We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, reasonable prices”
Review of Soft Rock Cafe - CLOSED

Soft Rock Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good food, reasonable prices”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

It was quiet when we were there, 5:00pm in a week day in summer. Or family enjoyed the variety of selection and the for was good. The service was quick.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    33
    13
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sarcastic Waiter, See You Later”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This place sucked in multiple ways. First off, the place is crowded, loud, and not cozy like the exterior suggests. The food is mediocre at best. But the worst part was the Great Waffle Debacle!! Let me explain:
I ordered a waffle, and when it came I spread what I thought was butter all over the waffle. After tasting it, I realized it was fruity whipped cream. The menu gave no description that this came with it and it looked just like butter. Naturally, I sent it back. The decent thing to do would be to comp the waffle or at least take half of it off the bill. Our waiter came back and bluntly told us "you're going to have to pay for this" without any sense of being sorry. My mom went up to the counter and began to argue with the manager. After eventually getting the waffle half off, the man turned and saw my dad eating the fruity waffle! My dad thought my mom was getting nowhere and didn't want it to go to waste. The man turned to my mom and said "He's eating the waffle!" He then proceeded to turn around to my dad and say very rudely and sarcastically, "Are you enjoying that waffle?" My naive dad didn't notice the obvious sarcasm luckily. Maybe he shouldn't have eaten the waffle but the manager did not have to be rude about it.
If visiting the otherwise great Alberta again we will definitely not come back and you shouldn't either.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gabbysvacays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My son and I had planned to have breakfast at the Soft Rock Café because we liked the humorous name and assumed the staff would be friendly, big mistake! The café has huge potential but was let down by the extremely unfriendly and rude staff. Customers have to order at the counter and then collect their own food when it's ready - not easy when you have to make your way through the other people queuing to get to your plates. I waited ages for my coffee and eventually went up to ask where it was - I was very abruptly told I had to get it myself from a machine. As it was my first visit to the café it would have been nice to be told this when I ordered! The food was plentiful but not that nice, we left most of it. Oh and don't use the toilets because they were disgusting. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville, tn
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good eggs Benedict”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stopped by Soft Rock to hang with some friends who decided to eat lunch there. While we were talking we looked over and saw a customer eating eggs Benedict. We asked him if it was good, and he raved about a it. His had tomatoes and asparagus instead of the usual Canadian bacon. So the next morning we bee-lined it back and had the eggs Benedict for ourselves, which indeed was great! They serve breakfast all day. We had to eat early in order to meet a shuttle. We got our food super fast. Wonderful breakfast!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent breakfast for a decent price”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Only issue is the manager/cashier, who is sort of abrupt. My wife asked if the cheese was processed, he replied "Come on! Would I be in business if it was?"
They also got one of the orders wrong, and instead of apologizing, argued that they were right, but gave the correct order once we insisted.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OutwestCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soft Rock Cafe also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing