We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Bistro on Gaetz
Ranked #7 of 12 Coffee & Tea in Red Deer
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian, Soups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Red deer
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We had heard so much about this place so decided to try it out, as soon as we walked in the two ladies behind the counter we're giving us strange looks. They did not say anything to us until my boyfriend asked if they had a certain kind of sandwich.. The one lady did not even acknowledge that we had spoken and the other just answered with a No. We did not feel very welcome and just had a bad vibe from the moment we walked in. Very unfortunate considering our high hopes for this place. Would not recommend it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great "mom & daughter" shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was a great place to relax and feel comfortable whether it was in the morning or during the busy lunch time. I come here often for my morning coffee fix and even lunch. The girls that work there are freindly and approachable. The coffee is great, the food is reasonably priced and the cinnamon buns are DELICIOUS! :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aamntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
“Rude customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

I went in there to try it out today with my young daughter. I had a free coffee so I asked if I could have a tea instead of a coffee and the owner was like I guess so it's a free thing though. So I was told to look at the tea selection and was having a problem deciding what kind I wanted and she says I have bookeeping to do so could you hurry up and decide. I said nevermind then left. What a horrible first experience and no way to treat a customer. The selection of treats was sad and I will never go again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nene160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
136 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Good place to grab a sandwich. Fresh food and tasty. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Not 'Fast Food', but 'Good Food'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

This was a regular lunch time stop for me a couple of years ago and I was delighted to find it still open, years later. The food selection is bistro style (hence the name) and has a down to earth, homemade type style to it. They offer Breakfast sandwiches, regular sandwiches, soups, sweets and don't forget the specialty coffee selection. Price are pretty much all under $10 and you will leave satisfied.
This is a great stop when you're down town and looking for a filling meal that doesn't empty your wallet.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TripstersCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bistro on Gaetz also viewed

Red Deer, Alberta
 

Been to The Bistro on Gaetz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing