We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't like this place at all”
Review of Saigonese Restaurant - CLOSED

Saigonese Restaurant
Restaurant details
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Didn't like this place at all”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We went here a little while ago and I wasn't impressed. It had a funky smell to it and the restaurant (bathrooms as well) was not clean. The service was mediocre at best and the food was not great. I may have been spoiled having some pretty amazing Vietnamese food in Calgary for years, but this just doesn't cut it. The seafood dishes were really fishy and the beef had a not so beef taste. I'm not sure that I would attempt a return visit to this place...

Helpful?
Thank Canadianeh93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    9
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Asian Food”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

It's hard to find good Asian food in Lethbridge, but the Saigonese restaurant does quite well. I don't like the Americanised versions of most Asian food places, but this is more authentic than your typical Chinese joint.

If you haven't had Saigonese before, the food is a bit of a cross between Chinese and Thai. It is spicier than most Chinese dishes. I much prefer it to the usual Chinese stuff, though I do like real, authentic Chinese food.

The restaurant ambience is okay, nothing special. The service is decent, but nothing to write home about. Go for the food and take someone to talk to and you won't even notice the average ambience.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not the Cleanest Restaurant I've Been to”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Although the food was very tasty here, the cleanliness was very poor. My booth seat had duct tape patching the cuts in the plastic leather, the floor isn’t mopped very often and the all around appearance of the place was obviously not a priority of the owners. I have a HUGE issue with flies and once I was served the food, I had to continuously swat them away…they kept landing on my legs, on the table corners, etc. If there is this many flies in the serving area I can’t imagine how many are in the kitchen landing on the food. Not a place I’d return to.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAS44881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taber
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best asian based food”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Always a pleasure, always good soup and food in general...best service and they don't hover over loud people expecting service...they treat all red necks the same

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DarcyTaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“YUM”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My favorite vietnamese food place in lethbridge. Saigonese has the best spring rolls and very nice staff!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Britta_D_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigonese Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing