We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”
Review of Regent Restaurant - CLOSED

Regent Restaurant
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Calgary
Level Contributor
212 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My father and I stopped in for lunch and had the buffet. It was okay....there was a reasonable variety of items, and they were fairly fresh, but too much sweet and sour sauce on some of the items ruined the flavor. It took a long time for us to be seated, and it was a while before anyone came to take our drink orders.....but the server was pleasant. Nothing really good or bad to say about the Regent....it was about what I expected for a North-Americanized chinese buffet.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donnyawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    9
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
“Don't go there!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our family traveled to Lethbridge last long weekend (May 19). We had lunch in this restaurant. We ordered a pot of tea, 2 dim sum, and 2 dishes. The tea spent half an hour to come to our table, and 2 cups for the tea and one of our plate had very obvious stains. The foods had odd tastes - we had never eaten these dishes with such tastes. The waitress didn't seem to have time for us. We only ate 1/3 of food and decided to leave. Finally, the price was surprisingly high!
Conclusion: bad service, bad food, and bad sanitary.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Alberta
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Food is good, prices not so much”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The food at the Regent is good. There are dishes that are great, if you know what to order. There is a buffet at lunch. I find the prices to be a bit higher, but not outlandish in comparison with other Chinese food restaurants. I go to this restaurant occasionally.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bargain-hunter5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“THE BEST WOR WON TON SOUP.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I have eaten here twice and they serve the BEST Wor Won Ton soup we'ev ever had. The restaurant is very niceley decorated and the service is very good. We've never had their buffet, but there is a wide variety of dishes to choose from. I would recommend this restaurant to anybody.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnepeopleOneblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food Lunch Buffet in Lethbridge”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The buffet at the Regent is one of my favorite eating places for a weekday lunch. It is quick, has a large selection, is quite tasty and the cost is quite reasonable. They are always topping up the buffet with freshly cooked food, even close to closing time. On the negative side, the a-la-carte items, at any time of the day, take a long time to prepare, and are on the smaller portion side considering the $$$$ that they charge for them. It is also disappointing that you usually have to wait for the cashier when it comes time to pay your bill. Do yourself a favor and stick with the lunch buffet.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan_Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Regent Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing