We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay”

Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Red Deer
Reviewed May 25, 2012

This hotel was a great find. I booked it online and was impressed with the quality of service and accommodation for my 2 night stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was also at one of the best prices I could find. The breakfast was also included in the price and was delicious. I would definitely book my stay here again when I return to Red Deer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoreddeer, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We strive to provide the best VALUE in Red Deer. We have one of the most reasonable prices for accommodation in Red Deer. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to Red Deer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 259 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2012

The rooms are ok. The staff was very very helpful and accommodating. Good location just off the main highway. Great for a stopover through Red Deer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdw295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoreddeer, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

I would like to thank you for your comments. We have excellent staff and our philosophy is to provide the best customer service that we can, and I am extremely happy to see that you experienced that service. Again I would like to thank you for your feedback and we hope to serve you again on your next visit to Red Deer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Asked for a quiet room,OK,it was quiet.That's where the positive points end.

It was dark,dank,smelled like the old Cecil Hotel.We turned on the lights to have a look around,and what a sight.A step back in time.

The biggest mistake i made was looking behind the bed where the headboard should be.Wow,looked like an elementary school biology experiment.There's stuff growing there from the seventees.

I can stay nearly anywhere,nutin' fancy.Needs to be clean and this place is not that.I've been to India,SE Asia,N and S America and many other places,this is way up on the list of the worst.My hotel in Calcutta was much cleaner.

Won't be back,and i wouldn't stay there if i were you,plenty of others to choose from.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.Like next door.
Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoreddeer, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

I am very sorry to hear about your experience. I have tried to figure out which room you stayed in so that I can have a look for myself and to fix any issues, but as of yet I could not figure out what specific room you had. I have however asked my staff to inspect all rooms to ensure that they meet our standards. We take pride in our property and unfortunately in your case a room may have slipped through our inspection process. I had only hoped that If you had called the front desk and informed us while you were there we would have done everything possible to switch you to another room and may have been able to provide you with a positive experience. Again my sincere apologies on your unfortunate experience. I do hope that you try us again, and if you would like to do that then please contact me directly so that I can personally ensure that you have a happy experience. Thank you, Al Samji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Great place to stay. Very clean rooms and the front desk staff are absolutely wonderful. I have stayed many times over the past 5 months and they always make it feel as much like coming home at the end of the day as possible. Thanks Brett and Ivy and everyone else at Red Deer Hojos.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

If you are looking for somewhere to stay for a night in Central Alberta I would recommend the HoJo for a good no frills value stay.

The room was clean, service was excellent, and continental breakfast was adequate. I would only comment that the bed was hard.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theryguy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I've seldom stayed at a place where every night was uninterupted and quiet. The air conditioner worked, the staff was courteous, and the mornings were peaceful.

Thank you, Red Deer Howard Johnson!

Room Tip: Choose a place where you can tell that the staff care and will go the extra mile for you.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duncancounseling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoreddeer, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2011

Thank you very much for your comments. We are constantly striving to provide the the best in value, service and sleep quality, and I appreciate your feedback. Thanks, Al Samji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

The hotel was able to manage our team reservations without any trouble and made a big effort to make us all comfortable. The big green space between the two buildings was perfect for our team to warm up and play minimatches amongst themselves - which I think they did the entire time we were off the soccer field! The common room was perfect for our team lunch and the free breakfast was perfect to keep costs down! The staff was very accomodating and did everything they could to encourage us to come back... and where to stay will be an easy decision when we come back next year!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
Thank Jo_and_Ron38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Deer hotels
0.7 mi away
Empire Inn & Suites
Empire Inn & Suites
#23 of 29 in Red Deer
48 reviews
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Red Deer
2.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Centre
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Red Deer
4.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Red Deer
Radisson Hotel Red Deer
#2 of 29 in Red Deer
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer

Address: 37557 Hwy 2 South | 71 Gasoline Alley East, Red Deer, Alberta T4E 1B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Red Deer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Red Deer
Price Range: $59 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to provide the BEST VALUE in accommodations in Red Deer. Our rates are very competitive, and includes a free breakfast, free wi-fi internet access, free local calls, and Wyndham Reward points. We have recently had substantial renovations to our lobby and our rooms have also been upgraded. We strive to provide the best in Value and Service to all our guests. We would like to be your hotel of choice so give us a try - you will be pleasantly surprised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing