We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay but no pool to cool off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Lethbridge
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay but no pool to cool off”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wonderful hotel experience! Staff VERY friendly, as was the maintenance mam. We stayed here for a week. We switched rooms at the last moment as I missed the bunk beds available. The room service was great, couldn't ask for a better stay just sucked so much that our room was right outside the pool, and it was under maintenance. The breakfast there was unbelievably superb! Will definitely stay again if the pool is working.

Room Tip: I'm sure any room would be great! Comfortable beds, and quiet overall
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you so very much on providing wonderful comments regarding your recent visit to the Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre. We certainly do apologize that during your stay our pool was out of order receiving its annual maintenance to ensure that we provide a safe and clean area for our guests to enjoy. We were thrilled to read that you appreciated the excellent service provided by our employees and recognizing our food quality served in our breakfast buffet and room service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lethbridge Lodge in the near future and I am sure that you will enjoy the pool and hot tub on your next visit.

Regards,

Paul

Paul Harrigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    91
    105
    71
    68
See reviews for
127
72
27
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I went to Lethbridge for my brother's wedding, and would have to stay the night, so since our anniversary was coming up in a few days, we decided we would just celebrate then, and get the honeymoon suite. The only pros we found was that it seemed clean, the bed was a king size and my husband liked the thickness of the pillows (I didn't and woke up with a sore neck, but there were no thinner pillows). I told the guy at the front desk when I checked out that "it was a colossal waste of money. I was told it had a jacuzzi, and that is not a jacuzzi, it's a jetted bathtub!" I walked away with his mouth hanging open. They charge $259 for the room, the only difference between the "honeymoon" suite and the standard room is that it has a separate sitting area (which we didn't need) and an extra outdated (like everything else) clunky tube television with poor picture quality (which we also didn't need), a king size bed, a kitchenette (also didn't need) with a fridge that was half a foot tall, an extra sink in the bathroom (didn't need) and a jetted bathtub that they like to call a jacuzzi. Let's talk about that. Was hoping to have some romance, and despite the size of this pitiful thing, we decided to give it a try. We managed to both sit down as long as we didn't sit near each other (so romantic), and after a while we figured out that there are actually 3 buttons - the plastic cover was cracked and broken there, and the words/symbols were worn off - and we finally figured out the correct sequence in pushing the buttons to get the jets to turn on. The water being jetted into the tub feels cold, even though the water we had put in the tub was very warm, it's super loud, and it bubbled so hard, it kept spraying water in my eyes, so I couldn't even have them open. And it's pretty telling when I have to say to my husband "can you move your legs so I can get up?" Not a very relaxing OR romantic experience! Total disappointment, and for what we got out of it, we would have been happier with a standard room, given the price!!

Room Tip: If you do have the misfortune of staying here, rooms with a window facing west are quietest and offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jajajajaja123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it is through this input directly from our guests that we are able to continuously strive to deliver a positive and memorable experience for every guest. Please accept our apologies for the fact that we obviously did not leave you with our minimum expectation of a positive experience. This is not the normal course of business at Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre, and this feedback will allow us to improve both our service delivery and product.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay.

If I can provide any assistance, please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Paul

Paul Harrigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lethbridge hotels

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Arrived Sunday evening, checked into my room and went to the restaurant for dinner. It was 8:03pm. I was told the restaurant was closed at 8:00. The lounge was also closed Sunday. I was not told at check-in about the restaurant closing so early.
I was told I could get room service but only until 8:30pm. So if you arrive after that there is no meal service. The room service food was dried out and overcooked and was obviously the bottom of the containers from the closed restaurant.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a renovated room......many are pretty shoddy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller2010035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your recent visit to the Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre. Please accept our apologies that our restaurant was not open at the time of your arrival. Our Sunday evening meal period has an earlier closing time than the weekdays or Saturday where we offer meal service up to 10:30pm. We will certainly follow up on your comment regarding the quality of the In Room Dining food you received that evening.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lethbridge Lodge in the near future.

Safe travels,

Paul

Paul Harrigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

First of I have to say we are a teenage girl soccer team that has traveled extensively in the last couple yrs. When we travel it is soccer first there for we are looking for very specific things in a hotel. The weekend of Aug 16 - 18 we had a group of 67 people in Lethbridge for a Provincial championship weekend.

From the moment I called Amanda in the team booking department our experience was noting short of excellent. Amanda followed up and was extremely flexible with our requirements as a group.

Check-in was a nightmare. HOWEVER this has nothing to do with the staff. When you have 24 teams and a sold out Selena Gomez concert converging in one small city within a 1 hr window period its going to take a while. The thing I hate the most in these review is when people have blinders on and can’t see the situation. Our rooms were not ready ( this was a bit of a annoyance as it was 4pm and the hotel knew it was full ) but they gave us a suite for the girls to get changed in and leave our luggage in.

Rooms are dated but clean. The beds were comfortable and for the price point we received they were just fine.

Breakfast that was included was really the reason we chose this hotel. It was well beyond a typical free continental breakfast that most hotels give us. With Athletes microwave eggs and Pilbury cinnamon buns don’t cut it. The meal was healthy and all of our group was able to find what they needed (including the wait staff bringing scrambled egg whites for those that asked)

The hotel provided one of the better conference rooms we have used free of charge for 11 hrs on Saturday. With game film and meetings this is a huge savings when a hotel can do this for our group and very appreciated.

We didn’t get the results we were hoping for on the pitch and as a result the girls had some free time and wanted to go swimming. However the pool had been closed ( we knew this when we booked) and I assume things took a bit longer and was still closed at noon on Saturday. The Manager told us about a community pool ( Henderson Lake Pool) Not only was it a great facility for our team to relax in the 30 deg weather but the Lodge took our entrance receipt and refunded us the cost of taking the girls there.

To be honest I have no desire to go back to Lethbridge. However because of the Lethbridge Lodge we are thinking about returning for a tournament in the spring. When you have companies like this representing your city it does nothing but reflect well and bring money into the community
When you are with a group I highly recommend the Lethbridge Lodge. If you are trying to impress the wife on your anniversary, well maybe go to Banff .

Room Tip: 1 -3 floor rooms can avoid the old elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you so very much for provided an excellent review of your recent visit to the Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre. The weekend that you and your team were here was certainly a busy weekend for all of Lethbridge. With a huge sporting event and a popular concert, we all experienced a fun and active weekend. Thank you for your understanding that our pool, which had closed earlier in the week for annual maintenance, was delayed in opening. It is unfortunate when plans don't go as they should, however we were happy that you and the team enjoyed Henderson Lake.
We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Safe travels,

Paul

Paul Harrigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The room was small and very dated. The carpet was very stained and the bathroom was dingy and just old. This hotel needs a definite facelift.
I heard water running the entire night as well......could barely sleep.
Then in the morning we went to the restaurant for breakfast and there was cereal but no milk, all the toppings for waffles but no waffles and the cutlery was something hard to get.
All in all I was quite disappointed in this hotel as I was expecting it to be a much more comfortable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMK0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre. We appreciate the comments we receive from our guests and strive to learn from them in an effort to improve our service. We sincerely apologize that your recent visit was not filled with positive memories and your comments will be reviewed in the areas that we can make improvements.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,

Paul Harrigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel looks half decent but
-If you are in a room facing the atrium you will hear noise from the lounge until at least midnight in your room
-Pool under maintenance during our entire stay (was not told during booking)
-No control over temperature in room (or not working) so it was hot all night
-Old Tube style tv's in room
-Every 5 minutes a grinding noise could be heard in room which I assume was from the elevator nearby
-Room came with buffet breakfast but no clean tables or cutlery on tables (had to go get it myself)
-Asked for an hour later checkout but was refused

This hotel needs a huge update but since it was all booked the weekend we stayed I assume the owners are in no rush to do any renovation.

Room Tip: Don't book a room facing the atrium or near the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankSmith777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you so very much on taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre. We certainly apologize that our pool and hot tub were closed for maintenance to ensure that we provide a safe and well maintained service. I assure you this occurs at times when it necessary and we try not to disappoint our guests. On this particular occasion the opening of our pool was delayed. However we were able to open at noon that Saturday and we were so happy to see all the children having fun.
We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Lethbridge Lodge Hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Paul Harrigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Let’s state the obvious – this is an older hotel with dated décor and fixtures. But if you can get past that, the hotel is clean, comfortable and good value.

Stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed a lovely room with balcony overlooking the courtyard. Unfortunately the pool was undergoing maintenance at the time, but had it been in use, the view would’ve been even nicer than it was. There is a lounge, balcony area for receptions and such, and pool/hot tub all within a lush garden setting. It's too bad the pool and hot tub were out-of-service 'cause I'm sure it would've been very enjoyable to use.

Room was clean and spacious with 2 comfortable queen beds, a balcony, old-style tv, fridge/microwave, and coffee maker. Bathroom was small with dated (rose-coloured) toilet and tub, but the shower was great.

Complimentary wi-fi is offered throughout the hotel and worked well in the room. And a complimentary breakfast buffet is also included in the room rate, which is worth $11 per person (a great deal even on its own). As the restaurant is open to non-hotel guests as well, one suggestion would be to have staff monitor those with breakfast vouchers a little more closely as one could easily eat and run!

Breakfast was delicious and served in a pleasant eating area with friendly service from staff. Buffet included a wonderful selection of items such as fresh fruit (apples, bananas, pineapple, cantaloupe), yogurt and yogurt parfaits, scrambled eggs, omelette wraps, sausage, bacon, potatoes, cold cereals, oatmeal, breads, waffles, juice, coffee and tea.

Although breakfast is included in the room rate, hotel guests are still waited on by hard working staff and unlike many other guests, we made it a point to appreciate the service as we would at any other restaurant by leaving a gratuity.

Location of hotel is central to downtown and shopping/eating establishments, and parking is free and plentiful.

Despite some of the negative reviews, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScreamingBanshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, General Manager at Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide such a detailed and positive review regarding your recent visit to the Lethbridge Lodge Hotel. We were all thrilled to read your comments and your expression of sincere gratitude on the services and level of professional and caring attention our employees provided to you. We do recognize that the hotel has become somewhat dated in its appearance. However we sincerely appreciate you recognizing that we maintain a high level of cleanliness with the ability to provide superior WiFi internet access. Thank you for the glowing comment regarding our complimentary breakfast buffet.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the Lethbridge Lodge and providing you that caring and attentive service you appreciate.

Sincerely,

Paul

Paul Harrigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lethbridge hotels
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Service Inn & Suites
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Lethbridge
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lethbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lethbridge
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 20 in Lethbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn And Suites
Premier Inn And Suites
#9 of 20 in Lethbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 320 Scenic Dr S, Lethbridge, Alberta T1J 4B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Lethbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Lethbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lethbridge Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre, Sandman Hotel Group's newest hotel, is southern Alberta's premier lodging and conference facility. Offering 190 guest rooms, including 28 courtyard suites and 30 business class rooms, elegant options for your speakers and VIPs, and three delicious on-site dining options. Enjoy our recreational facilities with our indoor pool and hot tub, located in our beautiful courtyard, and take advantage of our fitness room situated on the first floor just off the main lobby. Complimentary guest parking, high speed Internet, and the scenic surroundings of the hotel all bring you a sense of comfort and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lethbridge Hotel
Lethbridge Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing