We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean,great location,but in need of a renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Lethbridge
Calgary
Level Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Clean,great location,but in need of a renovation”
Reviewed January 15, 2010

I stayed here for one night in a Business Class Room,which sounds nice,but is not at all even close to what you'd think as "Business Class". Its a room with a large bed and a desk. The decor is very dated and reminded me of something from the 1970's or early 1980's.The bathroom is tiny for a "Business Class" room.It looked like they were in the process of renovating rooms,so I am sure they will continue.This is a prime downtown location on the west side,with nice views of the west valley and provides good access to most of everything in Lethbridge.The central atrium area was a disappointment.Very dark and dated with an older pool.The service was overall friendly and efficient.It will be interesting to see what they do with the interior.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swcgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    91
    105
    71
    68
See reviews for
127
72
27
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2009

Stayed at the centrally located Lethbridge Lodge for a couple of days on business and found it to exceed my expectations. The staff is friendly and always willing to assist. Check-in was a breeze and got a fourth floor room with an excellent view of their famous high level bridge. The room was spacious and well appointed. I had a very comfortable king size bed with lots of pillows. The bathroom is adequate but offers oversized bath towels.

There is a central atrium with lots of vegetation, a pool and a bar/lounge. This area is very appealing, well managed, and with very friendly staff. The food in the lounge is from the same kitchen as the main dining room where there is a comprehensive menu.

All in all I would recommend this property to business and leisure travelers.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

we arrived at knight after a long drive, the atrium looked very interesting, the check in was efficient. Unfortunately it ended there. The elevator was filthy, floor tiles cracked, walls damaged, the room smelled stale and very shop worn, furniture in need of refinishing,carpet needed shampooing, all in all disappointing at the rate we paid. we went for a drink in the bar where the chairs had holes in them an were filthy, the carpet stained.
In the morning when we checked out after paying, we were ready to leave,and the clerks last question was. How was your stay? I told her exactly what i wrote here, Her answer in a condescending voice was that she never goes into the rooms so she has no idea what I am talking about,
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone at the senior rate of $139. that we paid it was
poor value.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiklosVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lethbridge hotels

Trail, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2009

We stayed at the Lethbridge Lodge in January 2009. When we booked I was a bit nervous because of the bad reviews here. I told the girl I was very picky and she suggested a business class room. Check in was quick when we arrived but it was a bit of a pain getting the luggage cart through the atrium and up over the little bridge. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Our only complaint was that the bathroom was a little cozy. This could be remedied by some degree by changing the direction the door opened. We had a sofa and comfortable desk chair in our room overlooking the lounge.
The live entertainment in the lounge was a young woman playing piano and singing. Both nights we stayed she performed and we kept our door open to the atrium and enjoyed the music. It ended at 11pm and we closed the door and it was quiet. Food in the lounge was fairly good. We didn't eat in the restaurant. Internet service was good. We found the atrium to be pleasant but it might be noisy to some. So we would recommend business class room and if you really want quiet get a room overlooking the train bridge or the city rather than into the atrium.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laneybc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLethbridgeLodge, General Manager at Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 1, 2009
Thank you so much for your great comments; we were thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your experience with us. We believe that our associates are the key to our success and we are fortunate that day in and day out they offer a great experience to our guests.

I also appreciate your recommendation to other travellers with regards to the courtyard vs. outside facing rooms. We love that our guests can choose between the ambiance & unique sense of place that our indoor courtyard offers, and the relaxing & breathtaking coulee views that our outside facing rooms offer.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2009

I'm currently staying in this hotel and I now remember exactly why I haven't booked a stay here in 2 1/2 years.

There are some positives to this hotel. My experience with the staff is very good. They went out of their way to accommodate me when I called for the initial reservation. My king sized room is quite large and comfortable with a decent bed and furnishings that are much newer than the atrium and hallway decor. The bathroom is standard sized with a decent selection of free toiletries. The room is very clean. There is free wireless throughout the hotel, though it's one universal code for everyone to use. I received good service at the Botanica Restaurant and it is still a popular breakfast venue for my work contacts. While all of these things would normally make for a good hotel stay, it doesn't make up for the major shortcomings of the hotel.

The hotel needs to update the 60s style bunker in the hallways but the cheesy atrium area with pool side lounge. There is a very bad one man band playing at the pool side lounge and you can hear him clearly if you are unfortunate enough to have an atrium facing room. The pool is full of people making lots of noise. While that is exactly what pools are for, it is just poor design and sound proofing to put a pool in an open air atrium in the middle of the hotel. The lighting is still poor also.

Worst of all is the lack of control over large groups in the hotel. Though I expect hotels such as this one to be more family oriented and slightly noisier on the weekends, the trouble seems to lie with a large tournament for high school or college age students in Lethbridge right now. Lethbridge seems to host a lot of these types of events and i t was incredibly difficult to even get a room for the weekend.

Beyond the groups of people clustered in hallways and banging doors, there are people doing loud pep rally style chants and yelling at the top of their lungs. I have stayed here during the week and remember it being noisy but this is just ridiculous. BTW, I'm also a partially deaf so it takes a lot for me to notice noise. It feels like I'm in a college dorm rather than a hotel on a Friday night.

It's a nicer hotel than an Econo Lodge in terms of amenities. However, the next time I'm in Lethbridge and I can't get into the Holiday Inn or Best Western, I'm going to go down a star level to stay at the Days, Comfort or Quality Inn. There aren't as many creature comforts in the 2 star hotels yet they have to be better designed to not have a pool and a lounge in the central area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank game_misconduct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLethbridgeLodge, General Manager at Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 28, 2009
Thank you so much for sharing your comments about the hotel. We were delighted to know that the staff was helpful and that the guestroom and restaurant experience met your expectations. We've made some changes in our guestrooms with a new linen package, and we're glad that you noticed.

I must apologize for the noise that you had encountered with a large group that we were hosting last weekend. I promise that this is not the typical experience and we hope that you will afford us the opportunity to regain your loyalty.

Thank you again for the fantastic, detailed constructive feedback, and our apologies that this is the memory you left Lethbridge with. If you have the opportunity and would like to discuss this personally I would be so grateful for your time. Please call the hotel and ask to speak directly to me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2008

smelled like febreeze and looked like a war happened in the room. desparate need of renovations. pictures are completely off from what the room really looks like. noisy all night long

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank taniaEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2008

My husband and I got married this summer. My mother organized our wedding since we live in Toronto. She personally went to the Lethbridge Lodge to reserve a room for our wedding night. She did a tour of the hotel and settled on the junior presidential suite. She gave them her credit card information and was guaranteed the room was ours. The day of the wedding my brother dropped off our overnight bags and reminded the front staff that we would be there that night. We arrived later that evening after having a fabulous wedding excited to settle in for the night. Thats when the nightmare began. The front desk lady said very rudely that we did not have a room, that it had been given away to someone else. We asked how it was possible that on our wedding night and with a reservation this could be happening. She then so rudely said raising her voice that it was our fault we did not have a room. It was our fault because my brother had not checked us in when we dropped of our bags. An argument ensued in which we demanded a room and she would not budge. A manager was sent down to see us and was not apologetic by any means. The manager said she could get a room ready for us in just a few minutes. Her and the front desk lady walked down the hall to get our room ready snickering and laughing like it was a joke. We got into our room and it was disgusting. A room right off the pool with bunk beds!!!! The air conditioner was broken and it smelled like chlorine. It was horrible. The next morning we were charged full price and there was no apology. We could not believe that it was possible to treat guests so poorly. This ruined our wedding night. If I could give this hotel a worse then terrible rating I would. Stay away from this hotel!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank alias78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lethbridge hotels
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Service Inn & Suites
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Lethbridge
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lethbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lethbridge
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 20 in Lethbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn And Suites
Premier Inn And Suites
#10 of 20 in Lethbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 320 Scenic Dr S, Lethbridge, Alberta T1J 4B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Lethbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Lethbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre, Sandman Hotel Group's newest hotel, is southern Alberta's premier lodging and conference facility. Offering 190 guest rooms, including 28 courtyard suites and 30 business class rooms, elegant options for your speakers and VIPs, and three delicious on-site dining options. Enjoy our recreational facilities with our indoor pool and hot tub, located in our beautiful courtyard, and take advantage of our fitness room situated on the first floor just off the main lobby. Complimentary guest parking, high speed Internet, and the scenic surroundings of the hotel all bring you a sense of comfort and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lethbridge Hotel
Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing