We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check the sheets for hair... YUCK!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Home Inn Express Medicine Hat
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Check the sheets for hair... YUCK!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Thought the room was great until bedtime. Found hairs in the sheets. Gross. I got new blankets from staff but if I would have been here on a "pleasure trip", I'd have asked to be moved. But we came to the hat as a family member is passing. Thought it was a good price and room was clean.... But does it matter, when you are sleeping in someone else's bed sheets? Pretty disgusted.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraCaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M6MHGM, General Manager at Home Inn Express Medicine Hat, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. I apologize that you had a bad experience during your stay as we take great pride in having clean rooms. Your comments are greatly appreciated and will encourage the staff to watch more closely when changing the linens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    170
    43
    7
    5
See reviews for
180
151
37
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My family stayed here one night for a local high school volleyball tournament. We were warmly greeted and able to choose our room. It was tiny and clean. There is a microwave and small fridge. No Kleenex but towels were good. The hotel was full with noisy tournament kids but it did get quiet by 1030pm. It is not the most soundproof place I have stayed but definitely good enough for the budget price and one night. Also pet friendly with no additional charge.

Room Tip: First and second floor are non smoking entirely and elevator is slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M6MHGM, General Manager at Home Inn Express Medicine Hat, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is greatly appreciated when guests take the time to review their stay. In some of our rooms we have added a second fridge for extended stays. We have many amenities such as shampoo, kleenex and more available for free at the front desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here this past Thursday night, October 18. I phoned at the last minute, to see if they had a room, and they took our reservation even though we don't have a credit card, and kept it for us - we were about 2 hours away. My husband was having surgery at the hospital in Medicine Hat, and had to be there super early, so we didn't want to be up and traveling at 330 in the morning - so I checked Trip Advisor, as I usually do, and Motel 6 was ranked number 1, and the price was definitely right, so one phone call and we had a room.

It was absolutely efficient for our purpose. We pretty much just needed somewhere to sleep and it more than fit the bill. The room was clean, the bed plenty comfortable. The front desk staff was pleasant and made check in and check out a breeze. The morning clerk was helpful with directions when I required help finding a store.

The rooms are basic - if you want more, stay somewhere else. It's a budget hotel, not the Taj Mahal. But for a clean, comfortable, budget friendly stop, it will more than suit the bill. We'd stay there again, and we'd recommend it to others.

Room Tip: I'd say ask for a room on the side not facing the car dealership - their intercom system is a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhotogMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M6MHGM, General Manager at Home Inn Express Medicine Hat, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Your comments are greatly appreciated and they help us to keep improving. I will definitely send in a request to see if our neighbour's intercom system can be turned down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Very friendly check in. The rooms are like a college dorm, very small and basic. The common areas like stairwells and hall could use an occasional vacuum. When we left @ 8am 2 cleaning staff were standing at our door eagerly awaiting our departure so they could work their making in transforming the lightly used room to it's previous 'splendor' for the next unsuspecting road warrior. Paid 90, no amenities, worth 50 or 12 by the hour

Room Tip: Be sure to stay if everything else is full
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brookdj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M6MHGM, General Manager at Home Inn Express Medicine Hat, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Motel 6 - Medicine Hat.
We are an economy motel with limited amenities and the lowest price of any national chain in our area. Our goal is to provide our guests with clean rooms and exceptional customer service. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised at our stay here at motel 6. We have stayed at other economy hotels in the area and were disappointed. The motel 6 was very clean, quiet, and a great location. It is by the mall and a lot of good restaurants.

The only reason we gave this a 4/5 was because we got a non smoking room but could smell the smoke from the other side of the hall. It would be nice if a floor was either smoking or non. We could not smell the smoke from our room so that was great!

The free coffee in the morning was great!

Thanks we would for sure come again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaylen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M6MHGM, General Manager at Home Inn Express Medicine Hat, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment. We appreciate your feedback. Your comments will help us to improve our customer service level. Our third floor is 50% smoking. In making a reservation, we do our best to accommodate those who request a nonsmoking floor. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Based on the reviews, I thought my family was going to get a great stay at this hotel, but although it was clean and cheap, there really isn't much to rave about. Our 2 double bed room room on the 2nd floor was tiny. The TV was placed high up on the clothes closet due to there being no real desk to set it on. There was no place for our suitcase, no toiletries supplied or even Kleenex. The bathroom was very small and the shower a stall not a real tub. While I thought the value would be the most important thing, there is something to be said for a little more space and nicer amenities. When you consider the Days Inn has a 2 night deal for only $20/ night more, with a pool, breakfast and regular rooms, i am not sure we would stay here again. All I can say is look around before choosing this hotel based onthereviews. It's not what you expect In a hotel stay just for a cheaper price, no, it really is less than you will expect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carebear3589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M6MHGM, General Manager at Home Inn Express Medicine Hat, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay. We offer many amenities such as kleenex, shampoo, and more for free available at the front desk, allowing us to keep our rates lower. At this time 50% of our motel has the flat screen televisions and we plan on upgrading the rest of the motel. We appreciate your feedback as it helps to make improvements and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Most of the positives and negatives have been outlined in other reviews but on a recent 4000 mile road trip in Canada/USA we found this hotel the best value for a one night stopover. Reception was friendly and welcoming, the coffee and cookies available anytime were great, the room was nicely air conditioned and it was spotlessly clean. The room was relatively small and we wouldn't want to stay for more than the one night as a result of this but it was excellent for that night. It was close to several eating places, wireless internet speed was acceptable and free, with easy to access to/from the highway and the small shopping mall on the other side of the highway was good for a quick visit, with a reasonable food court for those who want a quick meal. You probably need to request a room away from the highway side of the building if road noise normally disturbs you.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the highway side if traffic noise normally disturbs you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rich13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M6MHGM, General Manager at Home Inn Express Medicine Hat, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Your comments are greatly appreciated and will be passed on to our staff to encourage them to continue to provide exceptional service. Thank you and I look forward to seeing you the next time you pass through Medicine Hat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medicine Hat hotels
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Medicine Hat
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Medicine Hat
Days Inn Medicine Hat
#3 of 19 in Medicine Hat
865 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa
3.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat
#8 of 19 in Medicine Hat
154 reviews
3.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Inn Express Medicine Hat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Inn Express Medicine Hat

Property: Home Inn Express Medicine Hat
Address: 20 Strachan Crt SE | Highway 1 at Dunmore Road, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1B 4R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Medicine Hat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Medicine Hat
#3 Family Hotel in Medicine Hat
#5 Business Hotel in Medicine Hat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Home Inn Express Medicine Hat 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Motel-6, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Home Inn Express Medicine Hat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Medicine Hat Hotel Medicine Hat
Motel Six Medicine Hat
Medicine Hat Motel Six
Medicine Hat Motel 6
Home Inn Express Medicine Hat Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing