We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good - avoid rooms beside the elevator” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“good - avoid rooms beside the elevator”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Holiday Inn is always a safe bet
But as a Priority Club member, I would have expected to get a better room than the one besides the elevators and the ice machine

Hearing the ice machine water pump working all night long is also annoying when you pay for a room

I could have asked to change room, but that’s also annoying to pack up to move when your stuff is already set up

The front desk staff should keep those kinds of room for walk-ins not for faithful and returning customers

Otherwise things were all good: breakfast, good internet, newspaper etc…

Room Tip: avoid rooms beside the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnycalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    75
    23
    9
    7
See reviews for
71
32
13
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was our favourite hotel on a cross country trip of Canada. We were travelling with 3 adults and 2 dogs. This hotel met all our needs: good sized room with two queen beds, pet friendly, ice machine in a reasonable location, complimentary breakfast, nice pool, plenty of towels, easy parking, close to the main highway route, and a trolley to wheel all our luggage in. The room and hotel looked new and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

The room we had was very spacious and the hotel is in a decent location but the room's air conditioner was very loud. We were not aware of this problem until we settled in for the night. We were both too exhausted from traveling to request a room change. We had to sleep without it running because it was so loud. Made for a very warm and uncomfortable night's sleep. Not sure I would return to this particular hotel. Breakfast was okay.

Room Tip: Make sure the air conditioner is quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kc1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Very convenient location that is right off the Trans Canada highway. Rooms were nice, clean and the same standard you expect from Holiday Inn Express. Staff was very friendly, helpful and knowledgable of the are.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel4Fun_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appenzell, Switzerland
Level Contributor
204 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is terrific. We stayed there for 7 nights and it was worth it. A large room with a large bed (firm matress, choice of pillows, soft linen), a sofa, a large work desk, a wet bar (fridge, coffeemaker and microwave), two flat screens TV (bedside and sofaside), a comfy chair and two other chairs offered plenty of room. The hotel has a large breakfast buffet and varies the dishes ever day, which is a plus. There is a small fitness room, which is very appropriate. We did not use the poll because it seemed to me like a childrens' area.
Near the hotel there is a wal-mart, a Tony Roma Steakhouse (great) and some fast food.
The staff is very nice and uncomplicated.

So, why not 5 star? My gut tells me to give five stars because we felt so at home there, however, the hotel has a serious problem with noise. The building seems to be wafer-thin, so you hear the rooms next to you and you hear the whole hallway. We were lucky and had decent people on our floor, so this problem is minimized. However, the fan is extremely loud - and you need it, since the windows do not open. If you turn on the cooling, you will feel like sleeping on a motorway. I put on my earplugs but still - incredible!

Room Tip: Take the fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philosion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We always stay here if we are stopping in Medicine Hat as it has become a favorite with our 7 year old after he stayed here with his Grandparents a couple of summers ago. Convenient location just off the highway. Front desk staff are very efficient and helpful. Hotel is very clean. We stayed in a family suite which was very nice - our son loved having his own little "room" which was sectioned off well enough that my husband and I were able to stay up and watch TV after he went to bed without bothering him. I thought the beds were great and slept fantastic. My husband said he would have slept better if he had been able to get the AC a couple of degrees cooler. Waterslide was fantastic - loved that it has its own slide out area and doesn't go into the main pool. Wasn't too busy when we were there so never much of a wait to use the slide. In the morning before we checked out we had the whole pool area to ourselves which was fantastic - our son went round and round on the slide while my husband and I swam in the pool. Breakfast was quite good for a free hotel breakfast - cinnamon rolls were tasty and our son loved the machine that made pancakes which was a nice change from the typical waffle machine that free breakfasts usually have. Will definitely be back next time we are in Medicine Hat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrairieSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Macleod, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I've stayed here many times and it is consistently clean, comfortable with friendly staff that accommodate odd hours or requests without any hassle

Location is close to the highway.

The pool looks like it is undergoing repairs so make sure to ask if the waterslide is working if you plan on taking kids there. It looked like they were probably almost done but I don't know.

Breakfast is better than most hotel breakfasts... but it's still a hotel breakfast. The coffee is good and changed regularly!

Room Tip: Let them know if you work odd hours and they will put you in a quieter part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medicine Hat hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Medicine Hat
0.3 mi away
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Medicine Hat
Days Inn Medicine Hat
#2 of 19 in Medicine Hat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
3.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat
Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat
#15 of 19 in Medicine Hat
3.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat

Property: Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat
Address: 9 Strachan Bay SE, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1B 4Y2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Medicine Hat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Medicine Hat
#4 Business Hotel in Medicine Hat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Medicine Hat Alberta s newest hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites.. You will find comfort and modern luxury at one of the most convenient locations in Medicine Hat. Located just off the Trans Canada Hwy #1 across from the Medicine Hat Mall and only 5 minutes from the Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede grounds. You are within easy walking distance from the brand new Southland Crossing shopping and dining area. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Medicine Hat is 10 minutes from Medicine Hat's Historic Clay District and Medicine Hat's newest golf course, Desert Blume. Enjoy a swim in our crystal-clear pool, blast down our water slide, or relax in our whirlpool. Burn some energy in our fitness center and help melt the stress away. When it s time to get connected we know what you need high-speed wired and wireless Internet, cable, sports and movie channels. Start your day with our complimentary Express Start hot breakfast, with 57 different items and now 2 hot items each day. From standard rooms to kitchenettes to executive Jacuzzi rooms, KidSuites and our Deluxe Southland Suite-with a board room, we can accommodate any traveler s needs visiting Medicine Hat, Alberta! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Medicine Hat Hotel Medicine Hat
Holiday Inn Medicine Hat
Medicine Hat Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Medicine Hat
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Medicine Hat Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing