We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced Poolside Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Overpriced Poolside Rooms”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Poolside rooms overpriced and rather dingy. Stayed 4 nights and room never cleaned before 5:00 pm. Doors on wardrobe falling off hinges. Underside of duvet had blueberry stains. No money spent on upgrading these rooms because parents will pay whatever to be near pool for their kids. Kids loved being near pool and had fun. Movie rentals cost $17+tax each. RIPOFF!! Advised at time of booking continental breakfast was included. At check in was told girl made mistake and no breakfast included. We bought the hot breakfast one morning but it was pretty crappy so didn't miss anything after all. Dinner buffet no better. Laundry room conveniently situated next to weight room. Fast room service. Lobby area nice & staff pleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd & 4th floors nicer & more modern due to upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodtogoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medicinehatlodge, Guest Services Coordinator at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
I am sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and that we did not achieve our level of service expected from my staff. I have addressed your concerns with the appropriate department managers and my staff to prevent this from occurring again. I am happy to hear your kids had fun and loved the pool but I would like to personally talk with you in regards to the rest of your stay. Please contact me at your earliest convenience.
Regards,
Jennifer LaDouceur
Guest Services Coordinator
jladouceur@medhatlodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    163
    105
    57
    36
See reviews for
229
91
28
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
156 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stay in this Lodge with my family and in-laws every July and December. Most of our kids are young and they absolutely love the water slides. The front desk service is excellent as are the rooms. Very clean. They have good suites if you want 4 or 5 people to stay in one room. The restaurant on property is good - especially for breakfast. We honestly enjoy going here even though Medicine Hat isn't the most exciting town. You are close to the mall and cinema and Costco. We usually ask for a late check-out and have no problems getting one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medicinehatlodge, Guest Services Coordinator at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am happy to see our repeat customers commenting on their recent stays. Our suites are the perfect size for a small family to stay in with the extra space in the sitting area. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast buffet that is included in most of our room rates. We appreciate the positive feedback and hope to see you again this July.
Regards,
Jennifer LaDouceur
Guest Services Coordinator
jladouceur@medhatlodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We are a family of 6 - mom, dad, 8 yr old, 3 yr old and 7 month old twins and we had a great stay at the Medicine Hat Lodge and would stay here again when visiting. We experienced superior customer service! From the very start we were treated exceptionally by getting our room ready for us before check in as we arrived early in to the city and while waiting allowed us to utilize the pool/water-slide - which was awesome for the older kids. The room was spacious and clean as the rest of the hotel. First evening (Sat) they set up a movie screen & speakers in the front lobby area for the kids and serve fresh made popcorn. Sun morning buffet one of the best we have ever been to - excellent! While at brunch a member of the cleaning staff named Melissa cleaned our room so incredibly well! I mean really went out of her way, spent extra time organizing our room, tidying it, leaving extra towels, soap, etc. As I returned to my room she was just leaving and asked "I hope you don't mind that I spent extra time on the room because I thought you looked tired." I so appreciated that she went out of her way due to empathy because I was totally tired, 4 kids keep you real busy all the time. As well she came back with soft towels just for the babies. You are a good person Melissa and I thank your kind gesture while we stayed - you deserve the recognition. From the young man in the elevator asking everyone how their day was going, giving directions or making small talk, to the chef at the buffet who was making the fresh apple fritters and to all the staff - I don't think one person walked by that worked there that didn't say hello. Good hospitality and service is so hard to find these days. Totally awesome! Great job Medicine Hat Lodge - see you soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faye h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medicinehatlodge, Guest Services Coordinator at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review about your stay here at the Medicine Hat Lodge. I am so glad that you enjoyed the time you spent in the hotel. I am happy to hear that every encounter you had with our staff, they went above and beyond your expectations. Thank you again for the outstanding review and we look forward to your next stay.
Regards,
Jennifer LaDouceur
Guest Services Coordinator
jladouceur@medhatlodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed at the Medicine Hat Lodge for one night on a business trip. The hotel staff was friendly upon check in but when we called to try to get a late checkout (as recommended by the desk staff when we got there) the staff member was not helpful and informed me I had to call housekeeping for a late checkout,

I was upgraded to a bigger room, a king suite which was spacious but dated and poorly lit. I was scared to sleep on the pillows as they were lumpy and yellow under the pillowcase.

I did love the waterslide pool area - it was a lot of fun to unwind in the big hot pool and going down the huge slides. I could smell the chlorine in the hallways so I'm glad my room faced away from pool area.

Breakfast does not start until 7:00 am which is useless to most business travellers, such as myself. I did like the large container of ice water and lemon/lime slices in the lobby, it was a nice touch.

I think this hotel would be better for families with kids rather than business travellers given the fun pool area and waterslides.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the waterslides unless you want to watch kids and smell chlorine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SparkySprite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medicinehatlodge, Guest Services Coordinator at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize that your stay was satisfactory. I have informed the departments about your concerns noted in your review. Our Breakfast Buffet is open from 6:30am-10:30am Monday through Friday to accommodate our business travellers, and I am sorry this was not communicated correctly to you. I would like to further discuss your stay, if you can please contact me at your earliest convenience.
Regards,
Jennifer LaDouceur
Guest Services Coordinator
jladouceur@medhatlodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOOSE JAW
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

The service here is by far the best I have ever had at any hotel. The staff are so friendly and helpful here, it really made for an enjoyable & relaxing stay. This hotel offers everything you need all under one roof including:

-Waterslides & Pools
-Delicious restaurants
-Well-Stocked Offsale/Liquor Store
-Beautiful gift shop
-Spa
-CASINO!

They even had a free movie and popcorn night in the lobby on one of the nights we were here! the beds and pillows were verrrrrry comfy and it was hard to want to crawl out of bed in the mornings lol. Rooms are also kept meticulously clean by maids. There is complimentary coffee in the room and also complimentary coffee, fruit & water in the lobby. Great location too! There is a Walmart, movie theatre, shopping mall, arcade and many, MANY other fun close very close by. This is a very well-run hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadTripGirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medicinehatlodge, Guest Services Coordinator at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments and visiting us at the Medicine Hat Lodge. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I am glad you were able to enjoy all the amenities the hotel has to offer. Thank you for sharing your experience, and I hope your next stay will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Regards,
Jennifer LaDouceur
Guest Services Coordinator
jladouceur@medhatlodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The checkin agent was cool and not very helpful, although the morning checkout staff were very friendly. THe room was clean but the furniture was chipped, the room needed painting and it could use new beds. We found the bed & pillows very uncomfortable.

We were offered an upgraded room for $10.00 more - we looked at the room but couldn't see the value but it may have had better pilloes & bed.

I was a walk in so I feel I overpaid by approx 25%.

The one strange thing was the "free" continental breakfast didn't open until 6:30am and if you wanted some breakfast meat it was an additional $2.99. Go figure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sk User
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medicinehatlodge, Guest Services Coordinator at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your response with us about your recent stay at the Medicine Hat Lodge. We value the time you took to provide us with feedback on our hotel rooms and restaurant services. Please contact me to further discuss your stay.
Regards,
Jennifer LaDouceur
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just checked in here and the first thing I noted when I walked in is how bad a vacuuming this place needs. And this extends throughout all of the hotel. I can forgive the institutional looking exterior but the interior for me anyways, has to be clean! First impressions mean a lot so get some extra cleaners in here perhaps!
The staff were friendly enough at the front desk but since when is there an up-charge for a room that has an extra person totaling 2 persons in it? Is a hotel occupancy not based on 2 people? I do not even eat breakfast so if this is about having a coupon for a "free morning meal" they can have it back!
We opted to pay for an upgrade to the 4th floor since we are going to be spending a few days here and wanted the jetted tub as I know from other reviews I will not be using the pool here, nor the hot tub in 1st level common area (too messy and noisy).
Our first room was not cleaned properly so we had to move down the hall. The night tables and other surfaces had not even been wiped down in room #1! Crumbs and multiple water rings from glasses etc were visible - gross! The 2nd room we found more acceptable cleanliness-wise but as I sit here and write this my eyes are burning from chlorine coming up from the vents, no joke and the air vent/air conditioner in here is making SO much noise I can barely hear our TV. (the TV is a nice size by the way!)
There is a funny smell to the room in general so thankfully, I brought a candle.
I do not want to walk in my bare feet on the carpets (bring flip flops)! :( Sorry for all the complaining but it is what it is and there may be better options out there for people coming to MH and being informed is a good thing!
I was happy to find out that I was staying in "the nicest hotel in Medicine Hat" but my husband has been eying the Holiday Inn Express from our window across the highway and wishes his company had booked us there! Maybe next time... I hope I can get through the next 3 days here!
Will be happy to update this review if needed...

Room Tip: 4th floor for jetted tubs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank islandhopper72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medicinehatlodge, Guest Services Coordinator at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us at the Medicine Hat Lodge. I appreciate all the feedback you left for our review, and I would like to speak with you further in regards to some of your concerns. If you can please contact me at your earliest convenience.
Regards,
Jennifer LaDouceur
Guest Services Coordinator
jladouceur@medhatlodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medicine Hat hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Medicine Hat
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat
Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat
#15 of 19 in Medicine Hat
3.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Medicine Hat
Days Inn Medicine Hat
#3 of 19 in Medicine Hat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat
3.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa

Property: Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa
Address: 1051 Ross Glen Dr SE, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1B 3T8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Medicine Hat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Medicine Hat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa is southern Alberta's only four star resort and largest entertainment complex. We are proud to offer a variety of amenities including guest rooms and luxury suites, banquet & meeting facilities, a buffet restaurant, lounges, fine dining, giant indoor water slide park, exercise facility, one of Canada's top spas, a full service casino and so much more! We have something for everyone, all under one roof! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medicine Hat Lodge Hotel Medicine Hat
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino And Spa
Medicine Hat Hotel
Medicine Hat Resort
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing