We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Home Inn Express Medicine Hat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Home Inn Express Medicine Hat
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pet friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great location, close to shopping, restaurants and highway access. Clean rooms, continental breakfast included and cold drinks in the lobby 24/7. Staff was very friendly and checked us in very quickly. Overall great value. Across the street from Honda dealership.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YVRtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal M, Manager at Home Inn Express Medicine Hat, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear YVRtravelbug,

We very much appreciate your wonderful comments! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at the Motel 6 Medicine Hat. I will share your comments with our team.
We hope to have you and your pets stay with us next time you are in Medicine Hat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    147
    36
    6
    4
See reviews for
146
119
31
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
158 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

An affordable and friendly option. Lots of parking - handy to the highway. Small rooms but functional and had a great night's sleep. They do allow pets - coffee and cookies and iced tea in the lobby is a nice touch.

Room Tip: Next time I would request a room away from the car dealership as their intercom goes on all day long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal M, Manager at Home Inn Express Medicine Hat, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Bill R:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Motel 6 Medicine Hat. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Crystal Mytton
Assistant Manager
Motel 6 Medicine Hat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and I was not disappointed when I checked in. The room I had was very clean and everything was in good condition. Furniture was basic but the beds were super comfy. There was a new 32" tv with a good channel selection. There were no bathroom amenities but were readily available at the front desk. I would definitely stay here again for a night or two. Rates were very good as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nothatsyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M6MHGM, General Manager at Home Inn Express Medicine Hat, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We appreciate your comments and look forward to having you stay with us in the future. Our goal is to continue improvements so I'm happy to hear you had a great sleep as we have all new beds as of Summer 2012 and new televisions as of January 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALBERTA
Level Contributor
241 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel is barebones budget affordable, very clean, and has very comfortable beds(Our sleep Quality was super). Check In & Out were both quick and painless. We travel with our 2 - labradors quite a bit. I truly appreciate a hotel that makes it easy for dog owners to be responsible for their pets. They gave us a room that was easily accessible to the rear exit, to take our dogs out to do their business. There was trash cans at the entrances to get rid of the "evidence". We do carry bags to "clean up" after them, but it was very appreciated to see that Motel 6 does go the extra mile to give pet owners a "doggy" bag with bags and treats. We stayed one evening. We felt welcome and comfortable, as did our doggies, which made them happy and us as well. When travelling through Medicine Hat in the future, we will definately be staying here again - as they accept us & our favourite furry travel companions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVEL_LOVER96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M6MHGM, General Manager at Home Inn Express Medicine Hat, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We appreciate and thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. Pets are always welcomed at Motel 6 and they stay for free. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night waiting to move into our Townhouse. Staff were friendly and the rooms were clean. It is a ways from Downtown but there are other amenities within walking distance. They are also pet friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trl1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M6MHGM, General Manager at Home Inn Express Medicine Hat, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I will pass your comments to our staff as they appreciate the feedback that we receive through these reviews. We hope to see you and your family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I found the room clean, looks pretty much exactly like pictured... which I guess is a good thing? Horrible fluorescent lights, stark white walls, dusty rose accents and an old CRT TV to match. Reminded me of a prison cell.. probably about the same size.

Had to pay in advance for the room... not just give a credit card imprint... but pay in advance. Can't say I have ever had to do this anywhere else in my life... and I travel A LOT.

If you're looking for a clean place to lie your head - this fits the bill. Nothing more, nothing less.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tiredofcold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M6MHGM, General Manager at Home Inn Express Medicine Hat, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel. We appreciate your comments. As of January 10, 2013 all of our rooms have 32" flat screen televisions. At Motel 6 we take payment in advance of the cost of your stay, so their is no check out process or pre auths, saving you time when you are ready to leave. Our rooms may be smaller but so is our price. I hope that you will consider us again when travelling through Medicine Hat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Thought the room was great until bedtime. Found hairs in the sheets. Gross. I got new blankets from staff but if I would have been here on a "pleasure trip", I'd have asked to be moved. But we came to the hat as a family member is passing. Thought it was a good price and room was clean.... But does it matter, when you are sleeping in someone else's bed sheets? Pretty disgusted.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraCaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M6MHGM, General Manager at Home Inn Express Medicine Hat, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. I apologize that you had a bad experience during your stay as we take great pride in having clean rooms. Your comments are greatly appreciated and will encourage the staff to watch more closely when changing the linens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medicine Hat hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Medicine Hat
0.4 mi away
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Medicine Hat
Days Inn Medicine Hat
#2 of 19 in Medicine Hat
4.0 of 5 stars 771 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat
#8 of 19 in Medicine Hat
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
0.8 mi away
Imperial Motor Inn
Imperial Motor Inn
#12 of 19 in Medicine Hat
3.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Inn Express Medicine Hat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Inn Express Medicine Hat

Property: Home Inn Express Medicine Hat
Address: 20 Strachan Crt SE | Highway 1 at Dunmore Road, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1B 4R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Medicine Hat
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Medicine Hat
#3 Family Hotel in Medicine Hat
#5 Business Hotel in Medicine Hat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Home Inn Express Medicine Hat 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Motel-6, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Home Inn Express Medicine Hat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Medicine Hat Hotel Medicine Hat
Motel Six Medicine Hat
Medicine Hat Motel Six
Medicine Hat Motel 6
Home Inn Express Medicine Hat Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing