We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but under construction and near the highway so noisy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Medicine Hat
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Macleod, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but under construction and near the highway so noisy.”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Hotel is clean and staff friendly. But the location right on the highway makes it noisy if you like to have your window open. Also, the hotel was under construction and there was banging during the day. They should have warned us about that when we made our reservation.

Room Tip: You want a room as far from the construction as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieSquires, Manager at Days Inn Medicine Hat, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for taking time to comment on your recent stay with us. I was pleased to hear that you found our hotel clean and friendly, as those are two goals we consistently strive towards. As you mentioned, we are currently under construction to add more guest rooms as well as a fitness room and meeting facilities. Throughout the construction we have tried to accommodate our guests as much as possible to minimize the interruption. I apologize that the construction disrupted your stay. I hope you will stay with us again to see the changes we have made the next time you visit Medicine Hat.
Staff and Management
Days Inn Medicine Hat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    325
    94
    36
    13
See reviews for
346
136
24
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2011

This hotel was just renovated and the rooms were super nice but I didn't enjoy the little black bugs running around the floor. Apparently, in a dry Summer they get these little pests in Medicine Hat but the front desk offered to move us. Also, the waterslide, which the kids loved, did shoot people out with a huge splash into a small pool - somebody is going to get seriously hurt one of these days. Its diffiicult to stay out of somebody's way when its such a small pool. The breakfast was free & good selection. Overall, my family had a great time there.

Room Tip: If staying during a dry Summer, get a room on second floor where there apparently are no black bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarkWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieSquires, General Manager at Days Inn Medicine Hat, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, despite the "little pests" that seem to visit the city every summer. I was glad to hear that you liked the newly renovated rooms. We are so excited to have these rooms to offer to our guest. Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon.
Staff and Management
Days Inn Medicine Hat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights at the Days Inn Medicine Hat Alberta on business.
Crystal the Desk clerk was awesome. Very professional and courteous. The room was very clean. It had a new a flat screen TV. comfortable beds. Pillows were plenty and comfy. Location was right beside Houston Pizza. Had a great Steak sandwich and big schooner of beer. Fast excellent service great food, good price. I believe they served breakfast there also. the only negative was the construction at the one end of the hotel(they are adding 20 rooms) started at 6:30 am one morning. I mentioned it and the desk person/ crystal gave me a Tim Hortons gift card.. Really a nice gesture. Like all Days Inns, parking is at a premium so when you get in late you are scrambling for a spot.
I would definately stay again. They had an excellent govt. rate.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firedog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieSquires, General Manager at Days Inn Medicine Hat, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I was so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal at Days Inn Medicine Hat is to ensure our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and it is always nice to hear how we are doing. I apologize for the inconvenience of the construction, and I would like to thank you for your understanding of the situation. We look forward to seeing you again once the construction has been completed, if not before!
Staff & Management
Days Inn Medicine Hat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Hotel was clean, breakfast was adequate, staff was friendly and helpful. Pool area was clean and the kids loved the waterslide.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooper-40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieSquires, General Manager at Days Inn Medicine Hat, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Thank you for your comments. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff here work very hard and take pride in their job, comments like yours make it all worthwhile. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Staff & Management
Days Inn Medicine Hat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

The Days Inn is a lower level business hotel located on the city fringe. Waited 20 minutes on hold to phone reception. Waited another half hour for them to bring more towels. I think I could get more for the money elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveldersp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieSquires, General Manager at Days Inn Medicine Hat, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you taking the time to post a review. We appreciate all feedback we receive, both the good and the bad. I was very sorry to hear that your stay with us was anything les than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations and make your stay as comfortable as possible. It is clear to me that in this specific situation we did not meet this goal, and I can assure that we will take steps now to prevent this from happening in the future. Once again, I would like to offer my apologies and we hope to see you the next time you are in Medicine Hat.
Staff & Management
Days Inn Medicine Hat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Pleasant stay in a very clean hotel with friendly staff. Stayed on the 4th floor which had key card controlled access. Enjoyed the flat screen TV. The mattress was good, but the pillows didn't compress and so wer uncomfortably high. Didn't go in the pool, but looked nice and had a water slide. Breakfast was good and coffee and cookies were available all day.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Cowtowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieSquires, General Manager at Days Inn Medicine Hat, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am sorry to hear that you found our pillows uncomfortable, you will be happy to hear that we are in the process of replacing our pillows. As for the rest of your stay, I am happy that you found our hotel enjoyable. We hope to see you again!
Staff & Mgmt
Days Inn Medicine Hat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

I stayed here with two other colleagues; each in our own room for two nights last week. The check-in process was typical yet efficient and we were in our rooms within 5 minutes. The first thing I noticed was that there were snacks and coffee readily available at the front desk. The next was the cleanliness of the rooms. I've stayed in five-star hotels that couldn't touch the cleaning staff in this establishment. The room temperature was perfect and all was quiet for the duration of my stay.

Breakfast is included in a common breakfast room (6am - 10am) and one would be hard-pressed to not find something suitable to eat. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable. I required three stamps for correspondence and the front desk clerk happily provided me with them, accepting no payment. Upon checkout, we were awarded a free night's stay for our next trip to a D3H(?) hotel and a $20 gift card for a selection of restaurants, as we had accumulated 6 nights' worth of points between the three of us.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmackayYEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieSquires, General Manager at Days Inn Medicine Hat, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay with us. It is always nice to hear feedback from our guets. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Staff & Mgmt
Days Inn Medicine Hat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medicine Hat hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Medicine Hat
0.4 mi away
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat
Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat
#15 of 19 in Medicine Hat
3.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Medicine Hat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Medicine Hat

Property: Days Inn Medicine Hat
Address: 24 Strachan Court SE | Dunmore Rd & Trans, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1B 4R7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Medicine Hat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Medicine Hat
#1 Business Hotel in Medicine Hat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Medicine Hat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Medicine Hat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn - Medicine Hat Hotel Medicine Hat
Medicine Hat Days Inn
Days Inn Medicine Hat Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing