We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miro's

Miro's
Ranked #11 of 252 Restaurants in Lethbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Canadian, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lethbridge
Level Contributor
207 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I rarely go out for dinner in Lethbridge because most of the restaurants are so awful, but I had the opportunity to head to Miro's recently and was pleasantly surprised. The decor inside is perfectly acceptable for a European restaurant. It's probably best described as bistro-like. The beer and wine menus were reasonably extensive and offered a wide choice of selections, including the sometimes difficult to procure Cezchvar. The menu is short, but sweet. A very reasonable selection of dishes emphasizing classic European techniques and flavours. I had the seared scallops, which were a tad over seasoned, but still delicious. The bison short ribs were excellent, although the vegetables that accompanied it could have used a bit more imagination, flavour and flair. The dessert selection was also good and I enjoyed the chocolate pecan tart, even though it was a tad light on the pecans.

Overall, I would recommend eating at Miro's. The food is of good-excellent quality and clearly prepared fresh each day.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    26
    9
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
867 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
“The best in Lethbridge?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Miro's has now become a well-established eatery. It used to be located nearby, but moved into its present address several years ago. Good menu; good food; good service. Not cheap, but not as expensive as Plum.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Professional-Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
298 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Thank you, tripadvisor contributors!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I would not have known about Miro's if it hadn't been for the high ratings it has on tripadvisor. Ever since Trevi closed many years ago, I have been looking for a good restaurant for my visits to Lethbridge. My search has ended!

Miro's is located in a seedy part of downtown which appears reday for gentrification, but this hasn't happened yet. While we were waiting for Miro's to open, the women in our group felt intimidated by some unsavoury characters that were hanging out on the sidealk a few yards away. Next door to Miro's there is a shuttered store -- I was getting a bit nervous about my recommendation!

But once inside I knew we had made a good choice: the decor is Mediterranean, the walls made of exposed bricks adorned with cheerful paintings and wall-hangings. The wooden tables and exposed heating ducts add to the charming character.

The food is mainly Mediterranean -- lots of pasta and seafood but there are plenty of choices for meat-lovers too, including pork tenderloin. and even bison. All the dishes were delicious.

The service was perfect. The prices are reasonable -- the pasta dishes were in the high teens, the other entrees in the mid-twenties.

The wine list is very appropriate, and included a good choice of wines by the glass. The other members of my group assured me afterwards that I can keep picking restaurants for them.

I almost gave Miro's five stars but prefer to reserve that rating for absolutely amazing experiences. Miro's is merely very very good!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank niemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
203 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Classy but not pretentious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was the best dining experience I had during my stay in Lethbridge. The place was classy but not pretentious, and the food was very good. Try the bison ribs!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nakalanzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Lethbridge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Miro's is a small, nicely decorated place in downtown Lethbridge. You'll have to park on the street out front, but there is usually ample street parking in the evenings, unless there's a special event downtown. The restaurant benefits from the personal attention of the chef and owner. He oversees the whole thing, which helps to maintain food quality. I'd like to see the menu switch up a bit once in a while, but the food is good.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank DoctorJinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miro's also viewed

Lethbridge, Alberta
Lethbridge, Alberta
 

Been to Miro's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing