We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Average first impression” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Lethbridge
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average first impression”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My kids and I stayed in Lethbridge for one night at the Econo Lodge. It was our first time staying there. I had called one month prior to reserve a room, and had one reserved with two beds, non smoking. We arrived around noon the day of our stay, and I thought i'd check in early, not necesarily to get into our room, but that we'd be returning later that night. The lady at the front desk said their computer was having issues, but it would be no problem checking in later. Well, we returned about 9 PM and was informed by the replacement staff that their computers were on the brink, and they double booked.After waiting to see what they would do, we were given the suite room, with a queen bed and roll out couch. My daughter slept on the couch, and wasnt impressed. The security chain on the door was ripped off, and there was a few stray hairs here and there, but the beds were very clean. For the price (they gve it to us for regular price) it was acceptable. The breakfast was good(muffins, bagels,etc.) if you didnt mind sitting on the lap of others in the cramped room. I would stay here again,if I needed a short one night stay. Oh, and the parking is perfect...for a very little car. The U-shaped lot is perfect for hit and runs.

Room Tip: The balcony walkway echoes throughout the upstairs rooms in stereo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis1979, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear jcsch,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize for the issues that you encountered during your last stay. We are under a new management team and would love to make up for the unprofessionalism you experienced on your last stay. Thank you again and we hope that if ever in the area you will give us another try. Thank you and have a wonderful day.

Kindest Regards,

Michael Davis
General Manager
Econolodge Lethbridge
1 403 328 5591
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    15
    8
    10
See reviews for
16
21
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
REGINA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I almost always review hotels before I go, but this time I didn't and I've learned my lesson. The front lobby is clean and inviting and front desk staff was friendly, that's where the pleasantries end. The room was run down, walls need to be repaired and washed or repainted, bathroom in serious need of repair, tub floor was permastained (we didn't shower), around the toilet needed to be scrubbed. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were clean, so at least we got a decent nights sleep. The location is good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melndean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

If I could give this Hotel a lower rating I would. The room was disgustingly dirty; it had an odor of stale air and body odor. The shower had dried on shampoo or bodywash on the shelf. If you walked around the room in bare feet you would leave footprints in the shower in the morning, that is how dirty the carpet was. These things my wife and I could work around but when we started finding bite marks on our bodies and then found FLEAS, yes fleas in the room that was the final straw. We checked out immediately. All I can say is that I am glad that we were not the one paying for the room, the company I work for was, and they have said that they will never book another room from this hotel or its affiliates ever again, same goes for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was one of the dirtiest rooms I've stayed in. As soon as you walked in the door the smell was bad. The carpet was dirty and cobwebs in the bathroom. The bed spread did not smell clean.
I would tell everyone not to stay there.Mold around the bathtub.

Room Tip: Do not stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelman322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
100 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Location:
The Econo Lodge and Suites in Lethbridge is located a little outside the city center in a typical motel/ shop/ fast food area. This motel offers both ordinary rooms and suites. It is recommended to arrive by car. The motel is easy to access from this mainroad. Even is the motel is located close to this road we were not disturbed by traffic noise.

Service:
The service was good and we were well greeted. We got good information about breakfast and admin stuff. The front desk ladies were very helpful and paid good attention to our requests.

Rooms:
The room was spacious and nice. They had discrete and modern furniture and decorations. There was a fridge and a microwave. The room also had two sinks. One in the bathroom corner and one in the separate room with toilet and shower. The room had a modern flat screen tv with a good selection of tv channels. It was possible to open the window and that was good because the aircondition was a little noisy during night time.

Breakfast was regular "motel breakfast".

Surrounding areas:
The hotel is a few minutes drive from downtown. There are plenty of options for food and also some shops in the area. We took a walk in the evening and we felt safe and secure.

We truely recommend the Econo Lodge and Suites in Lethbridge. We have been staying at several motels during our trip and this one felt like above average. We felt we got good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReiseKurre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Nice centrally located hotel with clean rooms, all amenities for a short stay and a decent continental breakfast. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdrianCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

At $104 the room was over priced, then to walk in and find beat up furniture, grout missing from around tiles in the bathroom, an undersized AC unit for the room, a fridge leaking water onto the floor the smell of cigarette smoke at the doorway, very disappointing. Unfortunately, we were too tired and it was too late in the day to keep shopping for rooms, but we won't be back. Disappointed with the Choice Hotel brand.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asim01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lethbridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Lethbridge
Super 8 Lethbridge
#15 of 20 in Lethbridge
3.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Lethbridge
Travelodge Lethbridge
#9 of 20 in Lethbridge
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn And Suites
Premier Inn And Suites
#8 of 20 in Lethbridge
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 20 in Lethbridge
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Lethbridge
Ramada Lethbridge
#5 of 20 in Lethbridge
3.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Lethbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Address: 1124 Mayor Magrath Dr S, Lethbridge, Alberta T1K 2P8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Lethbridge
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Lethbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Housekeeping Award in 2010 & 2011. We offer in room coffee pot, microwave, fridge, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, free in room WIFI. We offer free access to a pool and hot tub within a minutes walk from our establishment. Complimentary continental breakfast with waffles. We are located within walking distance from Henderson Lake, Henderson Golf Course, Japanese Gardens & several restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Choice Canada so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Lethbridge
Lethbridge Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Lethbridge, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing