We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Red Deer
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Red Deer
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Great rooms, great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Sandman Hotel for 3 nights. I was very happy with my stay there! The location is unbeatable for jumping on/off the highway and there's tons of shopping really close by. When I first saw the hotel I was impressed, not run down or dingy looking. The inside was clean and the staff greeted me. When checking in, the front desk made sure everything was in order and to my preference. It looked like it was a busy weekend but they made sure to accommodate me. My room was great, clean and quiet. The hotel amenities were wonderful too. Having the new Moxies attached was ideal. I could have an assured yummy meal and top it off with a Bellini or two and walk up to my room. The pool was refreshing and it was nice to see a hot tub ( it's surprising to see how many don't). The free wi-fi worked well too. Had a nice stay, will recommend to anyone staying in Red Deer!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ella E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    28
    26
    12
    12
See reviews for
20
17
5
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

I will start at the beginning. I am not inclined to stay at a Sandman Hotel. That stated this is a new Sandman with Moxies built in.We are a family of 4 so we booked a "king size suite". I made 2 phone calls to ensure that there would in fact be a king size bed. My partner is nearly 7 ft tall, so this is a requirement. I also made 2 phone calls the day of arrival to ensure that either of us could check in and again king size bed and a queen for the kids. Well, you know where this is going don't you? They sent him to three different rooms! First was standard. Second, no king. Third a king with a single bed pull out. By the time the kids and I arrived I was already perturbed. Our bed did not have a matress cover, and the sheets felt very cheap. The pull out was a single I called for more blankets. TV 's were both nice. OK the hallway reeked of smoke both the legal kind and the not so legal kind. It was even hazy. When I asked about it they said " we have a smoking floor". GROSS. It is centrally located as well as the Moxies there is Target and a mall very close ( 5 min walk). The cleaning ladies were nice. WE stayed for 4 days, during which time the coffee in the lobby ran out each day. It was lack lustre. If you're a smoker its a good choice. The pool was tiny and the hot tub was slimy.

Room Tip: There is a SMOKING FLOOR - there are also renovations being done 4 th floor is upper most
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmorevacays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Red Deer hotels

Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is the worst place I have stayed at in a long time. I consider this because; our door wouldn't close unless you really pushed on it and locked it (housekeeping didn't even shut our door). No fan in the washroom and when you have to other people in your room with you and we all have showers and really don't want to open the window cause it is -45C out. No plug in the sink, it was sitting on the counter. I reported this on the first morning and was hoping this would have been fixed but nope. When we returned to our room that evening our keys were deactivated cause they can't look in the system to see that I had booked for two nights. When I went to pay when we booked out I was asked how was our stay and I stated that the repairs were not done and we were not comfortable and all I was told was "Oh, well it's on the list". So Sandman No More.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly0927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

When I booked this room, I was told that there was no construction going on and that was a lie. When we got into our room the door wasn't closed proper, I had to lean on it very hard to latch it. There was no fan in the bathroom and trust me I at -40c you really don't want to open a window. I had reported this the front desk and she put it on the Maintenance List, which didn't get looked at. We booked for two nights and they just could not get that. When we returned to our room we had to get new card keys cause they deactivated ours, cause they thought we were there for one night. Nothing was fixed, then we went to the pool and it had so much bleach in it it bleached the clothes we were wearing, meaning my sons green shorts were orange when we got out. I will never stay here again and I tell everyone NOT TO STAY at this dump.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greeneeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRedDeer, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Red Deer, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback relating to your most recent stay with us. I’m sorry to hear that your stay was anything less than ideal. All of our employees are aware that we are currently upgrading our rooms to better suit our guests needs, I must apologize if this was not effectively communicated to you. We do not have fans in our fourth floor bathrooms, nor do we have the capability to add one - these bathrooms run on a convective ventilation system. I’m sorry that we mistakenly only had you booked for one night, our Guests Services team confirms reservation details at the time of check-in to try and avoid any inconveniences to our guests. As for the pool, I have had no reports from any of our other guest regarding faded swimsuits and we comply with all Alberta Health Services regulations, submitting weekly water samples for their review.

If you wish to discuss any of this further, please contact the hotel directly. We hope you consider the Sandman Hotel next time you’re in Red Deer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

This place is dirty!! What ever u do don't look behind the bed, nasty!!! Obviously they don't clean very well or better yet never!! And our room smelled like a old dirty ashtray it was non smoking! I honestly feel like we got stuck in the old non renovated part of the hotel because we got compassionate rate for hospital stay.. Only thing good was the front desk people were very nice.. We ended up changing hotels super 8 way better and way cleaner for a couple bucks more so worth it !!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Deedee417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRedDeer, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Red Deer, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. I’m extremely disappointed to hear that you didn’t get to share our typical guest experience in regards to cleanliness. I have passed your concerns along to our Executive Housekeeper who will be addressing this with her department. We are proud winners of the AHLA Housekeeping Award and have done so 9 of the last 11 years, including 2012 to 2014. I’m glad that you were able to utilize our Compassionate Rate and can assure you we have an excellent working relationship with the Hospital and treat all of our guests the same, regardless of the rate or reason of stay. I will pass your praise on to our Front Office Manager to share with his Guest Services Team – it’s nice to know that their hard work did not go unnoticed.

Please consider the Sandman Hotel next time you are in Red Deer and I can assure you that we will change your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Hills, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed one night & enjoyed a King suite courtesy of a 3rd party discount offer. Suite was very nice, clean & well equipped. This facility has an attached restaurant eliminating the need to go outside on cold nights. But...you've got to get to the front door first. I was rather dismayed at the condition of the parking lot - snow had not been very well removed which lead to serious ice build up. (The downside of our lovely Alberta chinooks (warm winds) - melting during the day, freezing at night.) It was a little bit of a dance to get to the front door & my weak ankle complained all the way. Aside from that though, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swazimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed there last Friday nite for a conference. They did give me the conference rate, although the advance registration was over. However the room was right outside the ice machine, it bumped and made noise all night. The chairs were so dirty I was afraid to sit in them. Lots of plugs, but could use more where I wanted to plug in the computer. NO FREE BREAKFAST! What is up with that. When I went to Moxies next door they said "we don't do that"! Even at the reduced rate one room was $ 125.00. I hate paying for sleeping anyway...but next time I go across the street to Travelodge! Oh and the bathtub is so small I thought it was meant for midgets!

Room Tip: Don't get the one near the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RobertJFisherCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Deer hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Red Deer
3.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Red Deer
Radisson Hotel Red Deer
#2 of 29 in Red Deer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Red Deer Hotel
Sheraton Red Deer Hotel
#9 of 29 in Red Deer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Red Deer
0.1 mi away
Black Knight Inn
Black Knight Inn
#10 of 29 in Red Deer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.0 mi away
Days Inn - Red Deer
Days Inn - Red Deer
#7 of 29 in Red Deer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Red Deer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Red Deer

Property: Sandman Hotel Red Deer
Address: 2818 Gaetz Avenue, Red Deer, Alberta T4R 1M4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Red Deer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Red Deer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Red Deer 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Edmonton and Calgary, Red Deer is the perfect balance of beautiful natural surroundings, modern conveniences, and rustic ease. Sandman Hotel Red Deer is a great choice for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel Red Deer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Red Deer
Sandman Hotel Red Deer Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing