We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of O-Sho Japanese Restaurant

O-Sho Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 252 Restaurants in Lethbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

This restaurant is a favourite of born and bred Lethbridgians, but if you’ve eaten sushi in other cities, you’ll be disappointed. The consistency of the rice is never right. I try to avoid eating rolls and individual pieces here and instead opt for tempura udon or other dishes. To be fair, it is an institution with a fan base, but I think they’re fans because they don’t know any better.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank melodytimeranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    40
    22
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, AB
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Gotta love O Sho”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We have always loved O Sho. They have moved several times over the years but food has stayed the same, which is a very good thing. We have tried Japanese food in other cities and nothing compares. Love it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrimLethbridge_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coaldale, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ho Hum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Went for lunch with a friend and ordered the special for the day. The food was good but not exceptional. The decor was sort of dated plastic and the place really needs a face lift. The chair I sat on nearly broke my back because they're low for the typical North American male and although they are upholstered, there is no padding at all. It's interesting to watch the chefs working so hard behind the counter in the back of the place. They have a good menu with lots of great selections. The service is ok but they seem so busy that any pretense of it being a relaxed atmosphere isn't there. Of course we will go back but not for a quiet evening. Only for a quick meal of some fairly good food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tomphotoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Pas, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Still the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I was introduced to O-Sho's over 12 years ago, mainly to try sushi for the first time. My friends ended up order a wide selection of dishes from the restaurant, and I was blown away at the amazing quality of taste and presentation. Today, the sushi is still amazing!! I would also recommend the teriyaki beef dish, gyoza (pork dumplings), and shrimp/vegetable tempura. You will not be disappointed! For extra fun dinning in, ask for a traditional table in the back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DaisyThePas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“The one place I know I will always go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

The service has always been fantastic! I am a simple person and only order the dinner for one with chicken catsu and beef teriyaki. It is always awesome! I have never had a problem with
ordering or being served, I visit the place at least once a month for the past couple years. The first time I tried it in 2002 I fell in love with the traditional seating and I have never enjoyed food that isn't "American" so much before.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaaylachristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O-Sho Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to O-Sho Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing