We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Red Deer
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Red Deer
Certificate of Excellence
Standard, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed October 20, 2008

Spent the weekend at this hotel with my sister and two nieces - a "girls' weekend" and we were treated very nicely.
The rooms were spotless and the beds very comfy. The only flaw was the plug in one of the tubs kind of stuck shut, but one of my nieces managed to unscrew it and all was well.
There is a breakfast included and on Sunday there is hot food in addition to the lovely variety of bagels, cinnamon rolls and toast. There is a variety of cereal, juices and everything was kept well stocked and tidy.
We had a lovely visit with each other and the ambience of the hotel only made it better.

  • Liked — the rooms were very clean and comfortable
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Red Deer, responded to this review, October 22, 2008
Thank you for your recent correspondence. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognized our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday Inn Express Red Deer a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving your in the future. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Red Deer.

Shazma Charania
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    81
    28
    8
    10
See reviews for
73
31
25
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
134 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

Stayed Sun night of the Labour Day weekend. Here's the good, the bad, and the ugly

Good
- hotel is at the far south end of Red Deer, across from Sears at www.bowerplace.com
- besides the mall, you can walk to Wendy's & McDonalds. Nearby are Walmart and other big box stores
- though there's just 2 floors, there is an elevator
- modern lobby with gas fireplace and leather furniture
- huge guest room has large entrance area, with almost everything new: carpet, bedding, muted wallpaper, empty fridge, microwave, iron with board, coffeemaker, telephones on desk and bedside table
- furniture includes desk with office chair, table with 2 chairs, 3 drawer cabinet, and luggage bench
- comfy queen beds have 4 pillows with softness labels
- new window has sheers and blackout drapes
- modern light fixtures with bright, energy efficient lighting throughout
- remote control heater/air conditioning - and you can set the temperature
- bathroom has a huge framed mirror, curved shower rod, thick towels
- 24hr fitness room (accessible with your room card) has new LifeFitness equipment: 2 treadmills, stepper, stationery bike, and universal station. Flat panel tv, water cooler, towels, wipes
- great breakfast buffet (standard at Holiday Inn Express) till 10:30am on Sat & Sun, but otherwise 9:30
- the lobby window next to the whirlpool has been painted, resolving a previous poster's concern
- vending machine has $1 chips and $1 microwave popcorn. Coin dryer is $1 and washer is $2
- local and 800 numbers are free as is the wireless internet
- rooms in the back are around a grassed courtyard with 3 picnic tables and a small water feature

Bad
- the room's bathroom is small and mostly white
- if you're on the main floor, you can hear people upstairs walking and showers running
- there's just 2 pictures in the room, both way above the headboards
- window barely opens because of the safety screws
- open closet has old wood hangers with those awful can't-hang-anywhere-else metal hooks
- fitness room ceiling is a bit low, and the sign states it closes at 11pm (although it's 24hrs); they got carried away with glass brick: it covers the 2 longer walls
- if you choose to take a shower in the changerooms, you'll want to adjust the lightswitch to 'ON' (otherwise, the sensor will turn off all lights, leaving you in the dark and at the far end of the light switch)
- breakfast hours don't get extended to 10:30 on holiday Mon
- the room's "Guest directory" book does not indicate pool hours - although it states it's a salt water pool (not?) - and lists all banks but the RBC across the street
- the floor plan on the reverse of the door is obsolete (before renovations); it lists laundry that is staff only. There is a coin laundry - next to ice and vending machines. None are on the floorplan or even mentioned in the "Guest directory".

Ugly
- I could hear young screams from the pool area into my room, even at 9:45pm (pool closes at 10, as does the sauna and whirlpool there). With a water slide emptying into the centre of the pool, swimming lengths is unlikely. There are some rooms with windows onto the pool area - likely to be avoided!

I've stayed at Holiday Inn Red Deer on the north side (see my Apr 2005 review); that place is definitely preferable.

  • Liked — huge refurbished room; great breakfast
  • Disliked — pool
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ABtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Red Deer, responded to this review, October 22, 2008
Thank you for your recent communication. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.
The Holiday Inn Express Red Deer, being a franchise, needs to abide by the standards, policies and procedures that are put forth to us.
Our team has changed the light switch in the change room as well as extended the breakfast bar to 10:30am on holidays.
Some of our rooms do face the swimming pool, which can be a guest preference for some families; however, we are more than accommodating if a request was made to be faced away from the pool.
I have tried to touch on some of the suggestions you have had that are in our control.
It is guest such as yourself who take the time to tell us how to improve our amenities and services so that we can continue to be serving better.
Once again, we appreciate your time and we look forward to serving you in the future to show you the changes we have made.

Yours in Hospitality,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

We stayed here just one night.
Check in polite and courteous.
Room clean, modern, well kept.
Breakfast good.
No issues, no problems.

  • Liked — All good
  • Disliked — No issues
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank europe-chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2008

We stayed at hotel with my 9 year olds sports team and families. We selected the hotel because it had a pool & water slide. The pool is very small (similar to a backyard pool) and the water slide is very small as well. Because the pool is so small kids coming down the slide were running into other kids. We pulled our entire group out of the pool fearing a serious injury.

The hotel has had a recent facelift inside and rooms were very comfortable.
I travel a lot on business and this is the 1st time in 20 years that I have been asked to sign a damage waiver while checking into the hotel. One family had their 70 year old grandparents staying in a room. Before they would let them check out one of the staff went and inspected their room for damage...very insulting.

  • Liked — clean & newly renovated
  • Disliked — pool area and check in policy
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matata5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2007

We had blocked a group of rooms for our team at the Holiday Inn Express - Red Deer. The reservation manager was courtious and efficient. She followed through with all of our requests without a glitch. We were all placed on the same floor near all of out other team members.
All the staff was very responsive and courtious to all of our needs. They allowed us to use their lobby for a pizza party (they were even as nice as to take the pizza boxes to the garbabge for us!)
The rooms were exceptionally clean. We loved the bedding (which looked brand new, and the beds were super comfy!).
Upon check out the staff was delightfully thoughtful. They asked us how our stay was, and we told them we would definatly stay here/refer this hotel to everyone we knew.
I would highly recommend this hotel for any group. Two thumbs WAY up!

  • Liked — The cleanliness of the rooms, and exceptional hotel staff.
  • Disliked — We had to leave.
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank soccormom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2007

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Red Deer July 8 and 9. I booked online but confirmed over the phone. We asked for adjoining rooms or rooms beside each other. At check in they were not able to provide us with these.

We arrived approx. 3:30 to be told our rooms were not ready so we decided to spend some time visiting family. We were not told why the rooms were not ready at such a late time.

We were also not told that the hotel was under major construction. Before swimming at the hotel pool, we asked if the pool was open and they told us yet, but when we all arrived to swim they said, "sorry it's closed" They did pay for us all to swim at the rec centre in Red Deer though, but it was an inconvience to pack up and head over there.

I think all in all this is probably a poor two star hotel and you would be worthwhile checking out a newer hotel in Red Deer. The hotel management should be letting people know that their hotel is under major construction, or at least be offering discounts to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank JamieMarieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 5, 2005

We stayed in this hotel one winters night when the roads were too treacherous to continue travel onto our destination in Edmonton. The room was nice, but VERY loud! We could hear the people above us coughing and walking around almost as if they were in our room. People were constantly trampling up and down the hall ways and that sounded like they were walking right through your room. We were awoken at three in the morning when noisey people were walking through the hallway and talking. Our room had a window that you could look into the "health club", I thought this was strange. I didn't use it for this reason, who wants people watching them while they are working out!? When staff asked us how our stay was and we said "too noisey", they did not feel the need to ask how they could correct our unhappiness! Overall, we will NEVER stay in a Holiday Inn Express ever again, nor will we ever give a Holiday Inn a shot either! Holiday Inn really dropped the ball with this one!! You pay too much money for a what they offer!

  • Stayed February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Deer hotels
3.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Red Deer
Radisson Hotel Red Deer
#2 of 29 in Red Deer
855 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Red Deer
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Red Deer Inn & Suites
2.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Red Deer
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Red Deer Hotel
Sheraton Red Deer Hotel
#7 of 29 in Red Deer
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Red Deer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Red Deer

Property: Holiday Inn Express Red Deer
Address: 2803 50th Avenue, Red Deer, Alberta T4R 1H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Red Deer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Red Deer
#6 Family Hotel in Red Deer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Red Deer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Is The Number One Choice Among Red Deer, Alberta Hotels For a comfortable stay at a central location, visit the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Red Deer, Alberta. Our hotel's location is halfway between Edmonton and Calgary off of Highway 2, making it easier to travel to and from the surrounding cities. Leisure guests will benefit from our location just minutes from many area golf courses, the Matchbox Theater and the many shopping options at Bower Place Shopping Center, South Point Common and downtown Red Deer. Lodging here also puts you just minutes from Westerner Park, Bower Ponds, Discovery Canyon Park and Heritage Ranch, which offer numerous activities throughout the year. Business travelers enjoy being in close proximity to Trican, Focus Corporation, Nova Chemicals, BJ Services, Telus, Canadian Tire and other businesses in downtown Red Deer. Our hotel's amenities include a 24-hour business centre with copying, faxing and printing services available. With our free Express Start hot breakfast bar, saltwater pool with a water slide, sauna, hot tub, private courtyard, car plug-ins and a 24-hour fitness centre, our hotel in Red Deer offers the amenities you need and want. Rooms feature a work area with free high-speed, wireless Internet access, triple-sheeted beds, a microwave and a fridge. Our Red Deer, Alberta hotel's staff eagerly await your next visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Red Deer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Red Deer Hotel Red Deer
Holiday Inn Red Deer
Red Deer Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Red Deer Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing