We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Chinese in Town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regent Restaurant - CLOSED

Regent Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating
The Pas, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“The Best Chinese in Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Growing up in Lethbridge and having an uncle for a delivery driver, you learn pretty quick what Chinese restaurant's are safe to eat at. I also worked at the Regent years ago, and still can't get enough of their delicious food! They even serve dim sum! I would recommend their Hot & Sour Soup (I have never found any one better) or pretty much anything else! My favourite, which I just ordered again, is the dry ribs with sweet & sour sauce. If you don't mind waiting, I highly recommend the Black Bean Spare Ribs!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DaisyThePas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    9
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge
2 reviews
“Soggy old red gross take out!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was eager to try The Regent as I seen some good reviews, but when I placed my order I asked about the chicken chow mein and mentioned that I had ordered it elsewhere before and it had more lettuce than noodles and was curious to know what theirs was like...I was told "Oh no, not here" so I placed my order for pick up, got home opened up our order was very disgusted with the "more lettuce than noodle ratio" which was stated not there....yuk, and then the blood red sweet and sour boneless pork and ginger beef were the same...I think, I couldn't tell they we're both so soggy and I'm sure left over from the buffet. For the cost of the horrible dinner, i will never go back nor recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We arrived at 8pm. and ordered 3 dishes, all of which tasted as though they were on the afternoon buffet. The calamari was drenched in grease. We cannot believe how expensive the evening was.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
210 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

My father and I stopped in for lunch and had the buffet. It was okay....there was a reasonable variety of items, and they were fairly fresh, but too much sweet and sour sauce on some of the items ruined the flavor. It took a long time for us to be seated, and it was a while before anyone came to take our drink orders.....but the server was pleasant. Nothing really good or bad to say about the Regent....it was about what I expected for a North-Americanized chinese buffet.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank donnyawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
“Don't go there!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our family traveled to Lethbridge last long weekend (May 19). We had lunch in this restaurant. We ordered a pot of tea, 2 dim sum, and 2 dishes. The tea spent half an hour to come to our table, and 2 cups for the tea and one of our plate had very obvious stains. The foods had odd tastes - we had never eaten these dishes with such tastes. The waitress didn't seem to have time for us. We only ate 1/3 of food and decided to leave. Finally, the price was surprisingly high!
Conclusion: bad service, bad food, and bad sanitary.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Regent Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing