We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Western Budget Reddeer #1

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Red Deer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Western Budget Reddeer #1
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Red Deer
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Never Again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had stayed here in the past without incident - I guess our luck ran out.
When we checked in the room had a bit of an odor to it, seemed like something sprayed to try and cover cigarette smoke. After I took a nap I realized that there was blood on the sheets. Seriously! I double checked that it wasn't a cut on my leg or something and it wasn't. I immediately went to the front desk and complained. Before housekeeping arrived I noticed a dirty washcloth hanging in the shower and complained about that as well. I was so grossed out but hubby convinced me to stay since it was only one night and we watched them change all of the linens.
The next morning we grabbed breakfast before heading back to pack up and check out. We were drinking coffee chatting and all of a sudden our door opens and it's housekeeping (I assume) and they want to take all of the towels and linens. WHAT THE HECK???? Hubby told them we were checking out soon and to come back later. I have never, EVER, had someone barge in like that to essentially start cleaning the room, especially so close to checkout time (that was the one time we didn't have the dead bolt locked. Lesson learned).
The entire stay was a disaster and we will never, ever stay there or any Western Budget again. And no discount was given at checkout either (not that we expected it but it would have been a nice gesture to try and salvage some of the stay).

If you do decide to stay here check the room for cleanliness before you get settled in and ALWAYS keep the deadbolt locked on your door.

Just a final FYI, the access doors from the parking lot to the building don't have any locks on them so there is essentially no security in the building.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Suebee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    4
    5
    12
See reviews for
8
10
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mcmurray
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We found the rooms adequate (wife didn't like the decor much). Contains a full-size fridge, gas fireplace. Very economical as there is also a pool and a continental breakfast. The downside is the lack of security (had a neighbour pounding on a door for 15 minutes and yelling), thin walls and ceiling. The chandelier made noises every time someone walked above us in the room above.

Room Tip: Close to Cosco and Gasoline Alley stores and restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank beachbumAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grande prairie
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

door did not close properly, deadbolt could not be used , staff was mediocre about everything odour to room toilet quit working during the night s, shower head was filthy I guess that,s why it's called a budget hotel . will never stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Red Deer hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

I've stayed at both Western Budget Hotels in Red Deer on several occasions. I've yet to have a bad stay. The front desk staff have always been very helpful and the properties have always been nice and clean. The rooms are huge and the jacuzzi tub is really nice. The rooms also have a fireplace,fridge and microwave. The bathroom is quite small but not a huge deal. The pool is tiny but we only used it once. It would be nice if they added some flat screen tv's, but maybe that will happen in time. I would recommend this hotel as I was amazed at the rooms the first time for a motel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EdmontontoVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

I had the unfortunate pleasure of staying at this hotel for two nights (01/11/2012 - 01/12/2012) while out of town for work. I had quite the suprise on the 12th. After finishing a 12 hour day at work, while inquiring about checking out early AM the next day, the girl at the front desk informed me that they had moved my belongings to another room, due to some type of leak. When I got to my room, I discovered that one pack of cigarettes from my newly opened carton was missing, as well as my $70 pocket knife. When I confronted the staff they denied any wrong doing and they're reason for moving me changed a couple times. I searched all of my belongings several times, and even searched the room I was moved from several times. If the staff take it upon themselves to move my stuff, then they should make absolutely sure everything gets moved and nothing is missing, right? Shouldnt be touching my belongings to begin with. I have 60 days in which I can legally press charges and havent reached a decision yet, however, you might find the RCMP coming by with some paperwork in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronation, Alberta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

My husband and I decided to try this place for a quick over night stay in Red Deer. We were pleasantly surprised. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was big and had a kitchenette. While a little dated in decor the room was very clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay there again. We've stayed at higher priced places and gotten alot worse rooms and service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean2259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

Upon arrival the premise of this lodging looked promising. The rooms themselves include stove/oven and full size fridge. The fireplace heater was a great touch.
The premise of suites is a good one.
There is no microwave and the TV is an old flat screen. They were in the midst of modernizing and at times the paint smell was overwhelming - wet paint signs were everywhere. The pool had broken down that morning and it looked like few attempts, none evident, were made to repair it for our two night stay. No attempt to compensate was even entertained.

Room Tip: floors on the second level are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank 111TravelBug4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Deer hotels
3.3 mi away
Super 8 Red Deer City Centre
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Red Deer
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Red Deer Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South
0.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#19 of 29 in Red Deer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Budget Reddeer #1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Budget Reddeer #1

Property: Western Budget Reddeer #1
Address: 37468 Highway 2 South, Red Deer, Alberta T4E 1B9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Red Deer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Red Deer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your home away from home here in south Red Deer. Our property is located on the west side of Gasoline Alley across the street from Costco. We have 59 rooms available from single rooms with 1 queen bed up to a 2 bedroom suite. We have 2 family rooms that also has a set of bunk beds as well. All rooms have a gas fireplace, full size refrigerator in them. We also have a number of Jacuzzi suites where the jacuzzi can easily fit 2 adults. Free WI-fi Ultra high speed internet, 90 channel cable digital TV's with 5 Cable TV Movie Channels. A indoor salt water pool maintained at 84 degrees and a complimentary light continental breakfast. For those who need to check email etc, we have a surfing station in our lobby to write those emails and keep in touch. We hope to see you soon and drop by for a visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Western Budget #1 Hotel Red Deer
Western Budget Reddeer #1 Red Deer, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing