We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”

Heritage Ranch Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 330 Restaurants in Red Deer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $125
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Voted "The Most Romantic Place to Dine" in Red Deer... we offer a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere at The Westlake Grill. Located on the south bank of the Red Deer River, the Westlake Grill specialty is the Jack Daniels and Rickards infused Ribeye steak, homemade burgers, daily lunch and supper features along with Ranch made bread, soups and desserts. The Westlake Grill also offers specialty dining experiences that include our exclusive Carriage Date Night Package, Kayak River trips, trail ride date packages and more.
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The environment was beautiful. The food was ok. The venue was good for a large group but there wasn't enough food for everyone.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    29
    13
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Red Deer's Best Kept Secret!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Heritage Ranch offers great food, fantastic service, and excellent value. The location is unsurpassed in Red Deer and you can enjoy the dining room or deck and feel you're in the middle of the country. The trail system runs along the restaurant so you can walk off the lovely meal you just enjoyed. Highly recommend!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hctroubador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, Owner at Heritage Ranch Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments. The Ranch really is the Best Kept Secret and thanks to you, more people will experience the place we love.
You may be interested to know that we've added a brand new menu to the ranch c/w a new Wednesday night feature Gourmet Burger Bar. Our Sunday Brunch is back since our renovations have been completed. Drop in and see us again sometime, we'd love to meet you.
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disapointing to say the least”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My wife and I live in Westlake and we had always wanted to try this place out. We invited some friends and went for dinner. We didn't get any service when we walked in until 2 mins later( the place was not busy). The resturant was cold and uninviting. The menu had 3 items to choose from, pizza, steak, and a burger. Long story stort, service was terrible, food was terrible, and value for what we were getting was not good at all. We would have been much better off going to one of red deers many other restaurants. We will not be back. It's unfortunate because they have such great scenery in the area and if they stepped things up a lot, they would be able to offer a great dinning experience. The place needs better trained servers, kitchen staff, and managers. It if keeps up, this place won't be in business much longer. Could also use a minor renovation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sralston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, Owner at Heritage Ranch Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Very sorry to hear that but thank you for the feedback. We work hard at creating amazing food and experiences at the ranch. We have recently renovated, created a new menu and improved on our service training policies.. I'd personally like to invite you back to the ranch to enjoy all the ranch has to offer.
Cheers
Joel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible! I'll never eat anywhere else again...”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I had never heard of Heritage Ranch when I first arrived in AB a few months ago. Admittedly, the idea of going to a ranch restaurant to eat was totally new to me, but when my gf suggested we try it I agreed. I am very glad we did.

We went to the Sunday brunch buffet. After being seated by a very friendly server we went to the buffet and were greeted by steaming pans of scrambled eggs, French toast, sausage and hash-browns, sizzling strips of bacon and delicious eggs benedict. The food as amazing and the staff was warm and helpful. The French toast and eggs benny are the best I have ever had, anywhere. For desert there was a plateful of cookies, brownies and, best of all, the Ranch's famous (now I know why) cinnamon buns. I've never had better food.

On top of this, the atmosphere was warm and friendly and the price was very reasonable considering the wide selection and unexpectedly high quality of the food. It looks like we've found our new restaurant!

If you haven't been to Heritage Ranch you've missed out. Best food in Red Deer!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, Public Relations Manager at Heritage Ranch Restaurant, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your glowing review and for taking the time to let us know what you think of Heritage Ranch! We really appreciate knowing that we have satisfied customers! Hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Heritage Ranch Food Improves”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

It was a happy surprise during my recent bike trip through Heritage Ranch to stop for a bite to eat and discover that the food had improved considerably. The food was both tasty and reasonably priced.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank melodycs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, Public Relations Manager at Heritage Ranch Restaurant, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us! We are testing out and fine tuning our new menu. It is great to hear that we are getting it right! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Ranch Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Heritage Ranch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing