We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Red Deer
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Red Deer
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This is a clean, quiet, reasonably priced small hotel that is connected to a Moxie's restaurant and in the centre of lots of reastaurants and shopping. Very good for families or business. We were there for a romantic get-away, and it was awesome for that too. The pool is small and cold, but the hot tub is large, deep and hot. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. Nothing bad to say-but of course it wasn't the Banff Springs.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenscubadiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 96 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2011

The only nice thing I can say about this property is it has a Moxie's in it. The hotel is a tired dump. I felt unclean when I stayed there, which was (thankfully) just one night. The rooms are glum, the staff is slow (perhaps understaffed, but that's not my concern). I sense no pride in property or customer service. Their only advantage is that Red Deer is not a bustling metropolis; hence, not a ton of competition.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterBungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

It's been a couple of years since I've been here. It hasn't really changed. The room I had was nice. The hallways are are well maintained. The staff, well almost seems preoccupied in thought as they are talking with you. The Sandman looks like Langley's Sandman but it's not. The staff in my opinion shouldn't be outside on their break leaning against the column by the front doors smoking & texting. This hotel is not bad. Maybe it reflex the management.
There is a Moxies on site and a Denny's almost on sight. Sure, I'll be back. Not bad Sandman Red Deer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benPrinceGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We were booked in for two nights for a lacrosse tournament. We had a junior corporate suite. The room was adequate but we had 4 people in the room (not a ridiculous number) and 3 pillows. When we called down to the front desk we were told they were out of pillows. I said but we have four people and three pillows, this is unacceptable. The front desk's response was "that's all we have". Very young, inexperienced night staff that had NO customer service skills. After I wake up tomorrow with a stiff neck due to no pillow, I will be checking out, checking in at a hotel with sufficient numbers of pillows.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schafferl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We checked in on a Friday afternoon. As there is a huge hockey tournament going on in the area one would have figured that we may have been given a heads up that 9 teams of 10 year olds may be running the halls until quite time but no, we were informed by a sugar high kid in the elevator on our way to the room.

When I reserved the room I specifically asked for a suite, to the point I actually wrote down the booking reference number. When we checked in I gave the number and was in I formed my room was not available and one of equivalent would nit be available due to the number of hockey parents in that weekend.

The first night was surprisingly quiet (Friday). At exactly 11pm the kids disappeared from the hallways and I thought to myself this may not be so bad. Saturday night was 180 degrees opposite; it wasn't the kids running the halls all night, it was the hyena chuckles of drunken parents traveling pack formation from room to room followed by the constant thud of everyone passing through the door with the door look wedged keeping the doors open.

We made it through the night, i called to the front desk on two separate occasions to no avail as I assume i wasnt the only One complaining , or attempting, as the front desk staff did not answer the phone!

I did get through at 9am wondering if we could check out 1 hour later (noon, instead of 11am) and was told no. Again assuming the hung over hockey parents needed that extra hour to recover.

To top everything off no hot water on Sunday morning.

Never again! The Sandman (and all affiliated hotels) will never receive another dine from me!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jkjwoodford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRedDeer, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2011

Dear guest,

I first want to thank you for making us aware of your experience with us. Although negative, it is important for us to know these in order to not only remedy but prevent such situations to happen again.

It is very unfortunate that you foud yourself in the middle of team filled hotel. Kids running down the hall and parents "socializing" are always an area of concern and while not breaking any "laws" they are disruptive to guest such as yourself that had nothing to do with the event.

Our front end employees were repeatedly warning coaches and parents which quiet things down and then again we would go through the process... Luckily, the kids and parents respected the quiet time of 11:00PM.

Again, with groups such as these, everyone wakes up at the same time and showers at the system and has the potential to cause hot water issues. Please rest assured that these are only temporary and that hot water is usually available again with the next 30 minutes or so.

If you wish to further discuss, please feel free to contact me personally.

Thank you again for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Booked and stayed in a King Jr Corp Suite. The room was clean. Not overly spacious and rather average. However, oddly, there was no luggage rack in the room. I guess they expect you to use the coffee table? Front desk was efficient. Suitable for a night's stay. Recommended for clean quiet rooms but nothing outstanding about the property.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DestinyVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Rooms, staff and amenities are all ok. Pool area is really small and needing to be redone completely. Location fit my needs and it's nice to have a Moxie's restaurant attached for meals. About as average a hotel as you can imagine and a little overpriced.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Deer hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Red Deer
2.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Red Deer
0.1 mi away
Black Knight Inn
Black Knight Inn
#11 of 29 in Red Deer
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Red Deer North
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Red Deer
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Red Deer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Red Deer

Address: 2818 50 Ave, Red Deer, Alberta T4R 1M4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Red Deer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Red Deer
Price Range: $70 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Red Deer 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Edmonton and Calgary, Red Deer is the perfect balance of beautiful natural surroundings, modern conveniences, and rustic ease. Sandman Hotel Red Deer is a great choice for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel Red Deer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Red Deer
Sandman Hotel Red Deer Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing