We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Red Deer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Red Deer
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Red Deer
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Red Deer”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I travel to Red Deer on average a couple of times a month and only stay at this hotel. Rooms are spacious and clean with a great bed and bedding. But what really makes this the place to stay is the staff, I am always greeted with a sincere welcome back and a big smile. They are very quick to process my check in, and when I arrive in my room there is a welcome package with a hand written thank you note. They know the meaning of hospitality. Oh and don't forget the fresh baked cookies that are at the front desk upon check in.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SecretHippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Red Deer, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind comments! We appreciate the feedback on our hotel and I have for sure passed on your comments to our staff. We look forward to your return visit and we will for sure have those cookies ready on your return trip!

Sincerely,

Matt Squires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    81
    28
    8
    10
See reviews for
74
32
25
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Red Deer over the last 6 years, staying sometimes more than 90 nights in a year. Each time I am greeted by friendly and professional staff, all of which remember my name and want me to enjoy my stay. They always provide a fun and welcoming atmosphere and do their best to accomodate my changing schedule. Checking in is always quick, and checking out is even faster. Who likes to wait around to check in and out when you have other things to do?
The rooms are always clean, spacious, comfortable, and best of all, quiet! The beds and pillows are amongst the most comfortable I've slept on. The bathrooms are clean, spacious and provide the many amenities that anyone could need.
The hotel is right across from a large mall and has many great restaurants and large shopping areas within a short walk or drive away.
The morning breakfast is consistently great, with plenty of options available for anyone's taste.
Asides from the clean and quiet rooms, the staff have always been a great reason to return. Being able to make a home away from home with familiar and friendly faces always makes road work that much easier.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Red Deer, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Thank you Ben for your incredible comments on the hotel and staff. I am sure to pass on your comments to everyone here and look forward to your return soon!

Sincerely,

Matt Squires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Very nice place, almost everything is at a walking distance from the hotel. The staff at the front desk are amazing, good service and very professional. Same for the maintenance, the room are clean, hot tube and swimming pool also very nice and warm. Everyone are friendly and smiling. There is also an exterior gym close to the hotel and a nice park for running or cycling.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mart-C441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Red Deer, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding your experience at our hotel. We always appreciate the feedback on our hotel and staff. Thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Matt Squires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

My cousin and I stayed at Holiday Inn Express in Red Deer for a week while visiting family.
The hotel was very clean, the service excellent, their breakfast excellent - always diversified.
It's close to all amenities, the Bower Mall is just across the street. The staff is so flexible, always ready to make our stay enjoyable. Thanks again Holiday Inn Express in Red Deer.
From Johanne and Therese, visiting from Montreal.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain, AB
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

I loved the large size of the rooms and the extra chairs. We went with a number of people so there was room to gather in one room and visit. There was not enough room for eating breakfast in the main area so had to bring it back up to our room. The floor plan was also very confusing and you got lost trying to find your room. It was clean, comfortable and we had good service.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreaminjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShirinP, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Red Deer, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding your experience at our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay. We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

friendly helpful front desk staff.
Rooms are large. Plenty of space for a family.
No glassware in the room, just plastic and styrofoam
Beds are ok.
checkout was seemless
Breakfast offered pancakes, premade omlets, toast, muffins and some fruit.
My compaint is that they use styrofoam plates and bowls. This is an enviromental nightmare! Please switch to paper or better yet glass ware.
The main floor rooms have parking infront of your window. Be sure to park infront of your room. Diesel trucks being started up infront of your window at 6am and left at high idle for a half hour is not a nice way to wake up.

Room Tip: get a second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDSchro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShirinP, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Red Deer, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding your experience at our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay. We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. Being Green is one of the main objectives of our hotel and we are making a conscious effort in being environmentally friendly. Your suggestion has been duly noted and we are working on alternatives for your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Expected a basic OK hotel but it was better than that, very large clean and warm room with 2 comfortable beds. Complimentary breakfast was good.
However, two large groups of children/youths were staying the same weekend we visited, they were not too rowdy until 10.30pm when one of them deliberately set the fire alarm off.
Reception staff apologised the next morning but said neither they not the parents had been able to control the children/youths.
Would visit again if I knew the large groups were not there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfgdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShirinP, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Red Deer, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding your experience at our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay. We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature.
I apolgize for the inconvenience that you experienced during your stay, we have taken the necessary measures at the hotel to avoid running in to this situation again.
Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday Inn Express Red Deer, a leader in excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Deer hotels
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Red Deer
3.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Red Deer
Radisson Hotel Red Deer
#2 of 29 in Red Deer
869 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Red Deer
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Red Deer Inn & Suites
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Red Deer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Red Deer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Red Deer

Property: Holiday Inn Express Red Deer
Address: 2803 50th Avenue, Red Deer, Alberta T4R 1H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Red Deer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Red Deer
#6 Family Hotel in Red Deer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Red Deer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Is The Number One Choice Among Red Deer, Alberta Hotels For a comfortable stay at a central location, visit the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Red Deer, Alberta. Our hotel's location is halfway between Edmonton and Calgary off of Highway 2, making it easier to travel to and from the surrounding cities. Leisure guests will benefit from our location just minutes from many area golf courses, the Matchbox Theater and the many shopping options at Bower Place Shopping Center, South Point Common and downtown Red Deer. Lodging here also puts you just minutes from Westerner Park, Bower Ponds, Discovery Canyon Park and Heritage Ranch, which offer numerous activities throughout the year. Business travelers enjoy being in close proximity to Trican, Focus Corporation, Nova Chemicals, BJ Services, Telus, Canadian Tire and other businesses in downtown Red Deer. Our hotel's amenities include a 24-hour business centre with copying, faxing and printing services available. With our free Express Start hot breakfast bar, saltwater pool with a water slide, sauna, hot tub, private courtyard, car plug-ins and a 24-hour fitness centre, our hotel in Red Deer offers the amenities you need and want. Rooms feature a work area with free high-speed, wireless Internet access, triple-sheeted beds, a microwave and a fridge. Our Red Deer, Alberta hotel's staff eagerly await your next visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Red Deer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Red Deer Hotel Red Deer
Holiday Inn Red Deer
Red Deer Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Red Deer Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing