We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in Red Deer”

Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Red Deer
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I always stay at this HoJo! The renovations to the first building are fantastic! The rooms look great and I like all the upgraded bedding. I am really looking forward to them continuing this year with flat screen TVs!
The front desk staff are always friendly, helpful and efficient.
The rooms are clean, staff is great, free breakfast is great, they have all the TV music stations, there is tons of parking, it is easily accessible, the price is awesome, it really is the best place to stay!

Room Tip: the first building is the only building that has been renovated ... so far
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r0adtripjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 265 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

We always stay at this Motel, as it is clean. The price is competitive, and the motel is close to down town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Arvin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Enjoyed our stay, would appreciate more towels in the rooms and had trouble tripping over the box built around bottom of bed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank JOHN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoreddeer, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I have taken your comments about the towels and the bed frame to our respective departments and we will improve on our already high standards so that you and our other guests have an even more enhanced positive guest experience. Thank you choosing to stay at Howard Johnson Inn - we value your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Staff was very accommodating, Rooms were very nice and clean, Great breakfast. One of the best motels we stayed in on our month long trip. We highly recommend this motel. Only negative was trying to access motel from highway 2 South bound. GPS and Map Quest were not able to guide us in.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoreddeer, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. Every morning when we talk to our guests, we get a lot of positive comments but most of them don't have the time to post reviews on forums such as this one, and so it is so refreshing to see that the sentiments that most of our guests share are portrayed in your comments. I have also received feedback from other other guests about the directions they are getting from their GPS. Effective August 27th 2012, Canada Post officially changed our address to 71 Gasoline Alley East, Red Deer. This change has caused some difficulty with sites that give direction as they not be fully updated. Our head office is working to get this resolved and hopefully it should be working correctly over the next little while. In the meantime, for the benefit of our future new guests, we are located on the south end of Red Deer, on the East side of Gasoline alley (off Hwy 2 - Queen Elizabeth Hwy) next to Petro Canada. For guests coming from Calgary (coming northbound on Hwy 2), take the Willow Street exit on the right and continue to the Hotel on the right. For guests from Edmonton (coming southbound on Hwy2), take exit 391 (at the overpass), cross over the highway and take the first left (heading North), stay on the service road and follow it until you get to the hotel on the right. From all of us at the Howard Johnson Inn, Red Deer, a sincere Thank You for taking the time to share your thoughts. Al Samji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

With their three nights for the price of two promotion that I got you can't get much cheaper. The room was clean, though it smelled like it used to be a smoking room. Free breakfast -- the usual crappy coffee plus cereal, bananas and bagels. I would probably stay here again for the price.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor, I could hear the person above me walking around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoreddeer, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We aim to keep our prices very economical. In Red Deer, we offer very competitive prices with a lot of value added features such as free wireless internet, free local calls, free parking, and free breakfast. Our breakfast includes assorted breads, bagels, cream cheese, peanut butter, various jams, butter, muffins (which are baked fresh daily), three types of cereal, 2% milk, fresh fruits, oatmeal, orange juice, tea and coffee. We have had numerous positive comments from our guests regarding our breakfast. It is interesting to note that many of the hotels in the area either provide a similar breakfast, or no breakfast at all, at rates which are usually higher than ours. Moreover some hotel brands provide a much larger breakfast menu with hot items at almost double the room rate than ours. I have contemplated adding hot items such as eggs and sausage etc to our breakfast menu, but would have to increase rates to cover additional costs. Question to the readers: Would you pay higher room rate for the hot items compared to getting the free breakfast as described above at our current budget rates? Please let me know by email at gm@hojoreddeer.com or 403-343-8444
Thanks,
Al Samji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My son & I were on a golf trip & we needed a simple room, at a great location and on a budget. The Hojo in Red Deer fit the bill perfectly. Have stayed there several times & always happy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Derek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoreddeer, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

On behalf of all our dedicated staff, I would like to thank you for your comments and your patronage. We are aiming to be the best value added hotel in Red deer - taking into consideration room rate, room quality, guest experience, service quality and value added amenities. Based on your comments, it looks like we are on the right track. Once again Thank You for your feedback and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Red Deer. Thanks, Al Samji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Basic accomodations, We where in town for a sports event. Only drawback was that this hotel is located close to highway 2 and we could hear the heavy truck traffic during the night. This hotel suited our needs very well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank BRIAN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Deer hotels
0.9 mi away
Empire Inn & Suites
Empire Inn & Suites
#16 of 29 in Red Deer
51 reviews
2.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites City Centre
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Red Deer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Red Deer
0.9 mi away
Days Inn - Red Deer
Days Inn - Red Deer
#8 of 29 in Red Deer
531 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Red Deer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer

Address: 37557 Hwy 2 South | 71 Gasoline Alley East, Red Deer, Alberta T4E 1B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Red Deer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Red Deer
Price Range: $54 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to provide the BEST VALUE in accommodations in Red Deer. Our rates are very competitive, and includes a free breakfast, free wi-fi internet access, free local calls, and Wyndham Reward points. We have recently had substantial renovations to our lobby and our rooms have also been upgraded. We strive to provide the best in Value and Service to all our guests. We would like to be your hotel of choice so give us a try - you will be pleasantly surprised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing