We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique experience”
Review of Abyssinian Restaurant - CLOSED

Abyssinian Restaurant
Price range: $9 - $14
Cuisines: Ethiopian, African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Lethbridge
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Who would've ever thought that you could dying on Ethiopian food in Lethbridge. i have gone several times with my sons. We always enjoy eating new foods. The owner is a personable interesting man. The food is good to eat and is eaten on an Ethiopian flatbread with your hands. I would highly recommend this place.

The spicing for me was excellent and you can choose the level that you want. It does take some time to eat but I have found their service reasonably fast at lunchtime. B

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LethbridgeBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant Dining Experience”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Our first time eating Ethiopian food was at this restaurant. Overall, an enjoyable experience, from the polite server, through the tea to our dinner. Perhaps we are more traditional in our tastes, but we found the taste of sourdough-style flatbread - intended to be used as 'scoops' for the food - to be somewhat overpowering. When we used our teaspoons to try the food without the flatbread, we were extremely impressed with the flavours we tasted.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“wow... almost spechless...”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

i ate here once last year and actually forgot about reviewing it. once was enough. after having lived in africa and eaten many, many cultural dishes, and anticipating the spices and curries i had already experienced many times, i could do little to eat the unappealing, over spiced slop that was presented to me. maybe this is simply from a part of africa i haven't yet been to - in that case, i'm happy to give it a miss. there is a reason why this food is cheap. i am amazed anyone would go back twice to pay for this. sorry - your food is utterly unpalatable.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rgm_za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Not for everyone, but we loved it. Very flavourful cooking. Very reasonable prices, especially for the good portion sizes. Do NOT go here on a first date (it's a bit messy). In fact, if you are a germaphobe, only go with your partner. However, if you don't mind sharing your dipping sauces with the person across from you, dig in! We'll be back.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank EMPER0R_ZURG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
2 reviews
“Slow, but wonderful”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Food takes a while, but worth the wait. When eating with others, served communal style.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Archibald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abyssinian Restaurant also viewed

 
Lethbridge, Alberta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing