We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New look... same great food!”
Review of The Beefeater

The Beefeater
Ranked #73 of 196 Restaurants in Medicine Hat
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New look... same great food!”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Haven't eaten here for a long time however I did notice they’ve done some minor reno's presenting a more elegant setting. Started off with the salad bar which was still the same as I remember but not a complaint and of course hot n delicious French Onion soup! Had the BBQ Chicken and stuffed potato which was very tasty. Service was good, price was what we expected and certainly would go back again. Only complaint is they charge you $1 for soup and salad bar which in my opinion for a classy place like this it feels like your being nickled and dimed. Just build the $1 into the meal/menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigDTrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    31
    18
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“always good food and good upgrade”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

the beef is always perfectly done and the service was good. The renovations from carpet to ceiling lighten it up but its still and intimate setting

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bill555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal and great service!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We dined at the Beefeater on Monday night before a performance and we were thoroughly impressed! We arrived just before 5pm and there were only a few tables. Our hostess was very good and our waitress was on top of things. Drinks didn't take long to get and our order was taken promptly. We had steaks, veal cutlets and ribs. The steaks were done perfectly and very tender and tasty. The veal cutlets were wonderful but the ribs lacked a little. Not fall off the bone kind of ribs, but tasty none the less. This is a steakhouse not a rib joint. Dessert was apple pie with ice cream and rum sauce and in-house made cheesecake with strawberries. Both very good. We had noticed as well, during our meal, that the restaurant had filled to just about full by the time we left at just after six. Thats a pretty good testament to the food when the average meal is between $25-$40 per person, and on a Monday, not Friday or Saturday night. The service didn't suffer at all due to the number of tables that were seated. We would definitely return to the Beefeater!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canadianeh93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Steak House?”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I was very disappointed, the quality of the food was not worth the trip in. Having been to other fabulous steak houses I was expecting much more. The entire experience left us to desire more.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best in Town”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I have been eating at the Beefeater for over 15 years unfortunately due to business commitments I have not been back since the renos. The food and service is great and is priced better than most restaurants in town. Who cares that it had a dated look. It better than a restaurant with lots of flashy stuff on the wall that only exists to distract the customer from the food they are serving.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beefeater also viewed

 

Been to The Beefeater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing