We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch go to”

Glenn's Family Restaurant & Gift Shop
Ranked #8 of 326 Restaurants in Red Deer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: RELAX! AND COME ON IN FOR A QUIET COMFORTABLE EXPERIENCE! NEW EVENING FEATURES A EXPRERIENCED QUALIFIED CHEF! Fresh made hamburgers made to order served at the table within 20 minutes. Fried onions, mushrooms and onion rings and your choice of condiments. Just ask for our hand made burgers and design your own burger with your choice of hot sauces or make yourself a Mexican Burger. Choice of salad or potato for a side dish. Fast friendly service and all day breakfast for your convenience. Ask for items you are craving and customize your meals. Our servers will accommodate you with our fast, friendly service. We will exceed your expectations. Our evening meals start at 4 PM. Enjoy a veal cutlet or a steak with all the trimmings! ALL DAY BREAKFAST SPECIALS ! Eggs Benedict Special and More! A new burger called the overload burger for the person who enjoys fresh local Alberta Beef served with any topping you chose. Loaded with fresh lettuce, tomato, relish or mustard. Build your own burger and be served at the table so you can relax and enjoy our WI-FI or just enjoy sitting at our comfortable booths and tables. Lots of space and we cater to families and large groups. Quiet and enjoyable with lots of space to eat and visit with your friends and family. New items are offered daily on our specials. Our meat is locally sourced from Central Alberta and supplied by Nossack Meats, a locally owned and operated business from Red Deer, Alberta. Desserts include our in-house baked Flapper Pie! And of course enjoy a tea and cookie with your meal! We offer more than over 200 types of loose-leaf tea from around the planet! Come and enjoy a latte made fresh from our may teas! NEW TO THE RESTAURANT! OUR BURGERS WILL IMPRESS YOU ALONG WITH OUR SERVICE! TRY A NEW YORK STEAK SANDWICH OR JUST HAVE TEA!
Red Deer, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brunch go to”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Glenn's can be busy especially it seems on a Sunday but I have never had to wait too long. We like to go there for a real brewed cuppa and the selection of teas, but we also appreciate the great service. I don't think the food is exceptional, but my family likes to go for their brunchie items. I asked for a cup to take the rest of my tea home and they also gave us a cup for the coffee and filled it without question. My teenage son picked Glenn's for his birthday meal last year

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank F1reL1ght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    73
    38
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service and Great Food!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stopped at Glenn's on a Sunday morning and were worried about getting a seat. The hostess quickly sat us and the waitress was quick to take our order. When our food came, one of the kids didn't like a condiment on his sandwich and the waitress, without a question, took the sandwich back and came back with another. We were extremely impressed at the service and quality of food. I would definitely recommend Glenn's to anyone looking for "home style" cooking!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CruisinAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A place for tea”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stopped in with two ladies for tea. Many, many choices! A great way to introduce yourself to & sample new types of tea -- then you can buy the tea as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DiMor56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Consistently shines... Good food, great service!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

This Is a great place to stop for a refreshing, enjoyable meal half way between Calgary and Edmonton. Large menu, fresh food, good soups, and always good service. It is clean and neat, and even the bathrooms are beautifully decorated.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danamcarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Alright food, terrible service”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Came to Glenn's for lunch with relatives. When we arrived, it took a while to be greeted by a hostess to sit us down. Hostess looked very confused with where to go and she served us our menus upside-down. When we got to our table, it took a long time for our waitress to come serve us coffee. When we decided what to order, it took half an hour for our waitress to come back. One of us had to grab the waitress when she passed by our table to say that we were still waiting to order. She answered that she knew that we were waiting in a very rude tone. We ordered and it still took more than an average time for our food to come. Food was okay, but nothing special. The cutlery was dirty as well. When we looked around, the restaurant was filled with seniors and we noticed that there was a patio. Too bad we weren't offered to sit outside on the patio, especially since it was a beautiful day. Bathrooms are very clean and was the only positive thing I could find about this restaurant. I would not recommend coming here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oilersfan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhillsdown, Owner at Glenn's Family Restaurant & Gift Shop, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Hi oilersfan95

Thank you for your review of our restaurant.

We do need more details in order to respond appropriately to your comments.

Please inform us of your time of arrival. The date you were here is also part of the information you need to give us. We are very concerned due to the reputation we have usually!

We aim to have fast friendly service! Your concerns are taken seriously!
Please help us improve our service. Our manager need to train our hostess more
carefully.

New employees are now being trained to hostess at this time. This may be a good opportunity for us to revamp our training program. Our manager will be informed of this gap in our service teams link to our customer.
Please provide us with your contact details such as a email address or phone number.

You can phone us at 403-346-5448 to talk to Connie Johnston or Doug Simon, Our front -of the house Customer Service Representatives. We also are available to speak with directly to
confirm details of your visit and help with the Customer Service Recovery. Is there anything you would like us to do ? How can we encourage you to try us again?
Best regards,
Glenn and Jessie Simon
Glenn's Family Restaurant Ltd.
glenrest@telus.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenn's Family Restaurant & Gift Shop also viewed

 

Been to Glenn's Family Restaurant & Gift Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing