We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid Hotel, Good If You're On a Budget” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Limited Medicine Hat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Solid Hotel, Good If You're On a Budget”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

This hotel is definitely a good find if you're on a budget, but you might want to look elsewhere. The owners are very nice and hospitable and took care of our every need. The continental breakfast offered a wide variety and was an excellent start to the day. Unfortunately, the rooms are quite small, and slightly dilapidated, and the housekeeping was only average. The hotel has a motel atmosphere, and I felt much more secure staying on the second floor. All in all, this a good-value hotel. It's certainly a livable place for a few days, but not the best in town.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertaTourist77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    57
    16
    8
    8
See reviews for
49
41
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in early January. At the time of booking this was the only hotel that would guarantee us adjoining rooms.
Very friendly staff, rooms very large & clean, great beds, fridge & microwave. Enjoyed pools which was very clean, a little cool, hot tub & fitness rooms, which had a variety of machines. Breakfast had a great variety of items, muffins, bagels, toast, waffles, scrambled eggs, cereal & fruit.
Had a very pleasant stay and will be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ugg_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

What a super experience! Usually when I book accommodation I spend a great deal of time doing research. This trip was an emergency and I needed to book something close to the hospital. I found this gem of a motel- The Ramada! They have a new Manager/owner who is outstanding. Not only did he fix the mix up that Hot Wire had made with the reservation but went out of his way to make sure I had a nice room.

The rooms have all been redecorated and have large flat screen TV's and new furnishings. Mine had a fridge and microwave (not sure if all do). In addition, the property has a nice looking swimming pool (did not have time to use it) and I understand a fitness room. They provide free WIFI with super reception and a full range of TV channels.

The breakfast is wonderful not the usual dry cereal and stale bread. They had fresh home made muffins, a full selection of cereal and..... fresh made scrambled eggs. Of course there is juice, coffee, tea etc. A selection of yogurt, breads and bagels was also available.

I highly recommend this property not only for the facilities but the friendly outgoing manner of the manager/owner is such a treat. Treat yourself the next time and stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teacherbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
181 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

This is a two storey budget motel undergoing some superficial remodeling. We were on a long haul and just needed a place to sleep. Given that our eyes would be closed, we really didn't care much about the room. Previous reviews stated that the bed was good and that was the primary issue. On that basis, they passed and get two stars.

Here's the problem. The door lock had the standard hotel key card which is normally adequate. Unfortunately the strike plate was a residential unit with screws going into the frame. There was about a quarter inch of wood holding the screws in place. Around the door frame is residential weather stripping with wood and foam. An eight year old could knock the door open. We were quite cocerned by the situation and if we had not been travelling all day, we would have changed motels.

The reception was very good, the breakfast room a bit small but stocked with standard fare. For an older hotel, it is fairly clean but again quite dated especially illustrated by the bathrooms. Our room was on the second floor and there is a set of very steep stairs which have narrower treads. Taking any heavy luggage up to the room was problematic at best.

I would not recommend this facility as a cheery weekend destination.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are quiter but the stairs were murderous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trafdlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bob g, Front Office Manager at Ramada Limited Medicine Hat, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Parts have been ordered and are coming from the states. Door plate will be fixed as soon as parts arrive.

P.S.Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMILTON
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Stayed at the hotel 6 days in July, then 5 days in Sept/11. Manager, P.S. Scott immediately remembered us & called his wife to come meet us. Without our asking, he upgraded our room. It was large & a very quiet placement. I went to do laundry but the machine wouldn't cooperate. P.S. Scott, his wife & young son assisted by putting more money in so it would run properly. All staff were friendly; the Breakfast room is clean & well-stocked. I especially like the scrambled eggs as I need the breakfast protein. In July my sister, brother-in-law & nephew stayed at this place too. They like the price, cleanliness & efficiency of staff. This particular hotel is close to a nursing home where my Mom now resides. The location made it easier for us to see her frequently during the stay, both times. The hotel has a gym & pool, which are well kept. Worth every penny to stay at this hotel. Can walk across an overpass to restaurants on other side of Hwy #1. Only a 10-15 min. drive away from large shopping centers. We have stayed here other years and would like to continue to do so!!

Room Tip: Over various times we have stayed in 5 different rooms. The south side overlooks the highway in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WENDY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 3 months with work. There were 10 of us and we couldnt have been made more comfortable. New owner took over a month into our stay and things changed daily. Rooms are large and clean. All mod cons, new TV's etc. Anything missing in kitchenette see Bob or his wife. They will make sure you have everything.
Pool is fab and very clean.
A truly great hotel for business or leisure.

Location is perfect. The garage eatery and pub is located 300m away, or head across the main bridge across the highway where you will find everything.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fussygit27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

I was welcomed by the very friendly staff at the front desk, my room was clean and really enjoyed the amenities such as thier pool, fitness room, pool table etc. Last but not least, the complimentary breakfast was beyond expectations for a motel. I really recommend anyone looking for a place to stay, make a visit to this very friendly motel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark_ABed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medicine Hat hotels
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat
Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat
#15 of 19 in Medicine Hat
3.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
3.4 mi away
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Medicine Hat
Days Inn Medicine Hat
#2 of 19 in Medicine Hat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Medicine Hat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Limited Medicine Hat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Limited Medicine Hat

Property: Ramada Limited Medicine Hat
Address: 773 8th Street SW, Medicine Hat, Alberta TIA 4M5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Medicine Hat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Medicine Hat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Limited Medicine Hat 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat is located at Highway 1 and Highway 3. Close to all the Medicine Hat has to offer, the hotel provides a complimentary deluxe breakfast, complimentary wireless high speed, indoor swimming pool and guest laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ramada Limited Medicine Hat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat Hotel Medicine Hat
Medicine Hat Ramada
Ramada Medicine Hat
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing