We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original Menu”

Mauro's Italian Cafe & Bar
Ranked #27 of 196 Restaurants in Medicine Hat
Price range: $10 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are an owner run restaurant with a wide assortment of italian and western cuisine!! A wide selection of house choice and bottled wines! Our special board has many different options and at least 3 home made soups daily!!
Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Original Menu”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Love, Love, Love the steak sandwich!!! Feature board each day offers customers a great selection of original dinners as well as the regular menu items. Friendly staff too!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    12
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“'Cheers' in the Hat. An hidden gem of a restaurant and bar”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We found this place by accident. It is located on 3rd Street N.E. across the river from the downtown area next to a gas station and medical clinic. As we drove by the name attracted us and we decided to stop in. It was a cold snowy Friday night but the warm inviting interior and laughter from the many customers let us know it was a friendly warm place. It was completely full and we were very lucky that a couple was leaving giving us a booth in the bar. The people standing and sitting at the bar were certainly locals as they knew each other and everyone working at the place.

We decided to at least have a drink and look at the menu. The minute we saw the wonderful selections on the menu and special board we decided to stay and eat. What a super choice this was!! The service was outstanding as was the food. I had the cannelloni and my partner had a wonderful Italian sausage and pasta dish. The sauces were very tasty and the pasta was done just right. The portions are ample and come with side dishes of salad and bread. We did not sample the desserts as the main dishes completely filled us up.

Our experience was so wonderful I decided to come back the next afternoon for a drink. This time I sat at the bar and engaged in conversation with the 'locals'. Everyone is so friendly and the owner Bob was serving the behind the bar. It certainly reminds one of CHEERS or my local pub in England.
Do drop in for outstanding food at good prices, and excellent service with a bonus of wonderful conversations with the regulars.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Teacherbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ultimate Best Restaurant in town!!”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This is the best spot in Medicine Hat!! The food is amazing and so is the service. They always have daily specials, but also a huge menu! The lobster melt, lasagna, mussels, stuffed mushroom caps, and sole is my favorite meals!!! The ladies here are great, esspecially Shirley (our regulare day time lady)!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Vaness7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Always awesome food and awesome service. The ceaser salad and minestrone soup are perfect!

Helpful?
3 Thank Freqbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossfield
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“YUMMY”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I have been to Mauro's a few times before over the last year or so but this last time I went with my Husband...the atmosphere was wonderful and the waitresses were polite and humorous...And the food ...amazing..we will differently be going back...one of our favs..

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank judy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mauro's Italian Cafe & Bar also viewed

 
Medicine Hat, Alberta
 

Been to Mauro's Italian Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing