four of us and every one of us had a really great meal. My husband and I were commenting afterwards that this is one of the best meals that we have had in Red Deer in a long time. Don't forget about The Keg, still one of the best steak houses around.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa01_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good meal, excellent service!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Had a wonderful dinner here, the food was excellent. We had very courteous, attentive service from our server Mike.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellerelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvan Lake, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had a reservation for 5 pm New Years eve and were seated at our table on time. Our food all arrived in a timely fashion and everything was fantastic. Our ceasar salads were on cold plates for freshness, my steak oscar was perfect, my husband loved his prime rib and our twice baked potatoes were delicious. Our waiter, PJ, was just the right combination of friendly and professional, and his service was terrific. We also noticed the manager helping to serve and clear tables. Ours was a memorable dining experience and a great way to end 2013! We can't understand the negative reviews, as we thought our Keg meal was awesome.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lr2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible service......never again!!!!!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Table booked for 7.30pm, food eventually arrived at 9.30pm and the place was not busy! The catalogue of farcical episodes in between is too great to mention. Even had to ask to see a manager twice before anything was speeded up.........Expensive and pretentious!!!!
Food was good but at their prices I would not expect to have to pay extra for a few vegetables, and at their prices the excuse of everyone makes mistakes sometimes does not fly - I would expect the staff to be trained adequately for the job.... It was complete incompetence!!!
Needless to say, we will NOT be visiting this Keg Steakhouse again!!

Helpful?
Thank Gareth69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keg Steakhouse & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Keg Steakhouse & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing