We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Both check in and check out were handled with a high degree of professionalism. Staff was friendly and were very helpful when asked questions about the local area. I had a concern that was handled by the hotel in a professional manner. That was very positive. Sometimes things are not perfect, but they can be compensated for. In this case the hotel came through. I think the location of the hotel is great and I would definitely stay there again on my next trip over.

Room Tip: Try the Thai restaurant just 5 minutes away....authentic food with chefs from Bangkok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rival10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIMHGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a response. We appreciate your comments and willingness to share your experience, good and bad. We look forward to being able to meet all of your expectations during your next visit to the area.

Comfort In & Suites
Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 422 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

Positives - The lady that checked us in was very friendly, she remembered who we were and even joked with us about things. The Pool was warm. The room we stayed in (Queen Suite) was OK.

Does it deserve the three stars it has... maybe... but the one night we stayed there and how management deals with a busy hotel on a weekend and leaves ONE staff member to put up with it all... I would have said no. See negative comments below

Negitives - NOT ENOUGH STAFF! HOUSEKEEPING ENDED AT 4PM! HOT TUB WAS HOTTER THAN THE 104.0 THEY SAID IT WAS! BATHROOM NEEDS EITHER SOME UPDATED MAINTENANCE OR REPLACEMENTS

Let me elaborate on this. We checked in on Saturday Feb 9th, we were checked in quickly and in a timely fashion, however, it was a fully booked hotel room! FULLY BOOKED AND ONE STAFF MEMBER ON FROM 3PM TILL 11PM! That was not the staff members fault at all she did her best to keep up with things, HOWEVER, when you have THREE RINGETTE TEAMS that were U-16, U-14 and U 12 staying there YOU WILL HAVE A LOT OF WORK ON YOUR HANDS INSIDE A BUSY HOTEL! Why did the Manager NOT add staff onto the afternoon/Evening Shift when there was zero for housekeeping.. and NOT even the Manager was there to help out at all when any experienced Manager would FULLY KNOW that one person would not cut it?!?!? Because of this, there were NO spare Towels in the Pool or hot tub that night DUE to the fact that the three teams took and USED them all, and the ONE person that was working couldn't keep up with that AND keep the kids from RUNNING IN THE HALLWAYS AND MAKING LOTS OF NOISE! VERY disappointed with that.. she was so run off of her feet by 8pm that she didnt have that same smile she greeted us with after being left alone! We felt so bad for her that we talked to her the next day to say sorry on behalf of what she had to put up with and knew that even though we "used the intercom" like it said to get more towels... and she COULDN'T answer because of the fact she was trying to keep the place calm... that we didnt mean to keep her running.

SECONDLY - The guy that replaced her for the night shift... DIDN'T check to see if anyone was in the Pool or Hot Tub before turning out the lights in the room! We didn't even have HIM come in and check and let us know that the pool was closed or anything.. he just turned out the lights and when we came out of the pool "appeared to be shocked" because we were in there... BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE THERE! Didn't even say anything just kept to himself.

HOT TUB - 104?!?!!? NO I really don't think so.. myself and my wife as well as another guest all made comments on how hot the HOT TUB really was! it was so hot that our skin instantly went red and we could have really burned ourselves with the heat of the tub. I really hope none of the kids went in there because it was way to hot for any kids skin!

Housekeeping - Did a OK job at turning our room.. even went as far as to vacuum the main area, and replace the towels which was great, but didn't sweep or vacuum the bathroom there was still hair all over the tiles when we got back, didn't replace the backup toilet paper that we had to use since there was hardly anything on the roll when we got there.

Rust in the Tub - One of the handles for people who need extra help getting in and out of the tub in our room has been rusted for some time, and the rust is starting to "seep" down below the bottom of the railing handle. if it continues to rust or stay rusted it can be a health hazard for someone who will actually need it to pull themselves out of the tub and it comes away from the wall.

TAKING OFF IN THE BATHROOM! - The Fan that was in our room that was attached to the main set of lights we had in our room was louder than a 737 at take off... it was so noisy we had to use the one pot light that was on the other switch that didn't have the fan on there, that fan needs to be either cleaned or replaced to make it quieter than what we had experienced.


These are all the negitives that we experienced, I totally do not blame the lady that helped us check in with what happened.. she did the best she could... I do however question the managements reasoning why NO extra support was made in order to make sure that a 100 ROOM hotel was not run by a single person when it was 3/4 to fully booked and most of it was by teenage girls who were let run loose for the majority of the night.

I WOULD possibly stay there again IF there was more staff while something like that happened! However, dealing with that... I was very disappointed in how there staff was treated, and some of the issues that the hotel has that may or may not have been addressed before. Which made my stay and probably other peoples stay during that time a little harder to swallow.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any teams staying there.... and hope that there is more than one person that manage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank painkiller24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIMHGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We appreciate the feedback and are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay (which has already been addressed outside of this site). It is true, we were very busy over the weekend that you stayed and that is no excuse for lack of employees and poor housekeeping. The pool was busy on the weekend and unfortunately the pool towels were all used and we were not able to keep up with replenishing the stock. It is also rather unfortunate that while teams stay in hotels, they choose not to repsect the rest of the hotel guests. We have already addressed the housekeeping issues that you have raised and are sorry that your guest room was in the state that it was upon check in and that items were not replished during your stay. Again, thank your comments and we hope that we can earn you back as a guest of our hotel in the future.

Comfort Inn & Suites
Staff & Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

good clean comfortable room with wonderful hot and cold continental breakfast. Conveniently located by Wendy's, Tim Horton's, Perkins, and the shopping mall (all walking distances). The only drawback was if you stay in the hotel during the day, it is very noisy when the cleaning is being done. Overall, great stay.

Room Tip: there is no in building restaurant, just a morning breakfast. They did have a fruit bowl in lobby a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glin49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIMHGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to sumbit a review regarding your recent stay with us. We are always pleased to hear from our guests especially when we have succeeded in providing comfortable, clean accommodations. We look forward to seeing you again.


Comfort Inn & Suites
Staff and Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I've stayed at a few Medicine Hat hotels in the past couple years and I've found them all so far to either be over-priced or simply mediocre for the price. This Comfort Inn is going to be my new home while I am in town. The location is excellent with several choices of restaurants (both fast food and standard dine in) within easy walking distance. The mall is immediately behind it as well which actually has surprisingly decent if typical shopping. Check in was easy and the rates are good for what you get. The staff was very friendly and accommodating (Thanks Amber) and the morning breakfast was good for an included continental. Bacon, "near" eggs, waffles, cereal, toast, pastries and of course juice and coffee. The young woman in charge of the breakfast area was there the whole time on top of things. When I advised her that one flavors of the waffle batter appeared to be out, she apologized and *immediately* went to fix it.The staff was very friendly and on the ball. The wifi internet connection worked great for me and the room was spacious enough and clean with a nice flat screen TV. If I had to nitpick, and this really is a nitpick, it would be that the washroom is a tad on the small side (the door almost hits the toilet) but it is perfectly adequate. I did not try the pool or hot tub, but will next time I stay. All in all, great place to stay and I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slidebite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIMHGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay along with our staff service and amenities. We look forward to being your home away from home while in Medicine Hat.

Comfort Inn & Suites
Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Positives: Breakfast was great! The lady working there was on top of things and did a great job. Very friendly service too.
Pool was average. Nice and hot in the whirlpool.
Check in was fast and friendly.

Negatives: Housekeeping of our room was one of the worst we have experienced. We stayed for 3 nights. Carpet was NEVER vacuumed, coffee stains not cleaned of top of fridge, coffee packages NEVER replenished, coffee pot NEVER cleaned. Garbage hadn't been emptied from previous guests. The only thing good to say was the towels were fresh and the shower curtain nicely arranged every day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 173Jack173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIMHGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thank you for you comments. We very pleased to learn that you enjoyed our Breakfast and that check in was satisfying for you. I am sorry to learn that we failed in the housekeeping aspect of your stay. It is truly important that we are doing our job in making every aspect of a guest's stay the best that it can be. It is not our normal practice to not replenish the stocked items in our guest rooms, nor leave a room unclean. We do hope that will give us another chance to prove to you that we deserve you as a guest.

Comfort Inn & Suites
Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Travelled alot. No fear here. Certainly would return. Clean and comfortable and close to every amenity. Pool was clean. Room was clean. Staff was friendly. Mall and retaurants are all walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIMHGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for your recent comments. We are always happy to hear that we have succeeded in making our guests feel both welcome and comfortable. We hope you see you again in the future.

Comfort Inn & Suites
Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Nice room very clean. Good location shopping mall and many places to eat in walking distend. Breakfast is fantastic eggs bacon etc. Friendly host service very good. I recommend this place. There is plenty space to park your car truck etc.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svojack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIMHGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all our efforts. We looking fowarding to accomodating you again in the future.


Comfort Inn & Suites
Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medicine Hat hotels
0.1 mi away
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Medicine Hat
Days Inn Medicine Hat
#3 of 19 in Medicine Hat
892 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Medicine Hat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn and Suites Medicine Hat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat

Address: 2317 Trans Canada Way SE, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1B 4E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Medicine Hat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Price Range: $101 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathe Easy on our 100 percent smoke free environment. We invite business travelers, family vacationers, pet lovers, and couples seeking a different lodging at our fresh and modern look Medicine Hat, Alberta hotel. Guests enjoy the 100 tastefully design and super clean guest rooms, newly expanded breakfast area that serves an amazing hot breakfast, an abundance of amenities including 24 hours lobby coffee service, free local calls and free wireless high-speed fiber optic internet access. After a good work out on our Fitness room, guest can also relax on our indoor hot tub and upgraded swimming pool. Business travelers, enjoy our hotel's business center, containing 2 computers, printer and scanner with Internet access, meeting rooms capable of handling up to 40 people, copy and fax services. All guest rooms are equipped with new and environmentally friendly air conditioned, cable television, fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Whether business or pleasure brings you to the area, the Comfort Inn & Suites hotel is the perfect place to stay on your next trip to Medicine Hat. We look forward to serve you and experience the true meaning of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Medicine Hat
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Medicine Hat
Medicine Hat Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing