We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience. We loved the taste of the pizza cooked at such a high temperature.”

Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria
Ranked #11 of 330 Restaurants in Red Deer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Famoso is a casual pizzeria serving authentic Neapolitan pizzas made with high quality ingredients in a domed Italian oven. Ideal for a quick lunch or a night out. Enjoy with wine, cocktails and beer.
Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great experience. We loved the taste of the pizza cooked at such a high temperature.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We enjoyed our visit to Famoso Neopolitan Pizzeria to taste pizza prepared and cooked different than our Canadian pizza restaurants. We love gelato and this is one place we can get it. It is a pizza restaurant where people with diet dairy restrictions can enjoy a pizza away from home.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    35
    12
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
“I love Neapolitan pizza....”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is a great spot. We tried the Margharihta, Capriccosa and Cavoletti. All were superb. Great flavour, not heavy on the cheese, the way real pizza is supposed to be. Something about the chewiness of the Neapolitan crust, and the wood fired flavour makes it special.

A great change from the BPs, Pizza Huts and Chicago Deep Dish that plauge this town. You want huge, stealth-bomber sized slices of generic crap, stick to those places. You want great flavour, good value in a nice atmosphere, come here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BrWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tasty Fresh Pizza”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Very fast friendly service. Fresh tasty ingredients. Although the crust in the center of the pizza can become quite soggy from the water content of the fresh mozza.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeanDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tasty but under cooked”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We had 2 pizza's both tasty toppings but they were not cooked enough. Were sloppy in centre, had to use a knife and fork to eat them. The crust would not stand up on its own.
If they were cooked for a bit longer then the would be a 4star.
Friendly staff, quick service however it was quiet when we went.
Tried it once unsure if we would go again.

Helpful?
Thank mojomiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maitland, nova scotia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

So great to find a place like this in Red Deer. Incredible authentic pizza. I can understand why some people could be hesitant or not impressed, because if you like/used to Domino's or Panago, or Little Cesar's then this may not be up your alley if you are not adventurous. The crust is beautiful the ingredients quality. Everything they have going on there is just perfect.
The Cavoletti white pizza is insanely good, I crave it all the time, and cannot stop thinking about it. Thank you Famoso!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kelbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing