We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a trip to the hat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Sundre
1 review
“a trip to the hat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

went to the hat for my birthday upon arrival to the hotel, which was easy to find I might add the front desk staff was very kind and helpful we were directed to our room in a pleasant manner the room on the back wing of the hotel was very clean and quiet, the perfect place for a tired traveler the breakfast was hot and as fresh as possible ... dining was kept very clean and well stalked

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kevin_Barbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    134
    89
    47
    27
See reviews for
111
118
22
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Martensville, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

The previous night I stayed in the Best Western Plus in Swift current. I recommend the Hotel management of this Medicine Hat hotel visit the swift current location and do a comparison.

Not saying this hotel is bad but I paid 142.99 for the 1 Queen Bed, Nsmk, Refrig,Hi
Speed, Cofmkr, Hair, Iron - in Swift current and was given an upgrade to the king suite.

At this Hotel in Medicine Hat I booked the 1 King Bed,No Smoking, Business Plus, Hi Speed
Net - for 156.99 and found the room was far inferior in comparison. Even the quality of the hand and face soap was far inferior.

However the staff I found were very professional and there service was great. There was no shampoo or conditioner in my room when I went to shower, so I brought this up when I checked out and it was an obvious oversight on the part of the cleaning staff which I accepted. The Front Desk attendant was very apologetic and offered to discount the room or provide extra rewards points.

Great staff, but I don't feel the value is there compared to other Best western Plus hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wannaberight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
210 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised to find we would be staying in one of the suites that had two levels and two bathrooms. This meant I could head to the loft to rest, watch TV while my daughters were downstairs with their own TV.
Very comfortable bed, clean bedding and towels. My only complaint is that the room was rather dated with draperies that did not close properly and were falling apart.
Breakfast is the standard fare found at Best Western - nothing bad but nothing outstanding. It is the convenience that makes everything work.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sigehaizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
210 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Despite signs of age and being on the highway I found my stay was a nice break. We had a two queen loft suite which meant I could hide out in the loft while my adult daughters hung out on the main floor. Having two full bathrooms was a bonus!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank sigehaizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Felt the hotel was overpriced for being a "plus." We did not feel it had the quality of a plus hotel. Could not regulate the temperature in the room. Very hot and stuffy. Very small rooms. The check-in staff was very good and friendly. We had a choice of cheaper hotels and wish we would have done that as this hotel was not worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Medicine Hat hotels

Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Hotel has everything needed for a comfortable stay. Rooms are very nice and the fitness center was well equipped. The layout is rambling, as if two hotels have been linked, but easy to find everything and parking all around. There are two pools and two whirlpools in separate parts of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mimi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

The smell from the pool is very overpowering and permeates several wings including the rooms. this hotel has a very strange layout and my a/c was not functional... hotel is a little tired and needs updating

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medicine Hat hotels
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Medicine Hat
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Days Inn Medicine Hat
Days Inn Medicine Hat
#2 of 19 in Medicine Hat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat
0.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat
#8 of 19 in Medicine Hat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country
Address: 722 Redcliff Drive SW, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1A 5E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Medicine Hat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
122 rooms including 25 Jacuzzi Suites. Free deluxe continental breakfast, two indoor pools and whirlpools, fitness room, 24hr business centre, free airport shuttle, guest laundry, free parking, in room movie & Nintendo system, fridges in all rooms, microwaves in most, in room coffee, free morning newspaper and free local calls. Close to Shopping, Dinning, Museum, Bowling, Parks, Golfing, Hospital, CFB Suffield and Cypress Hills Provincial Park. Visit us at the intersection of TransCanada Highway & 7th St SW. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sun Country Hotel Medicine Hat
Best Western Medicine Hat
Medicine Hat Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country Medicine Hat, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing