We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Family Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Family Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The suite upgrade is well worth the money. It is out of the noise, moisture from the pool and away from pet friendly rooms. We went to family sports tournament. Everyone in the side wing loved the hotel, those who didn't were not happy.

The prices of food and drinks were excellent. The quality was reasonable.

Room Tip: Book a suite off the main area. For the money it is an excellent upgrade. You really want to be out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doughkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medicinehatlodge, Guest Services Coordinator at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Medicine Hat Lodge, I greatly appreciate all the feedback we get from our guests. I am glad you enjoyed the South Tower suites, those rooms provide such a great living space for families to stay and be comfortable. Please feel free to contact me with any further comments.
Regards,
Jennifer LaDouceur
Guest Services Coordinator
jladouceur@medhatlodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    160
    104
    56
    36
See reviews for
224
90
28
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Loved this hotel, my teens had a great time in the 'water park'. We only stayed overnight, as we were passing through Medicine Hat, but it was worth it. The room came with a 'continental breakfast' and you can upgrade for 2.99.

Room Tip: For a quieter room, ask for one on the outside of the hotel, rather than facing the waterpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyoffour2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medicinehatlodge, Guest Services Coordinator at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at the Medicine Hat Lodge. I'm glad that your family enjoyed the hotel and had fun in the waterpark. Again thank you for the compliments and we look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,
Jennifer LaDouceur
Guest Services Coordinator
jladouceur@medhatlodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

The rooms are a bit expensive but clean and very family oriented. Water slides are great, but quite crowded at most times other than early morning. The movie in the lobby is a cool idea. Casino is nice, with friendly staff. Overall good experience, but could be priced more economically as the same kind of place in Calgary would be cheaper.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne2765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medicinehatlodge, Guest Services Coordinator at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Medicine Hat Lodge. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and had a good time in the pool area. The movie night is always a fun time at the hotel, it is great to hear that our guests are enjoying it. Again thank you for taking the time to post a review and I will pass along your positive comments to the Casino and our staff.

Regards,
Jennifer LaDouceur
Guest Services Coordinator
jladouceur@medhatlodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathmore, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

My friend and I stayed here with our 8 and 5 year old daughters for one night. The weather was terrible, causing a ringette team and two busloads of cheerleaders to be stranded and all checking in at the same time. The front desk staff brought us to the side of the check in counter and helped us first as we had already booked our room, thank goodness! There were at least 100 people waiting to check in!

We got a poolside room on the bottom floor, which was great as we could watch our girls swim while we enjoyed some drinks.

The only thing that was bothersome was how crowded the pool area was, which really has nothing to do with the hotel. Our patio chairs were taken by some people who just helped themselves and there were about twenty people gathered on the patio next to us, which made it difficult to see our girls in the pool. Despite the crowds, there were always dry towels for everyone and it still seemed safe for swimming/sliding.

Some people started yelling and screaming and jumping in the pool at about 11pm, even though the pool closed at 9pm. The front desk staff took care of it right away.

Breakfast was pretty good, although the restaurant staff did not seem very friendly and they did not communicate the "rules" of the complimentary continental breakfast, we had to ask. Apparently, the items with a "red sign" are not included in the free breakfast, which is fine, just make sure you dont take items from there, or you will gave to "upgrade" your breakfast. There is a lot to choose from for the free breakfast: fruit, toast, muffins, danish, scrambled eggs, hashbrowns, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, oatmeal, etc. The service was basically non-existant. We had no forks on our table and we sat at our table for over 10 minutes with the waitress passing by us about 40 times without even a hello. We ended up taking forks off of a nearby table...sorry!

The room was pretty basic, but clean and served our purpose very well.

I would probably stay here again if I were ever to be in the Medicine Hat area again.

Room Tip: Bottom floor, poolside, if you have little ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newbtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medicinehatlodge, Front Desk Shift Supervisor at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your stay with us at the Medicine Hat Lodge. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our poolside rooms that we have to offer. They are very nice for the swimmers of the family, as well as for guest who would just like to sit back and relax while watching others swim. I apologize your breakfast experience wasn’t as pleasant as it should have been , but thank you for bringing it to our attention so that we can work on some of these issues and allow it to be a more enjoyable experience for your next stay. We are grateful for your comments as they allow us to improve and grow as a hotel. We look forward to see you again in the future!
Sincerely,
Amy Webber
Front Desk Shift Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We've been doing an annual family get-together at the MHL for a few years now, since time & price excludes us booking some fun-in-the-REAL-sun on an annual basis for ~20 of us (even split between kids/adults). It's always been reasonably clean, reasonably well maintained, and reasonably priced. We've never had issues with that facility. Well, they ran out of towels pool-side once, but that's not a huge concern.

They've just come off of a renovation to the water slides where they've re-lined the slides. It's nice to see some proactive maintenance at a facility. Hot tubs were reasonably hot and

The exercise room is well stocked with free weights and a decent combo machine, plus several treadmills/ecliptics.

The restaurant is reasonably good, and the breakfasts are quite decent, and with a full mall / restaurant strip across the road, it's convenient to change up dining.

Room Tip: Rooms poolside are generally noisy from 9am to 9:30pm while the slides are running (BOY kids can scr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HKRNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medicinehatlodge, Front Office Manager at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for writing such a exceptional review about the Medicine Hat Lodge. I appreciate all the positive comments and to be compared to a fun resort in Cuba is a outstanding compliment. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next annual trip.

Regards,
Jennifer LaDouceur
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibbons, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our room was nice and clean, the front desk staff were friendy and very helpful. My grandchildren loved the inside water park area, they provide towels and life jackets, lots of room for sitting for those who dont want to swim, the waterslides were the best. In the evening they had movies in the lobby with popcorn for the kids. No noise problems, overall very clean and your choice of food locations were very good. I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medicinehatlodge, Front Desk Supervisor at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Medicine Hat Lodge. I was happy to read that the front desk agents were friendly and helpful, we appreciate the positive encouragement. It is also great to hear that you could spend the time with you grandchildren enjoying our facilities and watching our Movie Night Under the Stars. Again thank you for posting such a pleasant review and we look forward to seeing both you and your grandchildren again soon.
Regards,
Amy Webber- Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ogema
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Decided to only go as far as Medicine Hat on the way home from Calgary. Since it was our anniversary got the jacuzzi room package. Went to the nice resurant with a 75 dollar voucher included in our package. Meal was a 5 star. Got back to room and chocolate strawberrys and sparkling wine was sitting there for us. Everything exceeded what we expected for a hotel in Medicine Hat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medicinehatlodge, Front Office Manager at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for posting such a great review about your stay with us at the Medicine Hat Lodge. I am glad you enjoed the Romantic Getaway package. The MGrill always has such fabulous menu options that never disappoint. We are happy we exceeded your expectations and hope to see you back again soon.

Regards,
Jennifer LaDouceur
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medicine Hat hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat
Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat
#15 of 19 in Medicine Hat
3.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Medicine Hat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Medicine Hat
Days Inn Medicine Hat
#2 of 19 in Medicine Hat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat
3.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa

Property: Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa
Address: 1051 Ross Glen Dr SE, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1B 3T8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Medicine Hat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Medicine Hat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa is southern Alberta's only four star resort and largest entertainment complex. We are proud to offer a variety of amenities including guest rooms and luxury suites, banquet & meeting facilities, a buffet restaurant, lounges, fine dining, giant indoor water slide park, exercise facility, one of Canada's top spas, a full service casino and so much more! We have something for everyone, all under one roof! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino And Spa
Medicine Hat Lodge Hotel Medicine Hat
Medicine Hat Hotel
Medicine Hat Resort
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing