We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is Very Good, but Staff are Terrific!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Red Deer
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Red Deer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I feel that I have spent more time in hotels than in my own bed over the past 35 years of travel and I can honestly say that the staff at this Holiday Inn location are the best and the friendliest that I have come across. Since I started staying here 5 months ago, they recognized and greeted me as a long time guest and friend after only my second visit. When you are away from home so much, it is really nice to be greeted with a welcome home attitude!! They strive to keep my favorite room available and I give them the gears when it is not. All in good fun!!
The rooms are very comfortable and always clean and they never forget to leave a note for priority members. The location is great for dining and despite being on a main avenue, it is very quiet. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs one in Red Deer.

Room Tip: For any smokers, choose a room close to one of the exits
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Danielson U;

Thank you very much for your comment regarding your most recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Red Deer. Your positive feedback validates our mission to make each guest feel like he or she is coming home when walking through the doors. We try very hard to be that memorable place that keeps people wanting to come back over and over again. Thank you very much for taking the time to comment, the staff will definitely hear about this comment.

Tracy Sutherland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 401 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

I've stayed at this property a number of times over the last 10 years. The hotel is starting to show it's age a little. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is the standard Holiday Inn Express meal - which I am very happy with. I found the breakfast lady to be on top of her job and you could tell that she like doing what she does. I would stay here again, but it would be nice to see the sparkle the hotel used to have.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wbsAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZSHoldings, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear wbsCalgary;

We, at Holiday Inn Express Red Deer, are very glad you mentioned our “sparkle”. We have just completed updating our pool area with a new deck and refinish on the basin. Our hot tub was updated as well.
We have already begun preparations to upgrade other areas. We hope you will continue to stay with us; we appreciate your comment and your continues patronage. Thank you and see you soon.

Tracy Sutherland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We booked two rooms, 3 weeks in advance and cancelled the rooms 9 days before our arrival date as our plans had changed (we were able to arrange a family cabin to stay at). A few days later we got a call that we were prebilled for the room and the charges would not be reversed. "It is Holiday Inn's policy that pre booked rooms cannot be cancelled". Rather than completely waste the $281 that had been billed to our credit card we relented and decided to stay at the hotel so that our boys could play in the pool between volleyball games. Once checked in, we then found out that the pool, hot pool and steam room were closed. This was never mentioned in our previous conversations with the hotel. Not a great experience all around. With their corporate policy and their lack of disclosure we will not stay at another Holiday Inn and would like to warn anybody else about giving up their credit card number for booking a reservation. A good lesson on how NOT to treat customers.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZSHoldings, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Rod M,
We are truly sorry that this unfortunate situation occurred to you and your family.
Our pool was under some very necessary upgrades and again this notification was posted on the website in plain view where anyone wishing to book online can see. Again we apologize that you were unsatisfied with the situation.
The common practice of hotels offering an extremely good rate in exchange for a non-refundable booking is not unheard of. Our online booking system is diverted, to read everything to ensure that all guidelines and conditions are understood. The condition is displayed minimum 2 times during the booking and the customer must click a widget in order to proceed to the next phase of the reservation. We hope that you reconsider trying us again; this was a very unfortunate misunderstanding.
We thank you very much for your comments, as they do help us to improve to continue to bring our guests great service.

Tracy Sutherland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have a crew of 20+ employees staying at this hotel for business for a few months and it is home away from home. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We have received exceptional customer service from everyone we've dealt with. The hotel is clean, comfortable and reasonably priced.The hot breakfast every morning is an added bonus. It is in a great location close to all amenities. We would definitely not hesitate to recommend this hotel for a large group or even a family or single person travelling out of town for business.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you Karen T;

Thank you very much for your very positive review of Holiday Inn Express Red Deer. Our goal is to make each and every guest feel like they are "home" when staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to comment and we look forward to seeing you and your crew again.

Tracy Sutherland GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great hotel with a central location to the shops at Bower Mall and highway 2
Large well appointed rooms which the 4 of us found good as we had plenty of luggage
The daily breakfast was fantastic with alternate choices all the staff were very accommodating
There is ample parking and an on site laundry made life very easy for the family as we stayed for 7 nights
Being the middle of winter we didn't use the pool but it looked very inviting - we will return again when next in town.

Stayed: January 2013
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Scott C;

Thank you so much for the positive feedback regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Red Deer. We strive every day to meet and exceed our customers' expectations. Your comments make our job easy.

Thank you for taking the time to comment and we look forward to seeing you and your family again.

Tracy Sutherland - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our sporting group stayed here and found the hotel to meet our needs. The service was friendly and check-in of our large group went smoothly. The early morning breakfast was welcome. No restaurant but we were allowed to use the breakfast area when we brought food in. This hotel is in an area close to many restaurants and services

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WMac_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear WMac_30;

Thank you so much for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Red Deer. Our mission is to make each and every guests' stay exceptional. We appreciate you taking the time to comment and we hope to see you and your team again this season.

Tracy Sutherland - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I always try to stay here if I am staying in Red Deer. The hotel is in a great location and close to many good restaurants and the rooms are very nice and very clean. The staff is awesome and very friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cody F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Cody F;

Thank you very much for the positive comments regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Red Deer. We love to get comments, both good and bad, in order to make every guests' stay exceptional. We appreciate the time you took to let other's know your thoughts. We appreciate your continued business and we look forward to seeing you again.

Tracy Sutherland - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Deer hotels
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South
3.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Red Deer
Radisson Hotel Red Deer
#2 of 29 in Red Deer
953 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Red Deer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Red Deer
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Red Deer North
0.9 mi away
Days Inn - Red Deer
Days Inn - Red Deer
#8 of 29 in Red Deer
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Red Deer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Red Deer

Address: 2803 50th Avenue, Red Deer, Alberta T4R 1H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Red Deer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Red Deer
#6 Family Hotel in Red Deer
Price Range: $87 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Red Deer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Is The Number One Choice Among Red Deer, Alberta Hotels For a comfortable stay at a central location, visit the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Red Deer, Alberta. Our hotel's location is halfway between Edmonton and Calgary off of Highway 2, making it easier to travel to and from the surrounding cities. Leisure guests will benefit from our location just minutes from many area golf courses, the Matchbox Theater and the many shopping options at Bower Place Shopping Center, South Point Common and downtown Red Deer. Lodging here also puts you just minutes from Westerner Park, Bower Ponds, Discovery Canyon Park and Heritage Ranch, which offer numerous activities throughout the year. Business travelers enjoy being in close proximity to Trican, Focus Corporation, Nova Chemicals, BJ Services, Telus, Canadian Tire and other businesses in downtown Red Deer. Our hotel's amenities include a 24-hour business centre with copying, faxing and printing services available. With our free Express Start hot breakfast bar, saltwater pool with a water slide, sauna, hot tub, private courtyard, car plug-ins and a 24-hour fitness centre, our hotel in Red Deer offers the amenities you need and want. Rooms feature a work area with free high-speed, wireless Internet access, triple-sheeted beds, a microwave and a fridge. Our Red Deer, Alberta hotel's staff eagerly await your next visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Red Deer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Red Deer Hotel Red Deer
Holiday Inn Red Deer
Red Deer Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Red Deer Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing