We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible value, bad food worse service”
Review of Ric's Grill - CLOSED

Ric's Grill
Price range: $13 - $34
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Dining at Ric's Grill in Lethbridge is truly an extravagant experience. Located 150 feet in the air in a custom designed water tower, Ric's Grill guarantees a dining experience that is so unique, it is the only one of its kind in all of North America. Our restaurant combines the amazing elements of a 300 degree mountain view with the beautiful landscape of Lethbridge into a comfortable, yet stylish atmosphere - providing guests with a dining experience like no other.Featuring fresh seafood, delicious steaks, mouth-watering pastas and one of the best selections of premium and international wines and spirits in Lethbridge - with a generous helping of exceptional service - Ric's Grill delivers the exceptional value you expect. Conveniently located right off Highway 3, we are open for dinner 7 days a week and families are always welcome. Come savour the Ric's Grill experience today.
Lethbridge
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Horrible value, bad food worse service”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Save your money....eat somewhere else. Apparently if your restaraunt has a good view you can charge outrageous prices for bad food and worse service. was given a gift card to go there, and wondered why the person who gave it to me wanted to unload it...now I know why.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge C, Public Relations Manager at Ric's Grill, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are so sorry you did not enjoy your experience at Ric's Grill in Lethbridge.

As we have no detail, we cannot respond to any food concerns. Our food is made fresh daily with the freshest ingredients and guaranteed. Any concerns with food are taken seriously and tracked in our system so our quality controllers are aware of any problems and can be immediately rectified.

Our servers are well trained and professional and any service issues are also tracked and immediately rectified. There is a Service Manager on duty at all times as well as the General Manager at most times. You are invited and encouraged to speak to them at any time.

Ric's Grill does not have actual gift cards so you could not have received one for our restaurant as they do not exist.

We receive many accolades about our excellent food & service and we invite you to read our daily customer comment cards at any time. We can also provide letters of thanks and email testimonials we receive about the many excellent guest experiences we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    63
    36
    34
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible value: mediocre food, terrible service”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

If you'd like to spend a full 2 hours to eat a meal... and spend over $50 a person... and get the worst service ever come on over to Ric's!
The drinks are outrageous and the food is terrible. The only reason this place is worth going to is because it's in an old water tower. The management should be ashamed... and whoever is hiring the staff should be fired.
All I can say is YUCK.
Also creme brulee was warm in some spots and not in others...
Go to the Keg if you want a quality meal at this price...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RACHAEL80009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge C, Public Relations Manager at Ric's Grill, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We are so disappointed you have unknown issues with Ric's Grill. We are very aware of all of our guest concerns and have never been made aware of yours. We will say that yes, a good meal can take 2 - 3 hours to savour and enjoy but generally we target 90 minutes. Fast food restaurants target 5 minutes or less so there is a difference. We will comment that our service and our servers are spectacular and we can identify any single problem we have had. All problems are trackable and we would love to track your issues and see what actually occurred.

Ric's Grill serves premium wines and spirits and offers an award winning wine list. There is a price difference between premium alcohol and discount bar alcohol. Our food is excellent. Our food is made fresh daily from scratch which makes it the absolute best food but does leave us open to human error at times and we are fully prepared to ensure our guests are completely looked after if this ever were to occur.

Our management and staff are proud to work at Ric's Grill and take a personal and professional interest in our guests, our work, our team and our presentation. We not sure why the hiring manager has been singled out as the serving staff are hired by the General Manager and he is fully accountable and prepared to discuss server concerns at any time.

Creme Brulee is made fresh in our kitchen multiple times a day. The creme part is cool yes and the brulee is a heated, melted topping so yes, as a freshly made creme brulee the item can rightly have different temperatures.

We love our friends at the Keg and many of us have worked at the Keg with fond memories. The restaurants have many of the same suppliers and many similarities, but also have differences. As lovers of fine food and great steak, we celebrate both similarities and differences.

We do encourage you to discuss your specific issues with our General Manager and/or with our owner. Like Mike Holmes, we are committed to making it right and would love to have this conversation with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Save your $$$$”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

After three horrible dining experiences at Rics in Lethbridge - would recommend you save your money. Have eaten at Ric's in Sherwood Park and there is no comparison. All three times we experienced poor unknowlegable servers but the food was worse. We even sent the chocolate cake back. For the prices you expect and should receive better.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Girly154919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge C, Public Relations Manager at Ric's Grill, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We are sad to have disappointed you at our Lethbridge location. We would love to have the opportunity to look into your concerns as all of our transactions are completely trackable and it is helpful for us to discover where we may have issues, or system failures, where we have not been made aware.

Our servers are excellent and professionals and would absolutley know the occasions where there have been issues.

We have no record at any time of a chocolate cake being sent back and this is a fully trackable situation. As it is an event that never happens with chocolate cake, our Executive Chef would have been involved in a full investigation of the root case of such an occurrence.

We look forward to an open dialogue with you in regard to your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not worth $$”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Slow service, my steak neptune did not have sauce on it, creme brulee had no sugar (very gross), did not get champagne with lousy dessert. We were there from 7 to 10 pm for a meal....wayyy too long.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank albertagirl942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge C, Public Relations Manager at Ric's Grill, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We thank you for your frank review of Ric's Grill in Lethbridge. We have your situation tracked through our system and yes there were a number of unfortunate problems during your visit on New Year's Eve. Our management was sincere and aplogetic at the time.

Our creme brulee is made from scratch multiple times daily and at the time of your complaint the batch was sampled by the Executive Chef, absolutely deemed to have been without sugar, and discarded immediately.

To our knowledge, we were not made aware of any issue with the Steak Neptune or champagne.

There was also an entry error with your bill which took time for resolution by management so your time at the restaurant was extended further than normal. We apologize for the error and hope we sincerely recognized and addressed the issue at the time.

We have invited you and a guest to return as our guests as we are committed to making it right for all of our guests. We hope you will accept our offer and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place, very nice staff”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Went for business dinner and got a great dining experience (in the lounge)! Steak is second to none and the staff were great and very nice to deal with. I bought a gift card the next day before I left town (I don't live in Lethbridge) for a business partner that leaves in town so they can experience a night at Ric's like I had. Check this place out, hope you like it like I did!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brosi247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge C, Public Relations Manager at Ric's Grill, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your evening in the lounge. We are proud to serve Sterling Silver Alberta beef from High River. We trust your business associate will enjoy a Ric's Grill experience and we welcome you back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ric's Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing