We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellebt Value”

Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Red Deer
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellebt Value”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Front office staff were extremely accommodating giving me a room next to my friends even though I was by myself and the room had 2 queen beds. Kept the price the same which included a seniors discount.
The breakfast was excellent and well attended by staff to keep levels up and clients happy.

Room Tip: Even though the hotel is next to the highway, the rooms are well set back so you are not bothered by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silveralder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoreddeer, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. I am very happy that you had such a great experience while staying with us at the Howard Johnson Red Deer. It is our culture at the hotel to try and accommodate our valued guests needs, as each guest has his/her own individual needs. "Excellent Value" is exactly the title we are trying to achieve everyday and you have verified it for us. Thank you for your kind words.
Al Samji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    89
    61
    29
    27
See reviews for
60
45
34
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Affordable and comfortable. Friendly staff. Stayed in Red Deer on the way to the Rocky Mountains. It's on the east side of Gasoline Alley, so the only problem is getting there, as it is on a service road and not accessible from the Freeway. Otherwise, a comfy place to crash for the night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExPegger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoreddeer, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We strive to keep our rates affordable and include many value added features such as free wi-fi, free breakfast, free parking, free local calls. We also try very hard to share our "GO HAPPY GO HOJO" culture with our guests and ensure that all our guests are happy.
I agree with you that our location is sometimes tricky to get to as we are located on the east side service road off the Queen Elizabeth Highway (Hwy 2).
For the benefit of future guests, the service road has recently been renamed as Gasoline Alley East.. So our current address is: 71 Gasoline Alley East , Red Deer, T4E 1B1.
If you are coming from Calgary, just take the Willow Street exit on the right and follow it until you reach us (next to the Petro Canada gas station).
If you are coming from Edmonton, take exit 391(this is at the south end of Gasoline alley- just under the overpass- near the ESSO gas station on the west side). Get onto the overpass and cross over the highway, and take the first left. Stay on the service road and continue till you see the Petro Canada gas station. We are right next to the gas station.
If you are lost please call us at 403-343-8444 and we would be more than happy to guide you to our location.
Once again thank you for your feedback, and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Red Deer.
Al Samji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayerthorpe
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Staff was friendly & polite. Needed a bathtub plug & received it in a timely manner. Room was a bit crowded with all the furniture in it. Would be better if made into a single bed room and spaced furniture out. Breakfast could have a little more variety (only one kind of muffin and one kind of fruit offered, cereal variety was good).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Otto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoreddeer, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. I am glad that your experience with the staff was positive. It has been brought to my attention, and as you have mentioned in your review, that the rooms with two beds are a little crowded. Over the last few months as we have been looking at renovation plans, we have looked at various ways to making the rooms a little more spacious. We have looked at changing the mix to convert double rooms to single ones, but the demand for double rooms is very high and therefore that conversion decision becomes difficult. However we have re arranged some of the furniture and over the next phase of changes will be considering different furniture which will open up the living space. I do hope that the next time you stay with us you can experience our single room which is more comfortable.
We have also made changes to our breakfast menu and I hope you can experience that as well on your next visit.
Thank you once again.
Al Samji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegar, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I found the rooms to be excellent, and the rates great. overall a great place to stay. The staff went out of there way to accomodate myself and my grandchild. Excellent! thanks Michelle. the rooms were clean. cool and spacious. All in all a great experience. The parking lot was a little dim for me. Did not know if my belongings left in back of pickup would be safe. but it turned out they were. thanks again .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoreddeer, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
On behalf of Michelle and all my staff, I would like to thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We do go out of our way to ensure that we can enhance each guests' experience. I understand your concern regarding the lighting, and over the last month we did overhaul a couple of outside light fixtures which were burned out and we now greater light coverage. Moreover our area is relatively safe as there are no establishments within walking distance, so you do not have unregistered people walking about on the property. We are also staffed 24 hours a day and they are always monitoring the property.
I look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit to Red Deer.
Thanks once again.
Al Samji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Deer hotels
0.0 mi away
Empire Inn & Suites
Empire Inn & Suites
#18 of 29 in Red Deer
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites City Centre
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites Red Deer
TownePlace Suites Red Deer
#9 of 29 in Red Deer
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Red Deer
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Red Deer City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer
Address: 37557 Hwy 2 South | 71 Gasoline Alley East, Red Deer, Alberta T4E 1B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Red Deer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Red Deer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to provide the BEST VALUE in accommodations in Red Deer. Our rates are very competitive, and includes a free breakfast, free wi-fi internet access, free local calls, and Wyndham Reward points. We have recently had substantial renovations to our lobby and our rooms have also been upgraded. We strive to provide the best in Value and Service to all our guests. We would like to be your hotel of choice so give us a try - you will be pleasantly surprised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing