We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waitress was amazeballs but the cooks are idiots.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Original Joe’s Medicine Hat

Original Joe’s Medicine Hat
Ranked #45 of 193 Restaurants in Medicine Hat
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Canadian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Burgers, pub food
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waitress was amazeballs but the cooks are idiots.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Long story short: read title.

Ordered a double dog with no onions or mustard. Received a double dog with onions and mustard. The waitress(she) asked how it was and I told her the mistake. When she brought it back it had no onions or mustard! Good right? No! It also didn't have the bacon and cheese it was supposed to have also! So again she asked me how it was and again I explained it wasn't right. She promptly returned with bacon and cheese. I can't for the life of me remember her name but she was extremely nice and for that I would consider giving this place the benefit of the doubt.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewer_of_Stuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    24
    20
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Casual atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Staff is friendly, helpful, knowledgeable. Good service & speedy. Good portion sizes & value. Convenient location around hotels & shopping.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank wenda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, Montana
Level Contributor
332 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A good night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was visiting friends and we stopped at the restaurant. A very pleasant surprise. I ordered a full order of nachos. The was enough to feed us 4. It tasted great...a lot of variety. It was so good we ent back the next night to have more. The atmosphere was kind of loud...a younger crowd. The server was on top of things all night.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Indoor and Patio Great Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Awesome Menu...my favorite it the Butter Chicken. So much variety. Beer and drinks specials every night. Love sitting on the patio on a summer evening.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoracMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Noisy Bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I found it noisy, and just a bar atmosphere. Food was okay, and the prices were high. There seems to be certain crowd who go there regularly (younger) and it seems busy, especially on Tuesday and Weekends. Try it and make up your own mind.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CruisinGrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Joe’s Medicine Hat also viewed

Medicine Hat, Alberta
 
Medicine Hat, Alberta
Medicine Hat, Alberta
 

Been to Original Joe’s Medicine Hat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing