We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nostalgic Little Motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Imperial Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Imperial Motor Inn
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Alberta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nostalgic Little Motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

This hotel was likely built in the 60's or 70's and has probably not been renovated since then, but perhaps that is why I liked it. It is quaint, clean and reminds me of the road trips I used to take with my family when I was a kid.

The staff was friendly, the room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The pool looked nice, though I didn't have time to swim. Breakfast is provided with the room and includes eggs, bagels, cereal and a variety of other options.

For the price, I would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the entry doors, as they bang shut whenever people enter that section of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel8tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Imperial Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear Travel8tr

Thank you for leaving honest feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I truly appreciate the great comments about our property. Please come back and visit us again soon! Thank you once again for staying with us.If you have any suggestions do not hesitate to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    64
    33
    12
    24
See reviews for
51
45
21
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

The hotel is located right off of hwy #1. We paid $79 for the night so it was a good deal just for a night spot over. Close to everything in what seems to be a good part of town. Continental breakfast was included. Just the usual toast and cereal fruit and juices. Pool and hot tub area is nice.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperWhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Office-Carolyn, Front desk manager at Imperial Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for choosing our motel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

This was one of our overnight stays and booked this one mainly due to it's price. It was good enough. It was our first stay at a "motel". We had ground level parking at our room and our room also had a door to the indoor pool on the other side. Although the hotel is old and not freshly decorated it servred it's purpose (sleep 6 with a pool and hot tub) very well. The complimentary breakfast was also good enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room based on what your parking and pool accessibility is. It can vary greatly here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Alberta
Level Contributor
185 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

Imperial was a decent place. I just needed a place to crash for the night.

Large room with a fridge and microwave, so that was handy.

Great location for me, but in the middle of the city for the most part.

Pool looked good along with hot tubs. Wasen't able to go into them though due to time. Friend said the amount of chlorine in the hot tub was too much though.

Recommend this place for anyone that just needs a place to sleep or that have kids due to the pool.

Good cont. breakfast though.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElementTent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2008

I stayed at the hotel for work for 2 weeks but I live in the US. I'm also a newlywed. I had gotten a phone line to my room to call my wife with a deposite of 20.00 and after that 20 was up they was supposed to shut it off. well the first time they did the second time they didn't, and it ran up to almost 200.00. They assured me that when I put the deposit down that it wouldn't be aloud to go over that amount. Well it did, and when I asked them about it they told me that they forgot to turn it off. But I still had to pay. Also while I was staying there as I came back to my room one day someones things wheer in my room, come to find out they had double booked my room. But that isn't all when my wife would call me she would ask for the room, they would tell her at times that I wasn't in my room or that I had just left, which I had just called her from a buddies cell phone for her to call me and I was in my room. What kind of business are they running? They only seen $$ when I stayed there.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The Service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank white_roses08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Medicine Hat hotels

North Dakota
Level Contributor
136 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2008

With the US dollar taking the plunge, it's hard to find acceptable lodging in Canada at an affordable rate. Our stay at the Imperial was just over $100. A little high for what we got, but better then most other places in Medicine Hat.

It's an older style motel with rooms opening directly to the outside. The room and bathroom were clean, but the carpet and furniture were some what worn. The room had recently been repainted, but the new paint was already chipping off of the door frame.

There are several eating places within walking distance. The free breakfast was adequate.

The pool was very nice and we really liked the the 18 and over hot tub area.

We had a good nights sleep and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank muskrat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2007

I stayed here for 3 nights
it was awesome the pool was great
although the continential breakfast was not that desirable staff was courteous room was cleaned and alway topped up will stay again

  • Liked — the whirlpool fpr adults only was awesome
  • Disliked — the continential breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intelpanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medicine Hat hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat
2.4 mi away
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat
#8 of 19 in Medicine Hat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Medicine Hat Inn & VLT Lounge
Medicine Hat Inn & VLT Lounge
#10 of 19 in Medicine Hat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat
Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat
#15 of 19 in Medicine Hat
3.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Motor Inn

Property: Imperial Motor Inn
Address: 3282 13 Ave SE, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1B 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Medicine Hat
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Medicine Hat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Imperial Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Owners and management. Imperial Inn is completing major renovations to proved our guest with clean modern facilities. New carpet, bedding, drapes, air conditioning, 35 renovated kitchenettes complete with laminated flooring and full size fridge and stove. We offer hot items in our Breakfast Bar. Fresh coffee served 24 hours. All rooms are equipped with coffee pots, microwaves, fridges, high speed internet and hair blowers. Beefeater Steak House on property.We are walking distance to Tim Horton's, London Drugs, Co-op Market Place, Liquor store, Pizza Hut, Ralph's Texas Bar and Steakhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Medicine Hat
Imperial Motor Inn Medicine Hat, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing