We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent service and food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fiddle River Restaurant

Fiddle River Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 84 Restaurants in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $32
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian, Soups, Gluten Free Options, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Saskatoon,SK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We visited Fiddle River on a Wednesday night, mid-January. The restaurant was not busy. Server was very attentive and friendly. We had scallops appetizer and romaine with roasted veggies that were delicious. Salmon and elk main courses were plentiful and tasty.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    177
    60
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent location and wonderful elk, bison on menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Very reasonably priced for gourmet level food and service. We eat here every time we are in Jasper, and are never disappointed. Don't miss dessert.... YUMMM!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 6andersons1world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
Level Contributor
207 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Good food and great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Although we travel to Jasper every year, for some reason, we had not eaten at Fiddle River until recently. It's a fairly small restaurant, so reservations are recommended, especially on weekends. We made ours over email about 10 days before we arrived and it was not a problem. The wine list is quite comprehensive and they have a decent selection of beers both in the bottle and on tap. There was a lot to choose from for starters, but given how cold the day had been (-30 with the windchill), we opted for the soups: beef brisket and barley an New England seafood chowder. The soups tasted fantastic, although the vegetables in them were a bit overdone. For mains, my wife had the Alaskan king crab whereas I had the elk stroganoff. Again, both were excellent. The crab legs were meaty and the stroganoff rich and creamy with lots of elk meat. The veggies this time were a bit underdone, but did not detract from our enjoyment of the meal at all. We were so stuffed after all of that, we weren't sure about dessert. I ended up trying the creme brulee, which was executed perfectly. Overall, a very enjoyable dinner and the service was great. I did not expect the food to fly out of the kitchen that quickly, but it was certainly appreciated.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
284 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had a great dinner here in mid-September. The menu was pretty large and they have a decent wine list. I had salmon and my husband had the elk steak. With one glass of wine our bill came to about $95. Service was attentive but not cloying. Ask for a table by the window.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank setter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place with fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We have visited the restaurant twice in the last year. The menu has many great choices and nightly features. We found the service very friendly and accommodating . The view is great. A great place to go.

Helpful?
2 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiddle River Restaurant also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Fiddle River Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing