We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Certificate of Excellence
Strathmore, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Decent Stay”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My friend and I stayed here with our 8 and 5 year old daughters for one night. The weather was terrible, causing a ringette team and two busloads of cheerleaders to be stranded and all checking in at the same time. The front desk staff brought us to the side of the check in counter and helped us first as we had already booked our room, thank goodness! There were at least 100 people waiting to check in!

We got a poolside room on the bottom floor, which was great as we could watch our girls swim while we enjoyed some drinks.

The only thing that was bothersome was how crowded the pool area was, which really has nothing to do with the hotel. Our patio chairs were taken by some people who just helped themselves and there were about twenty people gathered on the patio next to us, which made it difficult to see our girls in the pool. Despite the crowds, there were always dry towels for everyone and it still seemed safe for swimming/sliding.

Some people started yelling and screaming and jumping in the pool at about 11pm, even though the pool closed at 9pm. The front desk staff took care of it right away.

Breakfast was pretty good, although the restaurant staff did not seem very friendly and they did not communicate the "rules" of the complimentary continental breakfast, we had to ask. Apparently, the items with a "red sign" are not included in the free breakfast, which is fine, just make sure you dont take items from there, or you will gave to "upgrade" your breakfast. There is a lot to choose from for the free breakfast: fruit, toast, muffins, danish, scrambled eggs, hashbrowns, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, oatmeal, etc. The service was basically non-existant. We had no forks on our table and we sat at our table for over 10 minutes with the waitress passing by us about 40 times without even a hello. We ended up taking forks off of a nearby table...sorry!

The room was pretty basic, but clean and served our purpose very well.

I would probably stay here again if I were ever to be in the Medicine Hat area again.

Room Tip: Bottom floor, poolside, if you have little ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newbtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medicinehatlodge, Front Desk Shift Supervisor at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your stay with us at the Medicine Hat Lodge. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our poolside rooms that we have to offer. They are very nice for the swimmers of the family, as well as for guest who would just like to sit back and relax while watching others swim. I apologize your breakfast experience wasn’t as pleasant as it should have been , but thank you for bringing it to our attention so that we can work on some of these issues and allow it to be a more enjoyable experience for your next stay. We are grateful for your comments as they allow us to improve and grow as a hotel. We look forward to see you again in the future!
Sincerely,
Amy Webber
Front Desk Shift Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    172
    110
    60
    37
See reviews for
245
97
28
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We've been doing an annual family get-together at the MHL for a few years now, since time & price excludes us booking some fun-in-the-REAL-sun on an annual basis for ~20 of us (even split between kids/adults). It's always been reasonably clean, reasonably well maintained, and reasonably priced. We've never had issues with that facility. Well, they ran out of towels pool-side once, but that's not a huge concern.

They've just come off of a renovation to the water slides where they've re-lined the slides. It's nice to see some proactive maintenance at a facility. Hot tubs were reasonably hot and

The exercise room is well stocked with free weights and a decent combo machine, plus several treadmills/ecliptics.

The restaurant is reasonably good, and the breakfasts are quite decent, and with a full mall / restaurant strip across the road, it's convenient to change up dining.

Room Tip: Rooms poolside are generally noisy from 9am to 9:30pm while the slides are running (BOY kids can scr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKRNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medicinehatlodge, Front Office Manager at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for writing such a exceptional review about the Medicine Hat Lodge. I appreciate all the positive comments and to be compared to a fun resort in Cuba is a outstanding compliment. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next annual trip.

Regards,
Jennifer LaDouceur
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibbons, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our room was nice and clean, the front desk staff were friendy and very helpful. My grandchildren loved the inside water park area, they provide towels and life jackets, lots of room for sitting for those who dont want to swim, the waterslides were the best. In the evening they had movies in the lobby with popcorn for the kids. No noise problems, overall very clean and your choice of food locations were very good. I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medicinehatlodge, Front Desk Supervisor at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Medicine Hat Lodge. I was happy to read that the front desk agents were friendly and helpful, we appreciate the positive encouragement. It is also great to hear that you could spend the time with you grandchildren enjoying our facilities and watching our Movie Night Under the Stars. Again thank you for posting such a pleasant review and we look forward to seeing both you and your grandchildren again soon.
Regards,
Amy Webber- Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ogema
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Decided to only go as far as Medicine Hat on the way home from Calgary. Since it was our anniversary got the jacuzzi room package. Went to the nice resurant with a 75 dollar voucher included in our package. Meal was a 5 star. Got back to room and chocolate strawberrys and sparkling wine was sitting there for us. Everything exceeded what we expected for a hotel in Medicine Hat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medicinehatlodge, Front Office Manager at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for posting such a great review about your stay with us at the Medicine Hat Lodge. I am glad you enjoed the Romantic Getaway package. The MGrill always has such fabulous menu options that never disappoint. We are happy we exceeded your expectations and hope to see you back again soon.

Regards,
Jennifer LaDouceur
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here for just one night,While on the road.We had an updated room with 2 double beds,the room was clean and modern,flat screen tv nice looking beds but fairly small and basic room.The beds were medium not to hard not to soft either..A bit firm for my taste but my Husband slept just fine.The strong smell of chlorine throughout the hotel was a bit of a turn off.We had breakfast at the jungle buffet resturant on the main floor.The food was not that great it too was very basic and the food quality seemed to be fairly low.All in all it okay for a one night stay i guess.but if we were ever passing through again I think I would rather stay else where
it may be okay for people who have kids who want to use the pool/hot tub and water slides.Just not for us.

Room Tip: Get and updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raychell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medicinehatlodge, Front Office Manager at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay at Medicine Hat Lodge. I apologize that you left feeling that your stay was unsatisfactory. I would like to get more information in regards to what you found basic about the breakfast served on the buffet at the Jungle Cafe. We have a variety of items including bacon, sausage, eggs, french toast, waffles and variuos cereals and pastries and also fresh fruit available. I appreciate the feedback and I that I hear from you soon.
Regards,
Jennifer LaDouceur
Front Desk Manager
jladoucuer@medhatlodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairmore, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Once again our stay was great... We had a slight mix up upon checking in by a lady named Helena Eremenko was quick to correct the issue. The staff on front deck where very helpful, courtious and friendly.
Our breakfast both morning was great and I would highly recommend upgrading to the hot breakfast as it is well worth the minimal cost. The server in our section was very polite and made sure that everything was okay.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend a room facing the pool and on the end. You are close to all that the Lodge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medicinehatlodge, Front Office Manager at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review about our hotel.
I am very happy that you had such prompt service from our Environmental Guest Service Manager, and that she quickly fixed the problem. I will pass along all the fantastic comments about the breakfast and the service you received to the Hotel Chef and Restaurant Manager.
We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.
Sincerely,
Jennifer LaDouceur
Front Desk Manager
403.529.2222 ext 199
jladouceur@medhatlodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliff, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We always love going to the Lodge for a night away. I find the prices to be great for what you are getting. We stayed in the Deluxe Jacuzzi Room and it was just awesome. A big thanks to the help of Helena finding us a room last minute for our getaway... and ironically it was the exact same room we had on our wedding night. The girls at the front desk were very friendly when we checked in. I ordered room service in the morning and found the prices to be completely reasonable and our meal was at our door within 15 minutes. Which was pretty good for a Sunday morning, I thought. Our room was clean, and the bed was amazingly comfortable. We will stay again and again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medicinehatlodge, Front Office Manager at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent review about the Medicine Hat Lodge. We appreciate the time you took to review our hotel. I am glad to hear you were very satisfied with your recent stays. I will pass along your compliments to the room service/restaurant about the great service and food you received. I’m glad your enjoyed the same room that you had on your wedding night, such a special memory. Again thank you for choosing the Medicine Hat Lodge, and we look forward to you staying with us again.
Sincerely,
Jennifer LaDouceur
Front Desk Manager
403.529.2222 ext 199
jladouceur@medhatlodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medicine Hat hotels
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Medicine Hat
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Medicine Hat
Days Inn Medicine Hat
#3 of 19 in Medicine Hat
871 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat
3.4 mi away
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat
#8 of 19 in Medicine Hat
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa

Property: Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa
Address: 1051 Ross Glen Dr SE, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1B 3T8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Medicine Hat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Medicine Hat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa is southern Alberta's only four star resort and largest entertainment complex. We are proud to offer a variety of amenities including guest rooms and luxury suites, banquet & meeting facilities, a buffet restaurant, lounges, fine dining, giant indoor water slide park, exercise facility, one of Canada's top spas, a full service casino and so much more! We have something for everyone, all under one roof! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino And Spa
Medicine Hat Lodge Hotel Medicine Hat
Medicine Hat Hotel
Medicine Hat Resort
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing