We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hotel pools in Canada. Disney style.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One of the best hotel pools in Canada. Disney style.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We chose this hotel for three reasons.
1. Highly rated on TripAdvisor
2. Waterslide
3. Included breakfast

For years we have driven by this hotel thinking nothing of it. This is Medicine Hat. It's just an expensive motor lodge. Boy were we wrong.

As soon as we stepped into the hotel we say children frolicking everywhere. They were setting up a free movie with free popcorn in the huge garden area of the lobby. We glanced at the rumored waterslide and were shocked. There were two waterslides with the higher of the two being over 4 stories high! Rooms had balconies overlooking what I'm going to rename "the waterpark"

Checking into the hotel was extremely quick (which was good as the waterslide was closing in a half hour). The room was clean (and a little cool with the AC running). We immediately change and rushed to the slides. The slides were amazing. There were as fast and wild as you can make a standard waterslide without actually causing bodily harm. The pools were really warm (probably 85 degrees). The pools were only cruise ship sized, and with the popularity of the pools it was a bit of a zoo. We were a bit worried about the noise, but when the pool closed, it closed hard. Everyone was out and it was silent in our room.

The rooms were clean, the beds were perfect. The bathroom was the right size. The pool kinda eclipsed the room so I don't have a bunch of analysis.

With our booking we go a credit for the continental breakfast. As we went downstairs we saw that the breakfast was our, right where the movie was playing the night before, but a velvet rope kept us from just walking up. We soon found a extensive line to get a table. If I have one complaint, it was the length of the line. Anyways, we got to our table and were informed that we were covered for the continental breakfast, but we could upgrade to the hot breakfast to $3.14 more. We had been eating like pigs for a week, so we stuck with the continental breakfast. The breakfast itself was nothing stupendous, but there was fruits and sticky rolls, so it was certainly more than minimum.

If you have kids, I 100% suggest this hotel. If you are not interested in the pool, get an outside room. If you hate kids, you may want to go elsewhere; the place is like a kids playground.

Room Tip: Rooms that have a pool balcony will be as loud as a theme park during the day, but they closing time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medicinehatlodge, Guest Services Coordinator at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your recent review about the Medicine Hat Lodge. What a pleasure it is to be compared to Disney! I have passed on your wonderful comments to each of our department’s managers so that they may present it to their staff members.

Please contact me or our front desk manager Shawn directly the next time you decide to visit. We would definitely like to thank you for your kind words.

Sincerely;
Rae-Ann Dilman
Guest Services Coordinator
Medicine Hat Lodge
1800-661-8095
rdillman@medhatlodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    160
    104
    56
    36
See reviews for
224
90
28
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We spent a Thursday night and a Sunday night here on our way to and from Sask. We will definately stay here again. All the staff is VERY friendly - front desk,lounge casino and housekeeping. The waterslides and pool looked fun although we didn't use them. The food in the lounge is excellent and well priced.The rooms are nicely appointed with a fridge. The only small complaint I would have is the lighting is rather poor in the bathroom and the dressing area. Overall a great place and priced within reason of comparable venues.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dwluvsvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn-MHL, Guest Relations Manager at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your recent review about the Medicine Hat Lodge. We apprecite the time you took to review our hotel. I am glad to hear you were very satisfied with your recent stays. I will be sure all departments are aware of the great service that they provided to you.

Thank you also for your comment on the lighting. I will bring that concern up to our Maintenance Manager to see if there is anything that can be done about that.

Again thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Rae-Ann Dillman
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Very comfortable beds, room was very clean. Nice flat screen tvs. Excellent slides for the kids. The restaurant had an very good buffet. Would recommend this hotel. Front desk staff was friendly and accommodating.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Number T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn-MHL, Guest Relations Manager at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Medicine Hat Lodge. I am pleased to hear your recent stay with us was an excellent experience. We strive to satisfy our guests and look forward to having you back again soon.

Rae-Ann Dillman
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I always stay at the Medicine Hat Lodge because of the nice upgraded rooms and of course the water park is great. When we finally got into our room it was wonderful. Running a hotel myself I know how hard it is to get all of the rooms cleaned by a certian time that is the reason we didnt mind. Although not being able to check into a room untill after 5:00pm with a two year old and two teenagers wasnt much fun I understand and thank goodness for the water park, hair salon and resteraunt. The service is great and the rooms are extremely clean. Again we enjoyed our stay and will never stay anywhere else but the lodge.

Room Tip: If you have kids ask for poolside its the best for little ones and you can sit on your balcony right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn-MHL, Guest Relations Manager at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your recent review about Medicine Hat Lodge. We appreciate you taking the time to review our facilities and appreciate the positive feedback. I was sorry to hear that you were not able to chack into your room until after 5pm- we do our best to honour the 4pm check-in time but, as I know you are aware having worked in a hotel, it can sometimes be difficult to do. Please feel free to contact me directly the next time you decide to book. We look forward to having you stay again soon!

Thank you

Rae-Ann Dillman
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Our married children love to all gather here from across Alberta. There are things to see in the Hat, but the Grandkids love the hotels waterpark!
I'm glad they invite us to enjoy it too!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn-MHL, Guest Relations Manager at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your recent post about Medicine Hat Lodge. We sincerely apprecite the time you took to review our hotel. I am glad you and your family enjoy coming here so much. We look forward to having you again in the future.

Rae-Ann Dillman
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is a good place to stay as the Children can indulge in the waterslide and pool and the adults if so inclined can try their luck in the Casino. Staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are tastefully done. It is a tad expensive, but you get what you pay for

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DR_HCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn-MHL, Guest Relations Manager at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to inform other prosepective guests of our services here at the Medicine Hat Lodge. We certainly appreciate the time you took to write this response and advise others of your recent stay with us. We look forward to having you here int he future. Please feel free to contact myself or the front desk manager directly the next time you decide to book.

Sincerely;

Rae-Ann Dillman
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

As of recent, I've spent many nights in the Medicine Hat Lodge as I'm in the process of reloacting to the city and started a job a few months before moving. I've never been really blown away, usually confortable but very outdated, seldom clean, poorly maintained and severely OVERPRICED! As I write this, I'm sitting in a "king suite" ($189/night) with an air conditioner that has a broken fan and you can also see daylight all around it. The "so called" premium cable consists of channels 3 through 22, half of what the channel listing advertises. Upon arriving a day earlier, the cleaning staff left an absolutely gross cleaning cloth hanging on the shower door and I found a pair or dirty womens underwear hanging off the back of the coach, after stretching my arm back while sitting there and basically grabbing them....Surprise! This was obviously an oversight on behalf of the cleaning staff, but it was just plain disgusting and leaves you questioning/wondering about everything else including the bed you're sleeping in! This is just my latest experience, one of many I could talk about. Why do I keep coming back? It's the only hotel in Medicine Hat that consistantly has rooms available. I stay elsewhere when I can but usually end up here because of availability.

Room Tip: Although overpriced, old and often poorly maintained, the king suites seem to be the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flatlander4400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn-MHL, Guest Relations Manager at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the Medicine Hat Lodge. We do appreciate any time our guests take out of their busy schedules to post a comment about our hotel.

I am sorry to hear that your recent stay with us was not up to our usual standards. We have taken your comments very seriously and have begun an investigation into this matter to avoid any similar situations in the future. I would like to extend an invitation to you to please contact Helena Eremenko our EGS Manager to discuss the inconveniences of your stay so that she may be able to follow up and correct the issues.

Please accept our most sincere apologies and I can assure you that your stay was not a reflection of the quality of service upon which we have built our reputation. Again, thank you for your time and we look forward to hearing from you.

Rae-Ann Dilman
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medicine Hat hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat
Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat
#15 of 19 in Medicine Hat
3.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Medicine Hat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Medicine Hat
Days Inn Medicine Hat
#2 of 19 in Medicine Hat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat
3.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa

Property: Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa
Address: 1051 Ross Glen Dr SE, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1B 3T8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Medicine Hat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Medicine Hat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa is southern Alberta's only four star resort and largest entertainment complex. We are proud to offer a variety of amenities including guest rooms and luxury suites, banquet & meeting facilities, a buffet restaurant, lounges, fine dining, giant indoor water slide park, exercise facility, one of Canada's top spas, a full service casino and so much more! We have something for everyone, all under one roof! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino And Spa
Medicine Hat Lodge Hotel Medicine Hat
Medicine Hat Hotel
Medicine Hat Resort
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing