We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views”
Review of Ric's Grill - CLOSED

Ric's Grill
Price range: $12 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Dining at Ric's Grill in Lethbridge is truly an extravagant experience. Located 150 feet in the air in a custom designed water tower, Ric's Grill guarantees a dining experience that is so unique, it is the only one of its kind in all of North America. Our restaurant combines the amazing elements of a 300 degree mountain view with the beautiful landscape of Lethbridge into a comfortable, yet stylish atmosphere - providing guests with a dining experience like no other.Featuring fresh seafood, delicious steaks, mouth-watering pastas and one of the best selections of premium and international wines and spirits in Lethbridge - with a generous helping of exceptional service - Ric's Grill delivers the exceptional value you expect. Conveniently located right off Highway 3, we are open for dinner 7 days a week and families are always welcome. Come savour the Ric's Grill experience today.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Enjoyed our dinner at Ric's, lovely views over the town area.
The steaks that we had were cooked well and to what each ordered.
Chocolate cake slightly dry, but loved the cheesecake (always a favourite for me).
The party started in the downstairs area, the music was bit disruptive, but this said, we were also some of the last restaurant patrons to leave...
Will take our visitors there.

Thank LieslHeyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge C, Public Relations Manager at Ric's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and experience. We also never tire of the changing view.

Our apologies for the chocolate cake not meeting your expectations - please always advise your server and we will replace any item.

We do try to have a quieter dining experience on the dining room level and as you might expect, the lounge is more of a party atmosphere. We also encourage you to advise your server if the music from the lounge is intrusive. There are doors that can be closed to control sund from traveling - although you will hear the different sound levels while traveling in the elevator.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 126 of 250 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

Looks like a Space Craft, but it's actually a repurposed Water Tower with windows all the way around and the best food in Lethbridge.
No worries, there's an elevator to get you to the top.
I had a BLTC, served on a toasted Baguette, all fresh and delicious. Also had the Tomato Veggie soup, just like home made. So good. For dessert, the Crème Brule was perfect. Top crust just like it should be.
I'd recommend this place any time. Service was good as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Debimlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge C, Public Relations Manager at Ric's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments. Our staff is ecstatic that you enjoyed the uniqueness of the water tower and that the food prepared with care was enjoyed.

We would love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I came to Ric's Grill tonight with a friend of mine for dessert. We arrived at 8:20, and were turned away because they were closing at 9. I have heard nothing but terrible things about the customer service at Ric's for ages now, and this just confirms it. Maybe a struggling restaurant should be a bit more grateful to their customers instead of refusing service. I will never recommend this restaurant and will never return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Sadie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge C, Public Relations Manager at Ric's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

We thank you for your review.

Generally when people come in when we know there is not time for them to enjoy their meal or dessert, we do advise them about the time constraints ahead of time so they can make the best decision for their individual situation. We feel this is a better option than announcing we are closing in 15 minutes just after guests have sat down.

We believe this is serving our guests in a very fair and excellent manner. We apologize if there was a misunderstanding in this regard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Ate dinner there to enjoy the novelty of eating in an old water tower. We had a view of the city. Our waiter was very attentive but the food was pricey for the portion size. Ordered coconut shrimp appetizer, they were over cooked and tough, also a beet salad that was good but small. Husband had clam chowder that was good and a dinner size goat cheese salad with fruit and shrimp. Each had a beer and it was $80. Not exactly a steak dinner. Had a weird smell in there, a bit musty

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lanzie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge C, Public Relations Manager at Ric's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

We thank you for your review and your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your selections. The coconut shrimp is always excellent and we do encourage you to bring any concerns to the attention of your server or floor manager at any time to be immediately rectified.

Clam chowder and goat cheese salad are excellent choices! We assure you the steak choices are varied and excellent as well!

We are not sure what the odour was and we do apologize. Our staff spend many hours working in the environment and would be sensitive to an unusual odour. There is not a musty smell (even though it was a water tower!) in the building - the staff wold know about this - and may have been a cooking odour that was in the dining room at the time. If you were to encounter this again, we encourage you to bring it to the attention of floor manager.

Thank you again for your visit and your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I made a reservation at Ric's Grill as the restaurant is in a renovated water holding tank.....yes, it is quite different looking from the outside and lovely inside. The restaurant is all windows overlooking Lethbridge and the mountains way off in the distance. It was a nice evening and we were able to walk to the restaurant as we were staying in a hotel not far away. We ordered a bottle of red wine to start and I had the Escargot stuffed mushroom caps and my husband had the spinach salad, both were fine....nothing really to rave about, but enjoyable. We both ordered the Halibut. Mine was the special of the evening...Halibut topped with a tomato relish with foie butter and this dish I can rave about. The flavours were wonderful and the portion was more than I could finish. The dish was served with freshly cooked broccolini and carrots, perfectly prepared and very tasty. I chose Basmati rice for my dish. My husband's Halibut was coated with a horseradish and crumb mixture, he had the same veggies but had ordered the roasted potatoes and he says they were very good. Both these meals were $30. each and I believe the wine was $35/bottle. I would say this is a great restaurant for a special occasion, great atmosphere, wonderful view and food. The service was up to par...I do not like when a waiter/waitress come over and top up our wine glasses with our bottle of wine....I prefer to drink at our own pace....this waiter left it up to us. He was attentive but not annoying and allowed us to sit and enjoy our appetizer before placing our meal order. If we are in Lethbridge again next year...we definitely would visit Ric's Grill. P.S. the only reason I did not give this restaurant a top rating is that on arrival (with a reservation made early that morning), the bartender at the bar said there was a problem and they did not have room for us upstairs but he would go and take care of it!! We did get in and our table was perfect AND the restaurant was not over crowded.....hmmmm, wonder why the initial scare??? Total Bill with tip $138.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ItalianRoadRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge C, Public Relations Manager at Ric's Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for your review and your coments about Ric's Grill. We are so pleased you enjoyed your meal and especially the halibut. Ric's Grill is proud to serve Ocean Wise sustainable seafood. Not only is it good for the sustainability of the environment but it is an excellent product!

Your comment in regard to the bartender statement has been passed on to the service manager. It is unfortunate at times when internal challenges are reflected to guests and we agree this should not happen.

Thank you again for your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ric's Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing